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 The Mission of the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services is to administer the tax laws of the State of Connecticut and collect the tax
revenues in the most cost effective manner; achieve the highest level of voluntary compliance through accurate, efficient and courteous customer

services; and perform in a manner which instills public confidence in the integrity and fairness of the State's tax programs.

TT

2001 Legislative  Changes Affecting Sales and Use Taxes
The following is a summary of the 2001 legislation affecting sales and use taxes.  The effective dates of these legislative
changes are also included in the summary.  For more information on recently enacted legislation, visit the General Assembly
Web site at: www.cga.state.ct.us.

contract for a person dealing with a
nonresident contractor to obtain a
bond certificate from DRS, or to
deduct and pay over to the DRS 5% of
the amount payable to such contractor
(or 2% in the case of direct payment
permit holders). If the contract is to be
completed in less than 90 days, the
time limit is no later than 45 days after
the commencement of the contract.

Expands last year’s amendment to the
funeral expense exemption, which
exempted “caskets for burial,” to
include caskets for cremation.  Both
casket exemptions take effect this year
at the same time.

Effective October 1, 2001
Changes reference to services
rendered by “a hypertrichologist” to
services rendered by “an electrologist”
licensed in accordance with Chapter
388 in the exclusions from taxable
miscellaneous personal services.

Adds federally-recognized Indian tribes
to the list of business entities eligible
for exemption from sales and use
taxes on enumerated services provided
between such tribes and business
entities in which they own a
controlling interest, as defined in this
statute, and between affiliated entities
in which the tribe owns a controlling
interest.

Effective August 1, 2002
In accordance with federal law (P.L.
106-274, 4 U.S.C. §§116-126), this law
changes the Connecticut sourcing rules
for cellular mobile telephone service.
1. All charges for cellular telephone

service will be subject to Connecticut
sales and use taxes if the service is
billed by or for a customer’s “home
service provider,” if the street address

Effective July 1, 2001
Excludes from the tax on parking
services the sale of parking space in a
railroad parking facility owned or
operated by the state in a municipality
located within a severe nonattainment
area for ozone under federal law,
retroactive to such sales on or after
April 1, 2000. (An identical exclusion
for municipally-operated facilities
already exists.)

Temporarily suspends the 5.75% tax
imposed on patient care services from
July 1, 2001, through June 30, 2003.

Exempts materials, tools, fuel,
machinery, and equipment sold to and
used or consumed by a fuel cell
manufacturing facility in Connecticut.
A “fuel cell” is defined as a device that
directly or indirectly produces
electricity directly from hydrogen or
hydrocarbon fuel through a
noncombustive electro-chemical
process.

Delays sunset of the following three
exemptions from January 1, 2002, to
July 1, 2002:
1. New motor vehicles powered by

clean alternative fuel (natural gas or
electricity, and propane in certain
vehicles);

2. Conversion equipment for
converting vehicles to the use of
clean alternative fuel, or to dual use
of clean alternative fuel and any
other fuel; and

3. Equipment incorporated into or used
in a compressed natural gas filling
station or electric recharging station
for vehicles powered by clean
alternative fuel.

Increases the time from 30 days to 90
days after commencement of the

where the customer’s cellular
telephone usage primarily occurs
(“place of primary use”) is in
Connecticut, regardless of where calls
originate, terminate or pass through.

2. The “home service provider” is the
company that contracts with the
customer to provide the cellular
telephone service.  The home service
provider is responsible for obtaining
and maintaining a record of each
customer’s place of primary use.  It
may use any address it has for the
customer as of July 28, 2002, unless
the Commissioner of Revenue
Services notifies it of a different
address.

3. The Commissioner may make
determinations as to customers’
places of primary use and may
provide home service providers with
electronic databases of customer
places of primary use.

4. The bill provides for certain appeal
rights by customers to the home
service provider and the Commissioner
in the case of a claim of an erroneous
assignment of a place of primary use.

5. The current sourcing rules for cellular
service in Conn. Gen. Stat.
§12-407a(b) apply prior to August 2,
2002, and if the federal law on which
the new changes to these sourcing
rules are based is substantially limited
or impaired by the final judgment of a
court, the original sourcing rules of
§12-407a(b) will apply to services
rendered on or after the date of entry
of such judgment.

Effective for customer bills issued
after August 1, 2002 (the first day of
the month beginning more than two
years after the July 28, 2000,
enactment of the federal law).



Connecticut Tax Topics, September 2001 Edition, Vol. 9, No. 3, Published by the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services
Gene Gavin, Commissioner;  Contributors:  Ellen Schneider, David P. Barry, Louis Bucari, Anna Crawford, Felicia Hoeniger, Jean Morrison and Peter Teeuwissen

State of Connecticut, Department of Revenue Services, 25 Sigourney Street, Hartford CT 06106-5032.

Recently Issued DRS Publications
DRS recently issued the publications listed below.  See the "Forms, Publications or Personal Assistance" section below for ways to obtain these
and other DRS forms and publications.

Forms, Publications, or Personal Assistance
• Visit the DRS Web site:  www.drs.state.ct.us

• Call CONN-TAX at 1-800-382-9463 (toll-free from within Connecticut) or
1-860-297-5962 (from anywhere).  TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may
transmit inquiries 24 hours a day, seven days a week by calling 860-297-4911.

Forms and publications may be obtained 24 hours a day, seven days a week, by using
any of the following resources.

Internet: Preview and download forms from the DRS Web site at
www.drs.state.ct.us

DRS TaxFax:  Call 860-297-5698 from the handset attached to your fax
machine.

E-mail:  E-mail your request for forms to:  ctforms.drs@po.state.ct.us

Telephone:  From a touch-tone phone 24 hours a day call 1-800-382-9463
(toll-free from within Connecticut) and select Option 2, or 860-297-4753
(from anywhere).

For free assistance, visit our offices from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Monday through
Friday).  For pre-recorded directions to DRS offices, call CONN-TAX.  If you require
special accommodations, please advise DRS.

Understanding Connecticut
Taxes Clearly

DRS is pleased to offer Understanding
Connecticut Taxes Clearly, a free
program designed to provide a broad
overview of Connecticut tax
requirements for new and existing small
businesses.

Space is still available.  Call now to
register.

Programs are held from 6:30 p.m. to
9:00 p.m.  Call Melvin Jones at
860-297-4935 to register.

FALL 2001

WINSTED ............September 13

ENFIELD ....................October 4

FARMINGTON ......... October 11

DANIELSON.............October 18

DANBURY ................October 25

MIDDLETOWN ...... November 1

NORWICH .............. November 8

NORWALK ............ November 15

WATERBURY .........December 6

MANCHESTER ....December 13

Announcements
AN 2001(2.2), Quarterly List of
Distributors for Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax
Purposes

AN 2001(5), Use of Newly Revised Form
CT-706 by Estates

AN 2001(6), Nonresident Individuals Now
Subject to Connecticut Income Tax on
Certain Connecticut Lottery Winnings

Informational Publications
IP 2001(2.2), Topical Index to Rulings
and Administrative Pronouncements
Covering Income Tax

IP 2001(3.2), Topical Index to Rulings
and Administrative Pronouncements
Covering Corporation Business Tax

IP 2001(4.2), Numerical Index to Rulings
and Administrative Pronouncements as

CONNECTICUT TAX TOPICS is a quarterly newsletter
about sales and use taxes and other state taxes
of interest to businesses. This newsletter is
designed to provide general information for
taxpayers and tax practitioners. It is not
designed to explain in depth a current
Department policy or practice affecting the
liability of taxpayers. Nothing in this
publication supersedes, alters or otherwise
changes provisions of Connecticut General
Statutes, regulations, Department rulings or tax
information publications.

BRIDGEPORT
10 Middle St.
203-579-6251

HAMDEN
3074 Whitney Ave.

Bldg 2
203-287-8243

HARTFORD
25 Sigourney St.

860-297-5962

NORWICH
2 Cliff St.

860-889-2669

WATERBURY
55 West Main St.

Suite 100
203-805-6789

DRS OFFICES

Affected, If At All, By Later-Issued
Rulings and Pronouncements

IP 2001(5.2), Topical Index to Rulings
and Administrative Pronouncements
Covering Sales and Use Taxes

IP 2001(6.2), Topical Index to Rulings
and Administrative Pronouncements
Covering Miscellaneous Taxes and
Administrative Topics

IP 2001(14), Business Taxes

IP 2001(15), Q&A on the Connecticut
Use Tax for Businesses and Professions

Policy Statements
PS 2001(5), Sales and Use Tax
Exemption for Food Sold Through Coin-
Operated Vending Machines

PS 2001(6), Sales and Use Taxes on
Retail Sales of Clothing

PS 2001(7), Purchases of Machinery,
Equipment, Tools, Materials, and
Supplies by Commercial Printers and
Publishers

PS 2001(8), Taxation of Internet Access
Provided by Community Antenna
Television Companies

Special Notices
SN 2001(6), One-Week Sales and Use
Tax Exclusion in August for Clothing and
Footwear Under $300

Certificates
CERT-116, Exempt Petroleum Products
Certificate

CERT-132, Sales and Use Tax
Exemption Under the “Buy Connecticut”
Provision


