Department of Revenue Services Form 472

State of Connecticut .
PO Box 5031 Attorney Occupational Tax Return
Hartford CT 06102-5031 >2002

(Rev. 11/02) Instructions

1. Due Date: This return must be filed on or before January 15, 2003, by all attorneys listed on
the roll of attorneys maintained by the Superior Court at any time during calendar year 2002.

2. Please enter your Social Security Number and Juris Number in the spaces provided.

(See reverse for additional instructions)

Connecticut Tax Registration Number
>
. Social Security Number
If address below is not correct, please make necessary changes >
Juris Number
B >
A | Are you self-employed? [ Yes O No If No, enter name of your employer.
A person admitted as an attorney by the judges of the Superior Court and engaged in the practice of law in Connecticut is
B subject to the occupational tax. A person employed as an attorney by an employer that is not a law firm is considered to be
engaged in the practice of law.
Do you claim exemption from the occupational tax for calendar year 2002? P Yes P No
If Yes, proceed to Part C and check the appropriate box. If No, proceed to Part D.
| claim exemption from the occupational tax because during calendar year 2002: (Check One)
| 2 g My name was removed from the roll of attorneys maintained by the clerk of the Superior Court for the Judicial District of
Hartford.
| 4 | engaged in the practice of law, but not as an occupation, and | received less than $450 in compensation from engaging
in the practice of law.
» 7 lwasajudge, seniorjudge, or referee. (Probate judges who otherwise engage in the practice of law cannot claim this
exemption.)
Cc . . . . .
» | was a Connecticut state employee employed as an attorney and | did not otherwise engage in the practice of law.
» | was afederal government employee employed as an attorney and | did not otherwise engage in the practice of law.
» | wasanemployee of a Connecticut political subdivision employed as an attorney and did not otherwise engage in the
practice of law.
» | was a Connecticut probate court employee employed as an attorney and did not otherwise engage in the practice of
law.
» 7 lengagedin the practice of law exclusively outside of Connecticut.
» [ Idid not work or was not employed as an attorney.
» I was on active duty with the United States Armed Forces for more than six months.
» | retired from the practice of law and filed written notice of retirement with the clerk of the Superior Court for the Judicial
District of Hartford.
D Occupational tax D » $450|00
E Penalty (See reverse) E|»
Rtiri';it F Interest (See reverse) F|»
amounts | G Total Amount Due (Add Lines D, E, and F) G|»
Make check or money order payable to: Commissioner of Revenue Services
Mail to: Department of Revenue Services, State of Connecticut, PO Box 5031, Hartford CT 06102-5031
Declaration: | declare under the penalty of law that | have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements)
and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, itis true, complete, and correct. | understand that the penalty for willfully delivering a false return
to DRS is a fine of not more than $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than
the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.
Sign
Here »

Signature Date




Frequently Asked Questions

Who Must File a Return?

Any attorney listed on the roll of attorneys maintained by
the Superior Court at any time during the calendar year
for which this return is filed must file a return for that
calendar year even if exemption from tax is claimed.

Who Is Liable for the Tax?

Any person who is admitted as an attorney by the judges
of the Superior Court, and who engaged in the practice
of law in Connecticut during the calendar year for which
this return is filed, and who is not exempt from this tax, is
liable for the tax.

Any person employed as an attorney by an employer,
where the employer is not a law firm but the position
requires that the person be admitted as an attorney by
the judges of the Superior Court, is considered to be
engaged in the practice of law, is liable for the tax.

Who Is Exempt From the Tax?
See Part C of this return for a complete list of exemptions.

Where Can | Find My Juris Number?

If you are unsure of your Juris Number, refer to a copy of
your Attorney Registration form completed in compliance
with Practice Book §2-27. Juris numbers may also be
found on the Connecticut Judicial Branch web site at:
www.jud.state.ct.us

Employers Paying on Behalf of Employees

Employers paying the tax on behalf of employees must
attach a list that includes each employee’s name,
Connecticut Tax Registration Number (if applicable),
Social Security Number, and Juris Number. One check
may be submitted for the total amount due.

When Do | File?

File Form 472, Attorney Occupational Tax Return, on or
before January 15, 2008.
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What if | File or Pay Late?

If you are subject to the tax and pay late, the late payment
penalty is $50. Late payments are subject to interest at
the rate of 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a month
from the due date to the date of payment.

If you are exempt from the tax but file Form 472 late, a
late filing penalty of $50 may be imposed.

What if My Address Changes?

If your address changes, you should notify both the
Department of Revenue Services (DRS) and the
Statewide Grievance Committee.

To change your address with DRS:
¢ Correct the address on the front of this return; or

* Fax a written notice of the change, including your
Connecticut Tax Registration Number as it appears
on the front of this return, to: 860-297-4761 (ATTN:
14th Floor Registration Unit); or

* Mail a written notice of the change, including your
Connecticut Tax Registration Number as it appears
on the front of this return, to:

DRS Registration
Maintenance Unit

PO Box 2937

Hartford CT 06104-2937

To change your address with the Statewide
Grievance Committee:

Call the Hartford Superior Court’s Clerk Office at:
860-548-2700, ext. 3723, and ask for Form JD-GC-10
or visit the Connecticut Judicial Branch’s web site at:
www.jud.state.ct.us

Return Form JD-GC-10 to the Statewide Grievance
Committee at the address shown on the form.

Form JD-GC-9, Attorney Registration, which is sent
to you annually by the Statewide Grievance
Committee, also contains space to indicate your
change of address.



