DRS: End of Filing Season FAQs

 
Filing Season FAQs

Choose from the topics below
  1. I don't have all the information I need to file my return by the due date. 
  2. Where should I mail the extension?  
  3. Can I use a credit card to pay my income tax?
  4. I paid property tax but not sure how much I paid. What should I enter on the property tax credit schedule?
  5. How can I make sure you receive my return on time?
  6. What if I cannot pay all that I owe by the due date?
  7. I mailed the return but forgot to send the payment, what should I do?
  8. I forgot to sign my return.  Should I send in a copy with my signature?
  9. I filed my return but forgot to enter the estimated payments (or payment applied from last year), should I file an amended return?
  10. I received my refund, but I have to amend my return and will owe more income tax. What should I do?
  11. We received our refund check but it was (lost, stolen, mangled, etc).
  12. I found an old check from DRS that was never cashed. The bank will not accept it. What should I do?
  13. We never received our refund check even though DRS said that they mailed us a check.
  14. I moved after filing my return.  What will happen to my refund check?
  15. I mailed my return to DRS more than 10 weeks ago and I still have not received my refund.  I called the automated refund line and it said the return was not processed. What should I do?
  16. Am I entitled to interest on my refund?
  17. What if I am missing or don't have an ITIN or SSN?

Q.  I don’t have all the information I need to file my return by the due date.  What should I do?

If you cannot file on time because you do not have all the necessary information to file a return, use the TSC-IND to file Form CT-1040EXT, Application For Extension of Time to File Connecticut Income Tax Return For Individuals or use the paper Form CT-1040EXT.  You are required to pay all that you expect to owe with the extension request. Any tax that is not paid on or before the due date, will be subject to penalty and interest.  The extension of time to file will give you an additional 6 months to file the final return.

Payments with the extension request may be made by direct payment from a checking or savings account on the TSC-IND system or may be mailed in separately by check or money order.  Extensions and payments made using the TSC will be timely as long as they are completed before midnight on the due date.  Payments that are mailed to DRS must be timely filed following the guidelines for timely filing of a return.      

Form CT-1040EXT may also be downloaded from our website and mailed to DRS on or before the due date, along with any payment of tax due.  The paper form is also in the CT-1040 and CT-1040NR/PY Booklets.    

IMPORTANT YOU DON’T NEED TO FILE FOR AN EXTENSION IF BOTH OF THE FOLLOWING ARE TRUE: 

  • You expect to owe no additional Connecticut income tax for the taxable year, after taking into account any Connecticut income tax withheld from your wages or any estimated Connecticut income tax payments you have made, or both, and
  • You have requested an extension of time to file your federal income tax return. Keep a copy of your federal Form 4868 for your records.

Q. Where should I mail the extension request?

A. The fastest and easiest way to file an extension request is to use the TSC-IND.  If you use the TSC-IND to file the extension, do not mail anything. 

Forms with payment, mail to:

Department of Revenue Services
P.O. Box 2977
Hartford, CT 06104-2977  

Forms without payment:

Department of Revenue Services
PO Box 2976
Hartford, CT 06104-2976

To be timely, it must be received by the due date or be timely filed following the guidelines for timely filing a return.


Q. Can I use the credit card option to pay?

A. You may pay this year's Connecticut income tax liability using your Discover®, Visa, MasterCard® or American Express Card®.  A convenience fee based on the total tax payment will be calculated by the credit card service provider. You will be informed of the amount of the fee and you may elect to cancel your transaction.  The total tax payment and convenience fee will be charged to your account by the credit card provider. You will be informed of the amount of the fee and you may elect to cancel the transaction.  At the completion of the transaction you will be given a confirmation number for your records.

To charge your Connecticut tax payment to your credit card do either of the following:

  • Call Official Payments Corporation toll-free at 1-800-487-4567 to speak to an operator. Have your credit card ready. You will be asked to enter your 4-digit jurisdiction code. The 4-digit code for Connecticut is 1777. Follow the voice prompts to complete the transaction.

or

  • Visit www.officialpayments.com and select Payment Center. You will need to enter the Connecticut Jurisdiction Code: 1777.
Your payment will be effective on the date you made the charge. To be timely, you must initiate the credit card payment no later than the due date.
 

Q. I know that I paid property tax but I am not sure how much I paid.  What should I enter on the property tax schedule?

A. To claim the credit you must know the exact amount of property tax that you paid and must enter that amount on your Connecticut income tax return.  You may contact your local town assessors office or visit the town website to view your property tax information online.

Otherwise, you may have to file your return and pay the tax you owe without claiming the credit and then amend to claim the credit after you know the exact amount. Or, you may request an extension of time to file.


Q. I mailed the return but forgot to send the payment, what should I do?

A. As long as the payment is received by the Department or bears a U.S. postmark date on or before the due date, the payment will be timely.  Send your payment by check or money order made out to "Commissioner of Revenue Services" and SSN(optional), the year of the return, and the words "Form CT-1040 or CT-1040NR/PY" on the check or on a piece of paper attached to the check.  Mail the payment to:  
Department of Revenue Services
Revenue Accounting
P.O. Box 5088
Hartford, CT 06102-5088 
Electronic Payment:  Payments can be made electronically after the return is filed by going to the TSC-IND Welcome Menu and choosing “Make a Bill Payment” on the left hand side of the menu.  As long as the payment is made by midnight on the due date, the payment will be timely.  The credit card payment option described above is also an option and will be timely if scheduled by the due date.

Q. I forgot to sign my return.  Should I send in a copy with my signature?

A. Do not send in a second return.  The Department will contact you if there is a problem with your return.  Do not be concerned if you are not contacted.


Q. I filed my return but forgot to enter the estimated payments (or payment applied from last year), should I file an amended return?

A. Do not file an amended return.  DRS will automatically check your account for payments and if we find that you made an estimated payment or made a mistake in entering the amount of the estimated payment, we will correct that error and will issue you the correct refund.


Q.  How can I be sure that you receive my return on time?

A. If you file electronically (using the TSC-IND online or fed/state efile), you have until midnight on the due date to file and pay on time. 

If you mail your return - A return or a payment of tax for income tax is timely filed if received or if the date shown by the U.S. Postal Service cancellation mark is on or before the due date.   This due date applies to all Connecticut individual income tax returns, Connecticut individual income tax payments, and the first estimated tax payment for the following year.

Private Delivery Services (PDS):

DRS will also accept as timely, returns or payments sent by certain private delivery services as long as the date recorded by the private delivery service is on or before the due date and the taxpayer uses one of the approved services.  The name of the company and the type of service that shows timely receipt are listed below.

See PS 2016(4) for a list of updated PDSs.


Q. What if I cannot pay all that I owe by the due date?

A. If you have all of the information necessary to file the Connecticut income tax return but do not have enough money to pay the tax due, you should:

  1. File the return on time and pay as much as possible. (Timely payment of even part of the tax due will reduce the penalty and interest due on the unpaid balance.)
  2. Download Form CT-1127, Application for Extension of Time for Payment of Income Tax, complete as much as possible of the form and attach it to the front of the income tax return.
  3. If you cannot download Form CT-1127, write "Substitute Form CT-1127" on the top of a sheet of paper and explain the hardship which requires you to request the extension and attach the substitute form to the front of your return.  If the extension of time to pay is granted and you pay all that is due by the extended due date (October 15), the 10% penalty will be waived. Interest at 1% per month or fraction of a month on the unpaid amount will apply.
  4. If you would like to set up a payment plan, describe how much you can reasonably pay each month and include it with the substitute form. 
  5. Do not wait to be contacted by the Department.  Begin making payments each month and continue to make payments on a regular basis.  Payments may be mailed to:
Department of Revenue Services
PO Box 5088
Hartford, CT 06102-5088
Include your name and the year for which the payment is due, and the words, “CT income tax.”

Q. I received my refund, but I have to amend my return and will owe more income tax. What should I do?
 
A. If you have not deposited the check, return it to the Department as soon as possible (with "VOID" written across the check) along with a letter explaining that an amended return will be filed that will reduce the refund.  DRS will redeposit the money and credit it to your account and it will be applied against the balance due when you file the amended return.  The check and letter should be mailed to:
Department of Revenue Services
Operations Division - Revenue Accounting
450 Columbus Blvd, Ste. 1
Hartford, CT 06103
If the check was already deposited to your account, you will have to write a check for the full amount due when you file the amended return.  If possible, make any payment on or before the due date, to avoid charges for late payment.
Q. We received our refund check but it was (lost, stolen, mangled, etc).
 
A. If the check that the Department of Revenue Services mailed to you has been lost in the mail, misplaced or stolen, you must send a written request to the Department of Revenue Services to stop payment and to issue a new check.  Complete Form CT-3911, Taxpayer Statement Regarding Refund, and mail it to the Department using the address on the form.

Q. I found an old check from DRS that was never cashed. The bank will not accept it. What should I do?
 
A. If your bank will not accept the check because it is too old, write "VOID" across the check and return it to DRS.  Enclose a letter with your name and address and requesting that a new check be issued. Mail the check and letter to:
Department of Revenue Services
Revenue Accounting 
PO Box 5088
Hartford, CT 06102-5088

Q. We never received our refund check even though DRS said that they mailed us a check.
 
A. To report a missing refund check, complete Form CT-3911, Taxpayer Statement Regarding Refund, and mail it to the Department using the address on the form.
Q. I moved after filing my return.  What will happen to my refund check?
 
A. If you gave the post office a forwarding address, the check will be returned to DRS with your new address.  We will then send the check to your new address. 
 
If you did not provide a forwarding address to the post office, you should change your address either by calling the Registration Unit during business hours at 860-297-4874 or by sending a letter including your name(s), social security number(s), old address and new address to:    
Department of Revenue Services
Operations Division - Individual Teams
450 Columbus Blvd, Ste. 1
Hartford, CT 06103
If the check is returned to us without a forwarding address from the post office, we will check our address data base. If you have given to us with the new address, we will mail the check to your new address.
 
If you do not receive your check and we tell you that it was not returned to us, you will have to send a written request to us to stop payment and to reissue the check.
 

Q. I mailed my return to DRS several weeks ago and I still have not received my refund.  I called the automated refund line and it said the return was not processed. What should I do?
 
A. It takes 10-12 weeks to process paper returns. Until the return is processed, the information will not be in our computer system.  If you mailed the return more than 12 weeks ago and have not received your refund, send in a copy of the return with the words “second copy” written prominently on the first page.  Be sure to include copies of all required attachments. Allow 6-8 weeks from the date we receive it to process this second copy.

Q. Am I entitled to interest on my refund?
 
A. If you do not receive your refund on or before the 90th day after we receive your claim for refund, you may be entitled to interest on your overpayment at the rate of 2/3% for each month or fraction of a month between the ninetieth day following receipt of your claim for a refund or the due date of your return, whichever is later, and the date of notice that your refund is due.  See Conn. Gen. Stat. Section 12-732.