PETROLEUM PRODUCTS STATE OF CONNECTICUT

GROSS EARNINGS TAX RETURN DEPARTMEN;:';:)E‘;%’;:JE SERVICES RETURN FOR QUARTER ENDED
Hartford CT 06102-5031 >
CT TAX REGISTRATION NUMBER
INSTRUCTIONS >
TAXTYPE 1. DUE DATE: One month after filing period shown in the upper right hand corner.
2. MAKE CHECK or money order payable to: COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE FEDERAL EMPLOYER ID NUMBER
5 5 SERVICES.
3. LATE PAYMENT PENALTY: 10% of tax due, or $50, whichever is greater. VERIFIED DA EA
DISTRIBUTOR LATE FILING PENALTY: $50 (Not applicable if late payment penalty is applicable).

4. INTEREST: 1% per month, or fraction thereof, from due date.

Please correct your name and address if shown incorrectly.

TAXPAYER COPY

-

SCHEDULE A -COMPUTATION OF TOTAL TAXDUE

1. SALES - Gross Earnings from the sale of all products in Connecticut > 1 $

2. SALES - Gross Earnings from the sale of all petroleum products in Connecticut > 2

3. Of the amount reported on Line 2, enter those gross earnings that are not from the first sales of those
petroleum products in Connecticut > 3

4. Gross Earnings from the first sales of petroleum products in Connecticut (Subtract Line 3 from Line 2) > 4

5. Of the amount on Line 4, enter those gross earnings from first sales to another who resells the products outside of
Connecticut as reported on Form OP-218 and those gross earnings from first sales to another who
resells the products exclusively outside Connecticut as reported on Form OP-219 (Attach copies) > 5

6. Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter 20% (.20) of the gross earnings from first sales of No. 6 oil used
exclusively by a company in SIC code classifications 2000 to 3999 or No. 2 heating oil used exclusively
in a vessel primarily engaged in interstate commerce which are reported on Form AU-550 (Attach copies) > 6

7. Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter those gross earnings from first sales of No. 2 heating oil either
to be used exclusively for heating purposes or to be used in a commercial fishing vessel > 7

8. Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter those gross earnings from first sales of kerosene delivered
by a metered truck to a residential dwelling > 8

9. Of the amount reported on Line 4, enter those gross earnings from first sales of propane to be used
exclusively for heating purposes or as a fuel for a motor vehicle > 9

10. Of amount reported on Line 4, enter those gross earnings from first sales of bunker fuel oil, intermediate fuel, marine

diesel oil and marine gas oil for use in any vessel having a displacement exceeding 4000 dead weight tons » 10
11. Total deductions (Add Lines 5 through 10) > 11
12. TOTAL GROSS EARNINGS SUBJECT TO TAX (Subtract Line 11 from Line 4) > 12
13. PURCHASES - Consideration given for petroleum products purchased for use or consumption
in Connecticut (See instructions) > 13
14. Of the amount reported on Line 13, enter that portion of consideration given for petroleum products
that are subsequently sold outside Connecticut > 14
15. Consideration given for purchases subject to tax (Subtract Line 14 from Line 13) > 15
16. SALES AND PURCHASES SUBJECT TO TAX (Add Line 12 and Line 15) > 16
17.  TAX DUE (Multiply Line 16 by .05 (5%)) > 17
18. Penalty > 18
19. Interest > 19
20. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE (Add Line 17, Line 18 and Line 19) > 20 $
DECLARATION
| declare under the penalties of false statement that | have examined this return and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete and correct.
SIGNED TITLE DATE

OP-161 (Rev. 9/98)



GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

The petroleum products gross earnings tax applies to all companies which are engaged in the distribution, use and consumption of petroleum
products in this state. Such companies shall pay a quarterly tax at the rate of 5% of gross earnings in each taxable quarter derived from the
first sale of petroleum products in this state. In the case of use and consumption, such companies shall pay a quarterly tax at the rate of 5%
of the consideration given or contracted to be given for petroleum products imported into this state on which the tax has not been imposed
(and where the consideration given for all such imported products during the quarter exceeds one hundred thousand dollars).

DEFINITIONS

“Company” means any corporation, partnership, limited partnership, association or individual.

“Petroleum products” are products made from crude petroleum or its fractional products, including products produced through straight
distillation of crude oil, through redistillation of unfinished petroleum derivatives or through other processes. Petroleum products include acid
oil, alkylates, aromatic chemicals, asphalt and asphaltic materials, benzene, butadiene, petroleum coke, gasoline, greases, hydrocarbon
fluids, jet fuels, kerosene, liquefied petroleum gases, mineral jelly, mineral oils, mineral waxes, naphtha, naphthenic acids, fuel, lubricating and
illuminating oils, paraffin wax, nonmedicinal petrolatums, bituminous road materials, road oils, solvents, and tar or residuum.

“Total gross earnings subject to tax” means and includes gross receipts from the initial sale of petroleum products within this state, but do
not include the amount of state or federal excise taxes on motor vehicle fuel or diesel fuel. (Only those gross earnings from the sale of
petroleum products listed in Industry Group 2992 (when they are produced from refined petroleum products) or in Industry Group No. 2911 of
Major Group 29 of the Standard Industrial Classification Manual of 1972 are subject to the petroleum products gross earnings tax.)

“Use” includes holding for sale and selling imported petroleum products in the regular course of business. Fuel in the fuel supply tanks of a
motor vehicle which fuel tanks are directly connected to the engine is not considered a petroleum product imported into this state.

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS

Line 1 Enter the gross earnings from the sales of all products in Connecticut.

Line 2 Enter the gross earnings from the sales of all petroleum products in Connecticut.

Line 3 Enter the gross earnings on sales of petroleum products on which the gross earnings tax has been previously paid by another
distributor.

Line 4 Enter the gross earnings from the first sale of petroleum products in Connecticut (subtract Line 3 from Line 2).

Line 5 Enter the gross earnings from the first sale of petroleum products to another distributor who either sells the product outside of this
state (Form OP-218) or sells the product exclusively outside of this state (Form OP-219). Attach a copy of Forms OP-218 and
OP-219 to document these sales. Retain the original for your records.

Line 6 Enter 20% (.20) of the gross earnings from the first sale of Number 6 fuel oil, as defined in Connecticut Regulations, used
exclusively by a company which, in accordance with the SIC Manual, 1987 edition, is included in code classification 2000 to 3999
inclusive and Number 2 heating oil used exclusively in a vessel primarily engaged in interstate commerce, which vessel qualifies for
an exemption under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412. Attach a copy of all Forms AU-550 to document these sales. Keep a copy of the
records documenting these sales for at least three years.

Line 7 Enter the gross earnings from sales of Number 2 heating oil exclusively for heating purposes and gross earnings from sales of
Number 2 heating oil to be used in a commercial fishing vessel by a person who has been issued a Form OR-256, Commercial
Fisherman Permit, by the Department of Revenue Services and who is purchasing such fuel on or after the date the permit was
issued, but on or before the date the permit expires, that have been included in Line 2. Keep a copy of the records documenting
these sales for at least 3 years.

Line 8 Enter the gross earnings from sales of kerosene, commonly known as Number 1 oil, that have been included in Line 2, used
exclusively for heating purposes, provided delivery is of both Number 1 and Number 2 oil, and by a truck with a metered delivery
ticket to a residential dwelling or a centrally metered system serving a group of residential dwellings.

Line 9 Enter the gross earnings from sales of propane exclusively for heating purposes or as a fuel for a motor vehicle (prior to January 1,
2000) that have been included in Line 2. Keep a copy of the records documenting these sales for atleast 3 years.

Line 10 Enter the gross earnings from sales of bunker fuel oil, intermediate fuel, marine diesel oil and marine gas oil for use in any vessel
having a displacement exceeding 4000 dead weight tons. Keep a copy of the records documenting these sales for at least 3 years.

Line 11  Enter the total deductions (add Lines 5 through 10).

Line 12 Enter the total gross earnings subject to tax (subtract Line 11 from Line 4).

Line 13  Enter the consideration given when purchasing petroleum products that are to be used in Connecticut, when the consideration given
exceeds one hundred thousand dollars during the quarterly period.

Line 14 Enter that portion of the amount listed on line 13 that was for petroleum products that are subsequently sold outside of Connecticut.

Line 15 Enter the consideration given for purchases subject to tax (subtract Line 14 from Line 13).

Line 16 Enter the total sales and purchases subject to tax (add Lines 12 and 15).

Line 17 Enter Tax Due: 5% (.05) of Line 16.

Line 18 Enter Late Payment Penalty: 10% (.10) of the tax due or $50, whichever is greater. Late Filing Penalty: $50 (Late filing penalty is not
applicable if late payment penalty is applicable.)

Line 19 Enter Interest: 1% (.01) per month or fraction thereof from the due date of payment.

Line 20 Enter Total of Line 17, Line 18 and Line 19. Make check payable to: COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE SERVICES.

If you need information or assistance, call the Excise/Public Services Taxes Subdivision at 860-541-3225, Monday through Friday between
8:00a.m. and 5:00 p.m.
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