
The Mission of the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services is to administer the tax laws of the State of Connecticut and collect the
tax revenues in the most cost effective manner; achieve the highest level of voluntary compliance through accurate, efficient and courteous
customer services; and perform in a manner which instills public confidence in the integrity and fairness of the State's tax programs.

From The Commissioner
Gene Gavin

<COMMISSIONER, page 3

Inside
� Cigarette Tax ........................................ 2
� Cabaret Tax ............................................ 2
� Admissions and Dues Taxes ...... 2
� Sales and Use Taxes ...................... 3,  4

Managed Compliance Program ....... 3
Consumer Services ............................... 3
Public Safety Encouraged ................. 3
Changes for Vessels ............................. 4
Building Material Suppliers ............... 4
Transitional Rules ................................. 4

� Individual Income Tax ................... 5
Relief for Innocent Spouse ................ 5
Property Tax Credits Increased ....... 5
Single Filers Will Pay Less ................. 5
Withholding Tables to Change ....... 5

� Real Estate Conveyance Tax ...... 5
� Corporation Taxes / Credits ...... 6
� Other legislative Changes .......... 7
� Changes for Hospitals ................... 7
� Succession & Transfer Taxes ..... 7
� Net Operating Loss ......................... 8
� Computer & Data Processing ...... 8

Volume 11, Issue 3
July/August 1999

ConnecticutTax Newsquarter ly

A P U B L I C A T I O N  OF  T H E  CO N N E C T I C U T  DE P A R T M E N T  O F  RE V E N U E  SE R V I C E S

JOHN ROWLAND � GOVERNOR   GENE GAVIN � COMMISSIONER

SPECIAL ISSUE:  LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY

1999 Connecticut
Sales Tax Rebate

New legislation authorizes a $50
rebate of sales and use taxes paid

in 1998 for Connecticut residents who
were:

• Required to file Connecticut
resident income tax returns for 1998
and filed returns or extensions;

• Not required to file Connecticut
resident income tax returns but were
required to file federal income tax
returns for 1998 and filed returns or
extensions;

• Not required to file Connecticut
resident income tax returns but
received federal earned income tax
credits for 1998; or

• Not required to file Connecticut
resident income tax returns or
federal income tax returns but
received benefits under Title II of
the Social Security Act during 1998.

DRS expects to mail rebates beginning
in late September and continuing
through the end of 1999.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §§3 and 4)

Social Security Benefits
Not Taxable for Certain
Recipients

Recently enacted legislation
 exempts certain Social Security

recipients from paying Connecticut
income tax on their Social Security
Benefits.  The new legislation applies
to individuals who filed a federal
income tax return as single or married
filing separately and reported a federal
adjusted gross income of less than
$50,000, and to those who filed a

<Social Security , Page 7

Provisions of the 1998 IRS
Restructuring and Reform Act
Adopted

Connecticut has adopted several
 provisions of the 1998 IRS Restructur-

ing and Reform Act for Connecticut taxes.
The taxpayer-friendly provisions allow
taxpayers more flexibility with filing and
paying Connecticut taxes.  Under the new
laws, taxpayers may take advantage of any of
the following benefits:  request relief from joint
and several liability (see Relief For Innocent
Spouse, Page 5), elimination of interest rate
differentials ("netting" of interest) for certain
audit periods where the taxpayer has both
underpayments and overpayments of the same
tax, file returns using designated delivery
services in addition to the U.S. Postal
Service, and suspend the statute of limita-
tions during a period of financial disability.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 48, §§1, 2, 3, 4
and 5)

Updates on recent tax
changes and an invitation to a
Magical Mystery Tax Tour

A primary responsibility of the
 Department of Revenue

Services (DRS) is to ensure that
taxpayers are
aware of
changes in the
tax laws.  In
this special
edition of the
DRS Tax
News, we are
providing you
with a
snapshot of

the new laws and revisions that were
approved by the 1999 session of the
Connecticut General Assembly and
signed into law by Governor John G.
Rowland.  Many major tax types
were affected by new laws this year,
and I am proud to say that DRS
played a key role in shaping most of
these initiatives, ensuring that
changes in
Connecticut’s tax
policy continue to
make it more
taxpayer friendly,
while providing
fairness and equity for everyone.

Another way to become well-
informed about changes in
Connecticut taxes is to attend what I
call our Magical Mystery Tax
Tour .  This second annual
Connecticut Tax Seminar will be on
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ADMISSIONS

AND DUES TAX

Effective July 1, 1999
New Admissions Tax Exemptions.  The exemption

for movie theater admission
charges is increased from
$4.50 to $5.00.

Admission charges to the
following locations are now
exempt:

• Bridgeport Harbor Yard Stadium
• Stafford Motor Speedway
• Lime Rock Park
• Thompson Speedway
• Waterford Speedbowl
• New Britain Stadium

(New Britain Stadium’s
exemption is retroactive to
the date the stadium was
placed in service.)

Charges for admission to home games of the New
Haven Ravens, the Waterbury Spirit and the New
Britain Rock Cats are exempt.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §52; 1999 Conn.
Pub. Acts 1, §27 (June Spec. Sess.))

New Dues Tax Exemptions.  Any increases in dues
charges after July 1, 1999, that are to be used for
the acquisition of farm land, open space land, or
forest land, as those terms are defined in Conn.
Gen. Stat. §12-107b, are exempt from dues tax.

Lawn bowling clubs are exempt from dues tax.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §§49 and 53)

“Gray Market” Cigarettes

Restrictions have been placed on “gray market” cigarettes,
 most notably the prohibition on the sale or possession of

such cigarettes by licensed cigarette distributors or licensed
cigarette dealers in Connecticut.

Gray market cigarettes are commonly referred to as those
manufactured in the United States and intended to be sold
outside the United States, but which reenter the United States
market.

Effective July 1, 1999, licensed cigarette distributors and licensed
cigarette dealers are prohibited from affixing Connecticut
cigarette tax stamps (including heat-applied decals) to gray
market cigarettes.  For more information, obtain SN 99(8), Sale
and Possession of “Gray Market” Cigarettes.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 99, §109)

CIGARETTE TAX

"Changes in Connecticut’s
tax policy continue to make
it more taxpayer friendly".
Gene Gavin, DRS Commissioner

CABARET TAX

CABARET TAX REPEALED
The cabaret tax is repealed as of July 1, 1999.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §§49, 54 and 64)

Operators of establishments that were previously
subject to the cabaret tax should be aware that
admission charges (including cover charges) to
most establishments formerly subject to cabaret tax
are now subject to the 10% admissions tax, rather
than the 5% cabaret tax.  However, charges for food,
beverages, merchandise and service sold in such
establishments are not subject to admissions tax.

The admissions tax is imposed on admission
charges to any place of amusement, entertainment
or recreation.  Amusement, entertainment or
recreation include, but are not limited to, dancing,
live or recorded music, games, performances and
sporting events. TN

Thursday, September 23, co-sponsored by DRS and the Institute
of Professionals in Taxation.  Several tax professionals from the
private sector will join our DRS staff experts in making
presentations.  Laura Wyeth of PricewaterhouseCoopers,
Jeremiah Lynch of Ernst & Young, and Charles Lenore of Day,
Berry & Howard, will
help us roll out our new
Managed Compliance
Program with details of
managed audit
agreements, managed
compliance agreements
and direct pay permits.  In addition, we are pleased to have the
Honorable Robert F. McWeeny, judge of the Connecticut
Superior Court, and other experts joining us to discuss
Connecticut property tax matters.  New DRS materials will also
be rolled out at this important program.  Please call DRS
Taxpayer Services for more information.

You can also still obtain tax updates in traditional formats from
DRS.  Before the ink was dry on Governor Rowland’s
signature, we were at work developing the many informational
publications and special notices that provide the details on tax
law changes.  Some of these publications are already in
circulation, but it will take us some months to complete the full
list of topics and changes to tax forms.  I urge those of you who
have e-mail to subscribe to our DRS Electronic News Service
(E-News) so that you can receive immediate notification when
each new or revised document is published.  It’s absolutely free,
and you can download the new publication to your own
computer or open it and print it out directly from the link in the
message.  To subscribe to DRS E-News, log on to the DRS
Web site, www.state.ct.us/drs, and click on “Subscribe to
DRS E-News.”  It’s as simple as that to be up-to-date on every
Connecticut tax change.

As always, DRS welcomes your comments and suggestions on
tax policy and practice.  Please feel free to write or call me any
time.  TN
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SALES AND USE TAXES (SEE ALSO PAGE 4)

Effective January 1, 1998
Vehicles Using Clean Alternative Fuel.  Expiration dates
from previous legislation are extended from January 1, 1998,
to January 1, 2002, for three sales tax exemptions:

• New motor vehicles powered by
clean alternative fuel, exempt under
Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(67);

• Equipment for converting vehicles to
the use of clean alternative fuel,
exempt under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(68); and

• Equipment for compressed natural gas filling stations or
electric recharging stations for such vehicles, exempt
under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(69).

Clean alternative fuel means natural gas or electricity, and
propane when used in vehicles that meet certain emissions
standards.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §§23, 24 and 25)

Effective July 1, 1999
Personnel Training Services.  Sales and use taxes do not
apply to job-related personnel training services otherwise
taxable under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-407(2)(i)(J) when
provided by an institution of higher education licensed or
accredited by the Connecticut Board of Governors of Higher
Education.  Previously, job-related personnel training provided
by these institutions was considered taxable business
management consulting services relating to human resource
management activities, if the training was not open to the
general public or if the institution was directly engaged and
paid by an employer.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §10)

Freight Railroad Equipment. Railroad locomotives, track
ballasts, ties, rails, machinery and equipment used to
maintain railroad rights-of-way exclusively for the carriage of
freight are exempt.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §27)

MANAGED COMPLIANCE PROGRAM
Effective July 1, and October 1, 1999
At its discretion, DRS may enter into managed audit
agreements and managed compliance agreements with
taxpayers.  Direct Pay permit statutes are also modified to
make them more workable.  DRS may waive the first $10,000
of interest and 10% of additional interest in a managed audit,
and may waive penalties.  More details about the program,
including establishing effective use tax rates, reconciliation
and discretionary waivers of penalty and interest will be
featured in later DRS Tax News issues.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §§60-63, as amended by 1999
Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §42 (June Spec. Sess.))

CONSUMER SERVICES
Renovation and Repair Services to Residential Property.
The tax on paving, painting or staining, wallpapering,
roofing, siding and exterior sheet metal work to other than
industrial, commercial or income-producing real property

under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-407(2)(i)(BB) is being phased
out.  On and after July 1, 1999 the tax is 4%; on and after
July 1, 2000 the tax is 2%; on and after July 1, 2001 the
services are exempt from tax.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §§13 and 15)

Nonprescription Medicines.  The exemption for
nonprescription medicines under Conn. Gen. Stat.
§12-412(48) is expanded to include many additional items
used in or on the human body.  The exemption now includes
vitamin or mineral concentrates; dietary supplements;
natural or herbal medicines; cough, cold or allergy
medicines; antihistamines; laxatives; antidiarrheal
medicines; analgesics; antibiotic, antiviral and antifungal
medicines; antiseptics; astringents; anesthetics; steroidal
medicines; anthelmintics; emetics and antiemetics; antacids;
eye, ear or nose medications.  Excluded from the exemption
are cosmetics, dentifrices, mouthwash, shaving and hair care
products, soaps and deodorants.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §18)

Inclined stairway chairlifts.  Inclined stairway chairlifts for
persons with disabilities, are now exempt.  Repair and
replacement parts for the chairlifts are exempt under Conn.
Gen. Stat. §12-412(19).

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §16)

Repair and Replacement Parts.  Repair and replacement
parts for the following exempt items are now also exempt,
whether purchased separately or with the item:

• Medical equipment (such as corrective supports,
wheelchairs and equipment used to support vital life
functions) exempt under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(19);

• Glucose monitoring equipment exempt under Conn. Gen.
Stat. §12-412(54); and

• Special equipment installed in motor vehicles for persons
with physical disabilities, exempt under Conn. Gen. Stat.
§12-412(80).

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §§16, 19 and 26)

Shoe Repairs.  Shoe repair services are now exempt.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §27)

PUBLIC SAFETY ENCOURAGED
Firearm Safety Devices.  Safes, lock boxes, trigger and
barrel locks and other items designed to enhance home
firearm safety are exempt.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §27)

Bicycle Helmets.  Bicycle helmets that conform to minimum
specifications of the American National Standards Institute
or the Snell Memorial Foundation are exempt.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §27)

“Call Before You Dig” Services.  Business services by
public utilities to the “Call Before You Dig” Program under
Conn. Gen. Stat. §16-349 are exempt.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §27)
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TAX CHANGES AFFECTING VESSELS

Vessels are now exempt from sales tax when purchased
 by nonresidents who maintain no permanent place of

abode in Connecticut and who will not
register them with the Department of Motor
Vehicles in Connecticut. (The alternative
“home state” rate for nonresidents purchasing
vessels in Connecticut no longer applies.)

Repair and maintenance services to vessels are now entirely
exempt from sales and use taxes, completing the scheduled
phaseout of the taxes on these services.  1999 Conn. Pub. Acts
173, §13 adds “labor” to the existing exemption for repair and
maintenance services to vessels.  Labor refers to fabrication
labor enumerated in Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-407(2)(c) and (2)(g).

Vessel means every description of watercraft, other than a
seaplane on water, used or capable of being used as a means
of transportation on water.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §§13 and 21; 1996 Conn. Pub.
Acts 232, §1)

BUILDING MATERIAL SUPPLIERS

Certain building material suppliers will be allowed to
 remit sales tax when they receive payment for building

materials or services.  For a supplier to qualify to use this
provision, the supplier must demonstrate annually by July
1st that in any two of the most recent four quarterly periods,
at least 50% of its sales of building materials
were to contractors, subcontractors or
repair men for the improvement of
real property.  The supplier must
also qualify as a materialman
authorized to file mechanic’s liens
under Chapter 847 with respect to these sales.

Any tax amount not collected on the full purchase price
within one year of a supplier’s original sale of materials
must be paid in full with the supplier’s last tax return for
that one-year period.  Specific rules apply if the supplier
factors (sells) its accounts receivable.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §14)

Effective July 1, 1999
Joint Ventures.  The exemption for
certain personnel and business
services rendered in connection with
joint ventures is expanded to include
joint ventures formed for marketing
and support of new or experimental
products or systems, in addition to
production and development.  The
exemption is increased from 10 to 30
years for joint ventures within the
aircraft industry in existence prior to
January 1, 1986 .

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §20)

Diesel Fuel for Generators.  Diesel
fuel used exclusively in portable
power system generators larger than
150 kilowatts is exempt.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §27)

Sale and Leaseback Arrangements.
Sales and use taxes do not apply to
the original sale of tangible personal
property in a sale and leaseback
arrangement, if within 120 days from
the original sale the original
purchaser sells or contracts to sell the

property to a retailer that will lease it
back to the original purchaser in a
taxable lease.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §11)

Certain Motor Vehicles.  Motor
vehicles sold to limited liability
companies or their members in
connection with the organization or
termination of the limited liability
company are exempt from use tax under
Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-431(a), provided
the last taxable sale was subject to tax.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §29)

Calibration Services.  Calibration
services for manufacturing machinery,
equipment or instrumentation, and
other services associated with registra-
tion and compliance of quality manage-
ment and assurance standards, are
exempt.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §27)

Low and Moderate Income Housing.
The exemption for tangible personal
property and services used in
qualifying low and moderate income

housing projects is expanded to
include projects sponsored and
either owned or operated by
municipal housing authorities.

 (1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §17)

Services Between Wholly Owned
Entities.  The exemption in Conn.
Gen. Stat. §12-412(62) for services
rendered between affiliated
corporations is expanded to include
services between business entities
other than corporations, where either
entity owns a 100% controlling
interest (as defined in the statute) in
the other.  Business entities include
corporations, trusts, estates,
partnerships, limited partnerships,
limited liability partnerships, limited
liability companies, sole
proprietorships and nonstock
corporations. In addition, the
exemption now applies to
telecommunications services and
community antenna television
services.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §22)

TRANSITIONAL RULES FOR SALES AND USE TAXES
Charges for services provided before and after the date of repeal of the tax on such
services are subject to tax only on the portion of the charges for services provided
before the date of repeal.
Charges for services being reduced because of a phaseout of the tax are subject to tax
at the higher rate only on the portion of the charges for services provided before the
date of the rate reduction.  The portion of the charges for services provided on or after
the date of the rate reduction is subject to tax at the reduced rate.  TN
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Withholding Tables to Change July 2000

For the period prior to July 1, 2000, single individuals should make
withholding or estimated tax payments without regard to the personal

income tax exemption and credit changes.  The Commissioner of Revenue
Services will issue new withholding tables and estimated income tax
worksheets effective July 1, 2000. The new tables and worksheets will reflect
the increased personal exemptions and credits for single individuals that are
in effect for all of taxable year 2000.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §8)

Identity Change or Form
of Ownership Transfers

Transfers or conveyances of real
property that are to effectuate a

mere change of identity or form of
ownership or organization are exempt
from the real estate conveyance tax,
if there is no change in beneficial
ownership.    The exemption is
applicable to transfers made on or
after October 1, 1999.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 231)

Relief for Innocent Spouses

Newly enacted taxpayer-friendly
legislation provides three types of

relief from joint and several liability to
innocent spouses who have filed a
joint Connecticut income tax return.
Any individual who has filed a joint
return may request separation of
liability , innocent spouse relief or
equitable relief to avoid joint and
several liability.

Separation of liability is available to
any individual who filed a joint return
for the taxable year(s) that has a
deficiency due, in part, to an item of
the taxpayer’s spouse.  If relief is
granted, the deficiency is allocated
between the taxpayer and the
taxpayer’s spouse.  Certain transfers
between spouses may invalidate this
election.

Innocent spouse relief is available to
any individual who has filed a joint
return that has an understatement of
tax due to an erroneous item of the
taxpayer’s spouse.  If relief is granted,
the taxpayer shall be relieved of tax
liability (including interest and
penalties) to the extent such liability is
attributable to the understatement.

If the taxpayer does not qualify for
separation of liability or innocent
spouse relief, the taxpayer may request
“equitable relief” if it is inequitable to
hold the taxpayer liable for any unpaid
tax or deficiency.

Individuals seeking relief must
complete Form CT-8857, Request for
Innocent Spouse Relief.  An individual
may file for relief within two years after
the date on which the Commissioner
has started collection activities against
the taxpayer seeking relief.

1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 48, §§3 and 4)

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX (SEE ALSO PAGE 7)

Property Tax Credits for 1999 and 2000 Highest Ever

The maximum property tax credit is
increased to $425 for taxable years

beginning on or after January 1, 1999,
and to $500 for taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2000.  The dollar
for dollar credits are the highest yet to
be available to Connecticut residents
to reduce their income tax.   The
property tax must have been paid to a
Connecticut political subdivision on a
primary residence or motor vehicle, or
both.

REAL ESTATE

CONVEYANCE TAX

TAX
YEAR

1998

1999

2000

PROPERTY
TAX CREDIT
(maximum amount)

$350

$425

$500

INCREASE
OVER

PREVIOUS YEAR

$135

$75

$75

Other Income Tax
Changes
For taxable years beginning on
or after January 1, 1999

Extension Requirement Clari-
fied
Taxpayers who pay 90% or more of
their total income tax due with their
extension request by the original due
date of the return and pay the
remaining 10% balance with a timely-
filed income tax return will avoid
penalty for failure to pay the full
amount due by the original due date.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 121, §22)

For taxable years beginning on
or after January 1, 2000

Property Tax Thresholds for
Single Filers Increased
The Connecticut adjusted gross income
thresholds used by single filers to
calculate the property tax credit will
increase over an 8 year period.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §7)

Single Filers Will Pay Less
Tax in the New Millenium

T he personal income tax exemptions
   and credits available to single

individuals are increased over an 8
year period for taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2000.  In
calculating Connecticut taxable
income, single taxpayers will reduce
Connecticut adjusted gross income by
a higher personal exemption before
applying the income tax rate.  After
calculating the Connecticut income tax,
single taxpayers will then apply a
higher personal credit percentage to
arrive at the amount of total
Connecticut tax liability.  The tax tables
will be revised beginning with the 2000
taxable year to reflect the increase in
personal exemptions and credits over
the 8 year period.  The personal income
tax exemptions and credits for
taxpayers who file as married filing
separately, head of household and
married filing jointly will remain
unchanged.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §§5, 6, 7
and 8)

The chart below shows the increases
in the Connecticut Property Tax Credit:

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §2)
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 CORPORATION TAXES / TAX CREDITS

CHANGES AFFECTING CORPORATIONS

New corporation business
income tax legislation:

Effective for income years beginning
on or after January 1, 1999.

• Permits corporations to deduct from
gross income an amount equal to
the value of any capital gain
realized from the sale of
any land, or interest in
land, to the state, any
political subdivision of
the state, or to any
nonprofit land
conservation
organization, where such land is to
be permanently preserved as
protected open space or water
company land.

• Allows a company that is a limited
partner in a partnership, other than
an investment partnership, that is
not otherwise carrying on or doing
business within the state, to elect to
apportion net income as provided
under Chapter 208.

• Allows a corporation that has been
granted an extension for filing a
completed return to avoid a late
payment penalty as long as the
balance due is 10% or less and is
remitted with the corporation
business tax return.  Interest at the
rate of 1% per month is due from the
original due date to the actual date
of payment.

• Allows any net operating loss
incurred for income years beginning
on or after January 1, 2000, to be
carried forward for 20 years. (see
also page 8)

Effective for income years beginning
on or after January 1, 2000.

• Increases the air carriers minimum
tax to $250.

New legislation affecting
corporation business tax credits:

Effective for income years beginning
on or after January 1, 1999.

• Allows S corporations with income
years commencing on or after

January 1, 1999, but before
December 31, 2000, to take 100% of
the Neighborhood Assistance Act
(NAA) credit, instead of the
phaseout amount.

• Amends the NAA credit to provide
a 60% credit for cash donations to

an open space
acquisition fund of any
political subdivision of
the state or any
nonprofit land
conservation
organization to purchase
land, an interest in land,

or permanent conservation
restriction on land which is
permanently preserved as protected
open space.  This new NAA credit
is not subject to the requirement
that the amount expended must
exceed the amount expended in the
preceding year.

• Creates a tax credit equal to 50% of
any donation of open space land to
the state, a political subdivision of
the state or any nonprofit land
conservation organization.  The
donated land must be permanently
preserved as protected open space.

• Increases the total Employer
Assisted Housing Tax Credit
available from $1 million to $5
million.  The credit allowed per firm
changes from $50,000 to $75,000.

• For companies that are
headquartered in an enterprise zone,
employ more than 2,500 workers and
have revenues in excess of $3
billion, the credit available for
research and development expenses
of more than $200 million is the
greater of $5.5 million plus 6% of the
research and development expenses
in excess of $200 million or 3.5% of
the total research and development
expenses.

• Creates a new tax
credit for qualifying
small businesses
having gross
receipts not in
excess of $5

million.  The credit is equal to the
amount paid by the qualifying small
business to the Small Business
Administration (SBA) as a guaranty
fee to obtain guaranteed financing.

• The Department of Labor now
administers the Opportunity
Certificate Credit.

• Extends the sunset date for the
Clean Alternative Fuel Credit to any
income years beginning on or
before January 1, 2002.  The credit
was scheduled to be repealed
effective for income years beginning
on or before January 1, 2000.

Effective for income years beginning
on or after January 1, 2000.

• Increases the total NAA credit
available from $4 million to $5
million.

• Creates a tax credit for expenses
related to rehabilitating historic
homes.  To be entitled to a tax credit
voucher, the owner must incur
qualified rehabilitation expenditures
exceeding $25,000.  The credit
allowed is the lesser of 30% of the
projected qualified rehabilitation
expenditures or 30% of the actual
qualified rehabilitation expenditures.
The credit may not exceed $30,000
per dwelling unit for a historic home.
The total amount of tax credits
reserved in any fiscal year may not
exceed $3 million.

• Allows qualified small businesses
(having gross receipts of less than
$70 million) who cannot use their
Research and Experimental
Incremental Expenditure Credits
(Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217j) or their
Research and Development Non-
incremental Expenditure Credits
(Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-21n) as a
result of having no tax liability, to

exchange tax credits for a
cash payment of
65% of the value of
the credits or elect
to  carry the
credits forward  for

future use.  TN
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Effective June 3, 1999
TAX CHANGES

FOR HOSPITALS

Effective July 1, 1999

Patient care services by hospitals are
subject to sales and use taxes at the
reduced rate of 5.75%.

Sales of patient care services by any
short-term acute care hospital operated
exclusively by the State of Connecticut
are exempt from sales and use taxes.

Any short-term acute
care hospital operated
exclusively by the State
of Connecticut also is
exempt from the gross
earnings tax imposed on hospitals.
However, any short-term acute care
hospital operated by the State of
Connecticut as a receiver pursuant to
Chapter 920 of the Connecticut General
Statutes is not exempt from either sales
tax or gross earnings tax.  TN

Effective October 1, 1999

The rate of the gross earnings tax
imposed on hospitals is reduced from
7.25% to 4.5%.  Under prior law, the
rate of the gross earnings tax imposed
on hospitals was scheduled to be
reduced from 7.25% to 6.25% for each
taxable quarter beginning on or after
October 1, 1999.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §12, 13,
31 and 32)

Time for Making Deficiency
Assessments
The Commissioner may mail a notice of
proposed deficiency at any time if a
taxpayer fails to report a change or
correction by the United States
Internal Revenue Service, which, in the
case of an individual, increases federal
adjusted gross income or in the case of
a trust or estate, increases federal
taxable income.  The Commissioner
may mail a notice of proposed
deficiency at any time if a taxpayer fails
to report a change or correction by tax
officers of another jurisdiction which
affects the tax that the taxpayer is
required to pay to another jurisdiction

Also, if a taxpayer reports a change or
correction by the IRS or by tax officers
of another jurisdiction, the assessment,
if not made upon the filing of the

federal income tax return as married individuals filing jointly
or head of household and reported a federal adjusted gross

income of less than $60,000.  Eligible individuals will be able to subtract the
amount of federally taxable Social Security benefits from federal adjusted gross
income in arriving at Connecticut adjusted gross income on returns filed for
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1999. (1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §1)

Social Security recipients who pay federal income tax on their benefits and
report a federal adjusted gross income above the threshold amounts are
unaffected by the new law.  These individuals remain liable for the Connecticut
income tax on up to 25% of total Social Security benefits received and should
complete the Social Security Benefit Adjustment Worksheet to compute the
amount of benefits that are taxable for Connecticut income tax purposes.  TN

Social Security
from page 15

Reporting After-
Discovered Assets
The assessment of succession tax by the
Commissioner of Revenue Services
becomes final 60 days after issuance.
Assets discovered after the filing of the
succession tax return and less than 60
days from the Commissioner's
assessment must be reported to the
Commissioner.  For taxable estates, prior
law required that assets discovered more
than 60 days after the Commissioner's
assessment be reported to the
Commissioner if the value of the assets
was more than $500.  For nontaxable
estates, prior law required that assets
discovered more than 60 days after a
Judge of Probate's issuance of a
Certificate on No Tax and valued at more

than $1000 be reported to the
Commissioner.

Effective July 1, 1999
Reporting requirements for certain after-
discovered assets discovered more than
60 days after the Commissioner's
assessment or more than 30 days after
the issuance of a Certificate of No Tax
by a Judge of Probate are required to be
reported to the Commissioner only if the
additional succession tax attributable to
such assets is $100 or more.

The time period for the
Commissioner to object to a
Judge of Probate's issuance of
a Certificate of No Tax
For certificates of no tax issued by a
Judge of Probate on or after July 1, 1999,
the time period for the Commissioner to

SUCCESSION AND TRANSFER TAXES

file an objection is changed from 60 days
to 30 days after the date of issuance.
Unless the Commissioner files an
objection with the Probate Court within
the 30 day requirement, the Certificate of
No Tax is conclusive evidence that real
estate included in the gross taxable
estate is free from any claim of
succession tax and that no succession
tax is due from the estate.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 121, §§10
and 11)

For transfers of open space land made on
or after July 1, 1999, a succession tax
exemption is allowed with respect to any
transfer of open space land, as defined in
Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-107e.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 231, §51)

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX, CONTINUED FROM PAGE 5

report, may be made not later than
three years after such report is filed.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 121, §25)

Fraud Penalty
A 25% penalty applies to any
deficiency assessment where a federal
court has held that a taxpayer has filed
a fraudulent return with the IRS.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 121, §23)

Jeopardy Assessments
Jeopardy assessments are final ten days
after service of the notice of assessment,
unless the taxpayer files a timely written
protest.  The amount assessed is due
and payable no later than the tenth day
after service of the notice of assessment,
unless the taxpayer has obtained a stay
of collection.

(1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 121, §24)
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CONNECTICUT TAX  NEWS,
from the Connecticut
Department of Revenue
Services, is published five
times a year.

This newsletter is designed
to provide general
information to taxpayers
and tax practitioners. It is
not designed to explain in
depth a current Department
policy affecting the liability
of taxpayers.  Nothing in
this publication supersedes,
alters, or otherwise changes
the provisions of the
Connecticut General
Statutes, regulations,
Department rulings or tax
information publications.
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Department of
Revenue Services
25 Sigourney Street
Hartford, CT  06106-5032

• Visit the DRS Web site:  www.state.ct.us/drs

For Tax Forms, Publications
or Personal Assistance

BRIDGEPORT
10 Middle St.
203-579-6251

HAMDEN
3074 Whitney Ave.

203-287-8243

HARTFORD
25 Sigourney St.
860-297-5962

NORWICH
2 Cliff St.

860-889-2669

WATERBURY *
91 Schraffts Dr.
203-596-4310

*This office will be moving in 1999.  To verify the address, please call before you visit.

• Call CONN-TAX at 1-800-382-9463 (in-state) or
1-860-297-5962 (anywhere)

TTY, TDD and Text Telephone users only may transmit
inquiries 24 hours a day, seven days a week by calling
860-297-4911.

•  Write to: Department of Revenue Services
Taxpayer Services Division
25 Sigourney Street
Hartford, CT  06106-5032

Forms and publications may be obtained 24 hours a day,
seven days a week, by using any of the following resources.

Internet:  Preview and download forms from the DRS Web
site at www.state.ct.us/drs

DRS TaxFax:  Call 860-297-5698 from the
handset attached to your fax machine

E-mail:   E-mail your request for forms to:
ctforms.drs@po.state.ct.us

Telephone:  From a touch-tone phone 24 hours a day call
1-800-382-9463 (in-state) and select Option 2 or 860-297-4753 (DRS Forms
Unit).

For free assistance on forms, visit our offices from 8:00 a.m.
to 5:00 p.m. (Monday through Friday).  For pre-recorded
directions to DRS offices, call CONN-TAX.  If you require
special accommodations, please advise the Department
representative.

NET OPERATING LOSS CARRYFORWARD NOW 20 YEARS

I n arriving at net income, any
excess of the deductions

allowed for any income year, over
the gross income for that year or the
amount of such excess apportioned
to Connecticut, shall be an operating
loss of that income year, and shall be
deductible as an operating loss
carry-over.

Currently, Connecticut’s net
operating loss carryover is allowed in

each of the five income years
following the loss year.

1999 Conn. Pub. Acts 173, §39
amends Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217(a)(4)
to allow a five year carry forward for
net operating losses incurred prior to
income years beginning January 1,
2000, and a twenty year carry forward
for net operating losses incurred in
income years beginning on or after
January 1, 2000. TN

Computer and Data
Processing

Effective July 1, 1999

As part of the phaseout of
the tax on computer and data
processing services under
Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-
407(2)(i)(A), the rate is
reduced from 4% to 3%.


