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SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY

The concept of registering sex offenders is not a new one; however, most states
did not start to register sex offenders until the late 1990’s in response to a number
of high profile cases. In 1994, Connecticut enacted a law requiring registration of
sexual offenders and the collection of their blood for DNA analysis. Four years later,
anew law created a central registry of sexual offenders available on the Internet.

How many registered sex offenders are there in Connecticut? Currently, more
than 5,400 registered sex offenders live, work or attend school in the state.

Who is required to register? Those convicted, or found not guilty by reason of
mental disease or defect, of crimes requiring registration and released on or after
Oct. 1, 1988, for offenses classified as “sexually violent,” and on or after Oct. 1,
1998, for offenses classified as Criminal Offenses Against a Victim who is a Minor
or a Non-Violent Sexual Offense. Also, persons who have been convicted of, or
found not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect, of an offense determined by
the courts to be a “felony for sexual purpose,” are required to register.

Are registered sex offenders from other states required to register if they move to
Connecticut? Yes, any person who has been convicted, or found not guilty by reason of
mental disease or defect in any other state, in a federal or military court or in any foreign
jurisdiction of any crime in which the essential elements are substantially the same as
crimes requiring registration in Connecticut, and who resides in this state on and after
Oct. 1, 1998, are required to register within five days of residing in the state.

What does the registration process entail? Initial registration includes a photo-
graph, fingerprints, a biological sample for DNA analysis and completion of regis-
try forms. For persons incarcerated with the Department of Correction, registration
will likely be conducted within a correctional facility. For persons released from
courts and not subject to incarceration, or for persons required to register from for-
eign jurisdictions, registration is completed at the Department of Emergency Ser-
vices and Public Protection (DESPP) in Middletown.

When does a sex offender have to register? For persons convicted in Connecti-
cut, registration is required within three days of their release into the community.

How can | find out the specifics of a sex offender’s offense? DESPP can
provide the name of the law enforcement agency and case number of the of-
fense. The report for the offense may be available through that agency.

For what period of time must a sex offender register? Sex offenders are required to
register for life if convicted of a sexually violent offense or they have a previous convic-
tion. For non-violent offenses and criminal offenses against a victim who is a minor, the
offender must maintain a registration for 10 years.

What regulations are sex offenders required to follow after they register? Registered
sex offenders must verify their address every 90 days with the Sex Offender Registry
(SOR) Unit and must notify the unit in writing within five days of an address change.
They must have a new photo taken at least every five years or at the request of DESPP
and must notify the unit if they are either employed or a student. If any registered of-
fender is employed or a student in another state, such person must notify DESPP and
also register with an appropriate agency in that state. They must provide internet identi-
fier, screen name.

What happens if a registrant fails to comply with these requirements? The penalty for vio-
lation punishable by up to five years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $5,000.

May registered sex offenders live near a school, park or other place where children
are likely to be found? No state laws preclude where a registered sex offender may
live; however, registrants on probation or parole must comply with the conditions of
their probation or parole, which may limit where they live and with whom they have
contact. Some towns may have ordinances restricting residency.

Connecticut residents may sign up for e-mail alerts on the SOR website. By signing
up, you will receive an e-mail notification any time a registered sex offender has moved
into your neighborhood. You may designate the radius of your search up to five miles.

Is there a National Sex Offender Registry? Yes, you may visit it at www.usdoj.gov

The SOR Unit is required to post the following warning against wrongful use of registry
information: “Any person who uses information in this registry to injure, harass or
commit a criminal act against any person included in the registry or any other person is
subject to criminal prosecution.”

DESPP Policy Statement on Sex Offender Registration: DESPP has not considered or as-
sessed the specific risk of re-offense with regard to any individual prior to his or her inclu-
sion within this registry, and has made no determination that any individual included in the
Registry is currently dangerous. Individuals included within the registry are included solely
by virtue of their conviction record and state law.
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