
Connecticut Department of Public Safety (“DPS”) 
Division of State Police 

Special Licensing and Firearms Unit 
 

PISTOL PERMIT APPLICATION 
 

• Before completing this application, it is suggested that you review the Connecticut General Statutes pertaining to firearms.  These 
can be accessed on the Internet at www.cga.ct.gov.  For those without Internet access, please contact your local library.   
• For DPS, Division of State Police, pistol permit locations, access www.ct.gov/dps and follow the link to the Special Licensing and 
Firearms Unit or call (860) 685-8290.  
I.  Type of Permit Requested:  
Check Box: 

 Temporary State Pistol Permit  
 Non-Resident State Pistol Permit  
 Eligibility Certificate to Purchase Pistols or Revolvers 

II.  Instructions:  
Instructions for Temporary State 
Pistol Permits: 

Instructions for Non-Resident 
State Pistol Permits: 
(Contact DPS for packet) 

Instructions for Eligibility 
Certificates to Purchase 
Pistols or Revolvers:  

 
1. Complete this form (DPS-799-C) and submit 

to appropriate local authority (local police, 
resident state trooper or first selectperson, as 
applicable) along with the below:   

 
� Completed State and Federal 

fingerprint cards with $50.00 fee and 
$19.25 fee payable to DPS for criminal 
history background checks; 
� Firearms Safety & Use Course 

Certificate; 
� $70.00 payable to the local authority; 
� Proof you are legally and lawfully in the 

United States (e.g., certified copy of 
birth certificate, U.S. passport or 
documentation issued by I.C.E.). 

 
2. Upon approval, the local authority will 

issue a Temporary State Permit to Carry 
Pistols and Revolvers (DPS-11-C), effective 
for 60 days. 

 
3. Within the 60 day period, go to a DPS, 

Division of State Police, pistol permit location 
and submit the following: 

 
� The Temporary State Permit to Carry 

Pistols and Revolvers (DPS-11-C) 
issued by the local authority; 

� A completed Application for State 
Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers 
(DPS-46-C); 

� $70.00 payable to DPS; 
� Proof you are legally and lawfully in the 

United States (e.g., certified copy of 
birth certificate, U.S. passport or 
documentation issued by I.C.E.). 

 
• Your photograph will be taken at DPS.  

 
You must hold a valid permit or 
license to carry a pistol or revolver 
issued by a recognized United 
States jurisdiction.   
 
Complete this form and submit to DPS, 
Division of State Police, pistol permit 
location along with the below:   
 
� Completed State of CT and Federal 

fingerprint card with $50.00 fee and 
$19.25 fee payable to DPS for 
criminal history background checks; 
� Firearms Safety & Use Course 

Certificate; 
� $70.00 payable to DPS; 
� Completed Application for State 

Permit to Carry Pistols and 
Revolvers form (DPS-46-C); 
� Complete DPS-129-C and attach 

2x2 color photograph passport 
style), and the “Authorization for 
Release of Personal Information” 
sign and have both notarized;  
� A copy of the permit or license to 

carry a pistol or revolver issued to 
you by a recognized United States 
jurisdiction; 
� Proof you are legally and lawfully in 

the United States (e.g., certified copy 
of birth certificate, U.S. passport or 
documentation issued by I.C.E.). 

 
 
 
 
Provide Out of State Pistol Permit 
Information:   
 
State of Issue: _______________ 
 
Expiration Date: _____________ 
 
Permit Number: ______________ 
 

 
Complete this form and submit to DPS, 
Division of State Police, pistol permit 
location along with the below:  
 
� Completed State and Federal 

fingerprint card with $50.00 fee 
and $19.25 fee payable to 
DPS for criminal history 
background checks; 

� Firearms Safety & Use Course 
Certificate; 

� $35.00 payable to DPS; 
� Application for a State 

Eligibility Certificate for a Pistol 
or Revolver (DPS-164-C); 

� Proof you are legally and 
lawfully in the United States 
(e.g., certified copy of birth 
certificate, U.S. passport or 
documentation issued by 
I.C.E.). 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/
http://www.ct.gov/dps


III.  COMPLETE BELOW:  (All Applicants) 
A.  Contact Information/Identifying Information:  
Name of Applicant 

,   .  
Last                                                                                                             Suffix                                                       

    . 
First                                                                                                       Middle Initial                                                       
Provide all other names by which you have been known (Maiden name, Aliases, Nicknames, etc.) 
(Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 
 
 
Date of Birth 

/ /  
  Month/Day/Year 

Sex 
F  
M 

Height 
Ft. In. 

 

Weight 
Lbs. 

 

     
Race: ____________________  
 
Use NCIC personal code descriptors for guidance 

Place of Birth 
,   

City/Town                                                                                                 State 

Social Security Number 
- -  

Country of Citizenship  
 

Alien Reg. Number (If applicable) 
 

Residential Address (List street address.  Post office box numbers are not acceptable) 
 

Number/Street                                                                                           
,  .   -   

City/Town                                                                                      State                Zip Code 
List Residential Addresses for the Last 7 Years   (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)  
*Any subsequent changes of address must be reported within 48 hours 
 
 
1.  ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
2.  ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
   
Mailing Address (If different from current residential address above) 

 
Number/Street                                                                                           

,  .   -  
City/Town                                                                      State                Zip Code 
Home Telephone Number 
( ) -  
Area Code 

Motor Vehicle Operators License Number                                            
    

                                                                                                      State of Issue 
 

B.  Employment History:  
List Employers for the Last 7 Years (Provide employer’s name, address and telephone number) 
(Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 
 
 
1.  ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
2.  ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
C.  Permit History:  
Have you had a firearms permit or permit application from ANY jurisdiction in the United States denied, 
suspended or revoked? NO   YES     
 
If "YES,” provide:   
 
Identify the jurisdiction which issued the denial, suspension or revocation: ___________________ 
   
Date of denial, suspension or revocation:  ___________________________________________ 
 
The reason for the denial, suspension or revocation:__________________________________ 
 



D.  Medical History:   
Have you been confined in a hospital for mental illness in the past twelve (12) months by order of a Probate 
Court?   NO   YES    If "YES," explain:  (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 
 
 
 
Have you been discharged from custody within the past twenty years after having been found Not Guilty of a 
crime by Reason of a Mental Disease or Defect?   NO   YES 
If "YES," explain: (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 
 
 
 
Notice:  DPS herein notifies the applicant that, pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes Sections 29-28 through 29-
38b, DPS will be notified by the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services if the applicant has been confined 
to a hospital for psychiatric disabilities within the preceding twelve (12) months by order of probate court.  
E.  Criminal History:  
Have you ever been ARRESTED for any crime, in any jurisdiction?   NO   YES   If "YES," list all arrests, 
indicating charges, locations, dates of arrest and dispositions.  (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 
 
 
 
 
 
Notice: You are not required to disclose the existence of any arrest, criminal charge or conviction, the records of which 
have been erased pursuant to C.G.S. 46b-146, 54-76o, or 54-142a. If your criminal records have been erased pursuant 
to one of these statutes, you may swear under oath that you have never been arrested. Criminal records that may be 
erased are records pertaining to a finding of delinquency or that a child was a member of a family with service needs 
(C.G.S. 46b-146), an adjudication as a youthful offender (C.G.S. 54-76o), a criminal charge that has been dismissed or 
nolled, a criminal charge for which the person has been found not guilty, or a conviction for which the person received an 
absolute pardon (C.G.S. 54-142a). 
 
With regard to criminal history information arising from jurisdictions other than the State of Connecticut: You are not 
required to disclose the existence of any arrest, criminal charge or conviction, the records of which have been erased 
pursuant to the law of the other jurisdiction. Additionally, you are not required to disclose the existence of an arrest 
arising from another jurisdiction if you are permitted under the law of that jurisdiction to swear under oath that you have 
never been arrested. 
 
Have you ever been CONVICTED under the laws of this state, federal law or the laws of another jurisdiction? 

NO   YES    If "YES,” list all convictions, include charges, location, date of arrest, and disposition.  (Attach additional 
sheet(s), if necessary) 
 
 
Are you currently on probation, parole, work release, in an alcohol and/or drug treatment program or other pre-
trial diversionary program or currently released on personal recognizance, a written promise to appear or a bail 
bond for a pending court case?   NO   YES.    If "YES," explain.  (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 
 
 
 
Have you ever been the subject of a Protective Order or Restraining Order issued by a court in a case involving 
the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force against another person, regardless of the outcome or 
result of any related criminal case?     NO   YES  
If “YES,” which court issued the order? 
 
 
 
F.  Military History:  
Were you ever a member of the Armed Forces of the United States?   NO   YES 
 
Were you ever discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States with a less than Honorable Discharge?  NO  YES. 
 
 
*If you have ever been a member of the Armed Forces of the United States and have been discharged, attach a copy of 
your DD-214.   



G.  Proof of Training:  
*Attach a copy of the letter or certificate attesting that you have completed a course in the safety and use of pistols and 
revolvers, signed by the pistol or revolver instructor.   
Instructor:  (Check Applicable Box)   
 

National Rifle Association   
Department of Environmental Protection  
Other: ___________________________________ 

 
State Instructor's Name and ID #:_______________________________________________________ 
 
H.  Declaration:  
I understand that any false statements made herein, which I do not believe to be true and which is intended to 
mislead a public servant in the performance of their official function, is punishable in Connecticut pursuant to 
state statute (C.G.S. Sec. 53a-157b).  I further understand that any statements in this application that are 
determined to be false or inaccurate shall constitute grounds for the permit or certificate not to be issued, or if 
issued before the facts are known, shall be cause for revocation.  My signature below attests to the accuracy, 
completeness, and to the truth of all information supplied on this application. 
 
 I declare, under the penalties of False Statement, that the answers to the above are true and correct. 
 
 
 
 Date:  ____________________  Signed         
 
 
 STATE OF      
 
      Print Name        
 COUNTY OF _______________  
 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this ______ day of       20_____ 
 
 
              
       Name: 
       Notary Public 
       My Commission Expires: 
       Commissioner of Superior Court 
 
 

NOTICE:  Appeal Process for Permits 
In the event that your application to carry pistols or revolvers is denied or your permit is revoked, you may 
notify the Board of Firearm Permit Examiners, in writing, within ninety (90) days, in order to begin your appeal 
process.  At a hearing before the Board, you may request that your application be reconsidered or that your 
permit be reinstated.  Additionally, in the event that your permit application has not been processed by the 
local issuing authority within eight (8) weeks, you should notify the Board of Firearm Permit Examiners.  
Contact Information for the Board of Firearm Permit Examiners:  505 Hudson Street, 5th Floor, Hartford, CT 
06106.  Telephone (860) 566-7078 or (800) 996-7078. 

 
For Official Use Only: 
Application Received: 
 

/ /  
Month/Day/Year 

FBI Sent:  No   Yes 
FBI Reply:  No   Yes 
ICE Response:  No   Yes 
DMHAS:  No   Yes 
SPBI:  No   Yes  #     

Application Status: 
 

Approved   Denied 
 
   
(Signature and title of issuing authority) 

 
DPS-799-C (Revised 10/09) 
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