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Youth Camp 

Application Checklist and General Information 

DO NOT FAX COPIES OF APPLICATION –MAIL ORIGINAL APPLICATION WITH CHECK 
 

Dear Youth Camp Applicant: 
 

Thank you for your interest in youth camp licensing. Please follow the instructions below to apply for the license. 
 

 Application - Complete the application form in blue or black ink and answer all questions completely.  We will 

begin processing your application as soon as we receive the application fee and the application form.  The 

application shall be submitted at least 30 days prior to the starting date of the camp. 
 

 $315.00 Application Fee for a not for profit camp or $815.00 Application Fee for a for profit camp. Make your 

check payable to “Treasurer State of Connecticut.” This fee is not refundable. 
 

 An initial inspection will be required for any new camp or any camp which is moving to a new location or to a 

location not used in the prior year. You will be contacted to set up an appointment.  At the time of the initial 

inspection, the following will be required: 

o CPR & First Aid certifications for the Director of First Aid (21 years of age or older) or CPR certification for the 

Nurse if applicable.  

o A current Fire Marshal certificate for each location requiring an initial inspection OR the date that the Fire Marshal 

is scheduled to inspect the location. This date must be prior to the opening date of camp. 

 Submit driving directions to all camp locations listed on the application, unless previously submitted. 
 

 At the time of the full unannounced inspection, a copy of current First Aid and CPR certifications for the director 

of first aid, who must be 21 years of age or older, must be available and CPR for the nurse if applicable. 
 

 At the time of the full unannounced inspection, a copy of the current Fire Marshal’s certificate for the camp 

location(s) listed on the application must be available. 
 

 Any changes in camp director, alternate director(s), camp physician(s), location(s) or operational information 

shall be reported to the department on a General Report of Change form. 

Note:  As the operator of a licensed youth camp, you are responsible to be in compliance with all applicable statutes and 

regulations. These statutes and regulations can be obtained @ http://www.ct.gov/dph/camps.  At this location, you may 

also find staff certification requirements, inspection forms, nurse/first aider forms, and other miscellaneous forms and 

information concerning the Youth Camp Licensing Program.  Should you have any questions concerning the application 

process, please contact the Youth Camp Licensing Program at 1-860-509-8045 or 1-800-282-6063 

http://www.ct.gov/dph/camps


 

 

APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO OPERATE A YOUTH CAMP 

Camp Name _________________________________________________________________________________   Page 1 of 5 

   If renewal, list name of camp exactly as it appears on last license issued. 

Check One 

          Initial License 
 

         Renewal License License # YCYC______ 
 

Check One 

         For Profit Camp $815.00 
 

        Not for Profit Camp $315.00    When the owner of the camp is claiming non-profit status for the first time, owner shall 

provide proof of non-profit status.  The following forms will be accepted: (1) 501(c)3 issued by the Internal Revenue 

Service or (2) E Permit issued by the State of Connecticut, Department of Revenue Services. 
 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE 

If you hire employees to work in your program, state law (CGS Section 31-286a(b)) requires that no state department, board or 

agency may issue or renew a license, or permit to operate a business in this state unless the applicant first presents sufficient 

evidence of current compliance with the workers’ compensation insurance coverage requirements of Section 31-284.  For more 

information contact your insurance agent or the Workers’ Compensation Commission at 1-800-223-9675 or 1-860-493-1534. 

Do you hire employees in your program that require you to obtain Worker’s Compensation Insurance?     No    Yes 

If “Yes”, please complete the following:  Name of Insurer_____________________________________________________ 

Insurance Policy Number _________________________________ ________ 

Effective Dates of Workers’ Compensation Coverage    _____/_____/_____   to   _____/_____/______ 

   If you answered yes, check here to certify that Worker’s Compensation insurance coverage will be maintained for the 

duration of time individuals are employed to work at the youth camp which operates under this license. 
 

OPERATOR’S (Owner’s) INFORMATION 

Federal Employee ID # (FEIN) (2 digits) _______ - (7 digits) ____________________   If using FEIN, enter operator’s name 

(Owner) as listed on Internal Revenue Service IRS 501(c)3 ___________________________________________________ 

If owner does not have Federal Employee ID #, Social Security # (3 digits) ________ - (2 digits) ______ - (4 digits) _________ 

List name exactly as it appears on the Social Security card _______________________________________________________ 

Address 1:  P. O. Box # _______________   Address 2: Street ____________________________________________________ 

City_________________________________________ State ____________________________  Zip Code ________________ 

Telephone #  (________) __________________________   Ext _________  Fax number (_______) _____________________     

Cell number (________) ____________________      Email address: _______________________________________________ 

Point of contact for the camp before, during and after camp season ends: 

First Name_______________________________ Last Name__________________________________ 

Permanent Phone # (_______) ____________________   Ext. # _________ Cell number (_______) _____________________  

Fax number (_______) _____________________    Email address: _______________________________________________ 

                                                                                                Office Use Only - Filing Town ________________________  

Date Application Received 

DPH Use Only 



 

 

If renewal, license # YCYC.0________ Camp Name _____________________________________________Page 2 of 5 
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For locations not used in the prior year, an initial inspection is required prior to operation. Prior to Department 

approval, the following will be required: 
 

 CPR & First Aid certifications for the Director of First Aid (21 years of age or older) or CPR certification for the Nurse if 

applicable.  

 A current Fire Marshal certificate for each location requiring an initial inspection OR the date that the Fire Marshal is 

scheduled to inspect the location. This date must be prior to the opening date of camp. 
 

Primary Camp Location Address 

 

   Enter site with first opening date here  

   Operated at this site last year?         Yes        No 

Camp Operational Dates at this Location 

If hours of operation vary per session, indicate hours 

next to each date range. Include vacation dates, if 

applicable.  (e.g. 6/28 to 8/15 8:00 am – 4:30 pm) 

 
 

Place (building or field) ________________________________ 

Street _______________________________________________ 

City ____________________________ Zip ________________ 

Location Phone # (_______) __________________ Ext. ______ 

Location Fax #    (_______) ____________________ 

Camp Director’s Cell  #   (_______) ______________________ 

Camp Email Address: __________________________________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

Additional Camp Location Address 

   Operated at this site last year?         Yes        No 

Camp Operational Dates at this Location 

If hours of operation vary per session, indicate hours 

next to each date range. Include vacation dates, if 

applicable.  (e.g. 6/28 to 8/15 8:00 am – 4:30 pm) 

Operational dates may not overlap dates listed for 

another location. 

 

Place (building or field) ________________________________ 

Street _______________________________________________ 

City ____________________________ Zip ________________ 

Location Phone # (_______) __________________ Ext. ______ 

Location Fax #    (_______) ____________________ 

Camp Director’s Cell  #   (_______) ______________________ 

Camp Email Address: __________________________________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

  _____/_____ to _____/_____   hours____________ 

 

If your camp needs to change locations after your application has been submitted or the camp is licensed, a General Report of 

Change form will be required with a new page 2 and directions to the new location.  For a new location(s) on this license, attach 

directions on 8 1/2 x 11 paper with camp name and license #.  Duplicate page as needed for additional locations. 



If renewal, license # YCYC.0________ Camp Name _____________________________________________Page 3 of 5 
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MAIL ADDRESS FOR CAMP OPERATOR (Owner) 

This address is where correspondence from the Department of Public Health will be sent to the owner of the camp. 

Name or Organization __________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address 1:  P. O. Box # _______________   Address 2: Street __________________________________________________ 

City____________________________________________ State ______________________    Zip Code ________________ 

Email address for owner: _______________________________________________ 

CAMP SERVICES  

Camp Service Type:  Please select the type of camp that best describes your program. SELECT ONLY ONE 

 General        Adventure      Religious       Special Needs       Sports      Travel 

Camp Type:     Day Camp        Residential Camp          Both Day Camp and Residential Camp 

If camp has both day campers and residential campers, please complete both sections below. If camp is only a day camp or 

only a residential camp, please complete only the section applicable to your type of camp. 

 Day Camps Only:  Exact operational dates to be listed on page 2. 

Do all sessions begin and end on the same day of the week?  Yes If yes, complete next line   No - If no, varying days 

of week & hours should be indicated next to the sessions listed on page 2. 

     Days of Operation: (Ex: Monday to Friday) ______________ to ____________ 

     Day Camp Hours of Operation: (Ex: 8:30 am to 4:45 pm) _____:_____  am or  pm to _____:_____  am or  pm 

 Residential Camps Only: Exact operational dates to be listed on page 2. 

Do all sessions begin and end on the same day of the week?  Yes If yes, complete next line   No - If no, varying days 

of week & hours should be indicated next to the sessions listed on page 2. 

 Days of Operation: (Ex: Sunday – Saturday) ________________ to ________________ 

Campers arrive for first session on _______/_______ (date) at ______:______   am     pm 

Campers leave during the last session on _______/_______ (date) at ______:______   am     pm 

Minimum Camper Age: (3 or older) __________   Maximum Camper Age:  _________  

Projected # of campers __________ & staff __________ for entire camp season. Include all locations & vacation camps.   

Camp Gender:   Co-ed          Female         Male  

Vacation Camp Hours of Operation: _______:_______  a.m.  p.m.  to  _______:_______   a.m.    p.m. 

Food Service: Does the camp provide food from an on-site kitchen?     Yes      No   

Water Supply:  Public Water    Private Well(s)   Both Public & Private Well(s) 

FIELD TRIP DATES – If attaching list of trips, list should ONLY INCLUDE FIELD TRIPS WHEN ALL CAMPERS & 

STAFF WILL BE OFFSITE.  Do not attach calendars with field trip dates.   List date(s), departure time(s) and return time(s) 

only.   No Field Trips  Field trip dates ______________________ If field trip dates are unknown at the time of 

application, report field trips on a General Report of Change form once known for Department processing and 

scheduling.   
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CAMP DIRECTORS/ALTERNATE DIRECTORS 

Section 19a-422 of the Connecticut General Statutes requires that a Department of Public Health approved director or assistant 

director be on site at all times camp is in operation.  All new directors must complete the Application for Youth Camp Director 

or Alternate Director Approval. A certificate of approval will be issued by the Department of Public Health to each new 

director being approved for the first time. List all directors and alternate directors below including date of birth, home mailing 

addresses, permanent phone numbers and personal e-mail addresses. Approval numbers for all directors can be found on the 

Department’s website @ https://www.elicense.ct.gov/Lookup/GenerateRoster.aspx.  From the list of available rosters, click on 

Youth Camp Licensing, check the box “Approved Youth Camp Directors,” click on Continue, click on Download, and click on 

Open. Highlight column A by clicking on the “A” header. Click on Sort & Filter and select either A-Z or Z-A. The approval 

number is listed in column E and starts with YCDR. with a five digit number. 
 

If director or alternate has prior Department approval, their approval number must be included on this application. 

The approval number is available on the website. Directions above.  Note: the approval # is not the camp license #. 
 

 CAMP DIRECTOR        Approval # YCDR._____________OR  New director application mailed on____/____ 

Legal First Name ________________________ M.I.____ Last Name _______________________ Suffix (ex: Sr.) _____ 

Birth Date _____/_____/_____ Mailing Address 1 ___________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address 2 ______________________________________________   City/ Town____________________________ 

State_____________  Zip Code ___________ Country____________ Permanent Phone # (_____) ____________________  

 Name change for previously approved director. Indicate Former/Maiden Name _________________________________ 

 

 ALTERNATE DIRECTOR Approval # YCDR. ____________ OR  New director application mailed on____/____ 

Legal First Name ________________________ M.I.____ Last Name _______________________ Suffix (ex: Sr.) _____ 

Birth Date _____/_____/_____ Mailing Address 1 ___________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address 2 ______________________________________________   City/ Town____________________________ 

State_____________  Zip Code ___________ Country____________ Permanent Phone # (_____) ____________________  

 Name change for previously approved director. Indicate Former/Maiden Name _________________________________ 

 

 ALTERNATE DIRECTOR Approval # YCDR._____________ OR  New director application mailed on____/____ 

Legal First Name ________________________ M.I.____ Last Name _______________________ Suffix (ex: Sr.) _____ 

Birth Date _____/_____/_____ Mailing Address 1 ___________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address 2 ______________________________________________   City/ Town____________________________ 

State_____________  Zip Code ___________ Country____________ Permanent Phone # (_____) ____________________  

 Name change for previously approved director. Indicate Former/Maiden Name _________________________________ 

Duplicate page as needed to report additional alternate directors. If alternate directors are being added after the license 

has been issued, please include a General Report of Change form with this page. 

                                                                                                Office Use Only - Filing Town ________________________   

https://www.elicense.ct.gov/Lookup/GenerateRoster.aspx
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MEDICAL COVERAGE CERTIFICATION 

Pursuant to Section 19-13-B27a(j) of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies a physician shall be on call and 

responsible for all healthcare including first aid. The camp physician must hold a current Connecticut medical license. Note: 

Any physician or surgeon who holds a license in good standing in another state may practice as a youth camp physician in this 

state without a Connecticut license for a period not to exceed nine weeks. This page may be duplicated if more than one 

physician is responsible for the camp. 
 

First Name _________________________________ Last Name ________________________________________________  

Address____________________________________________ City ____________________________ State ____________ 

Zip Code___________________    Physician’s Phone Number (______) ____________________ 

I understand that I am responsible for the planning of emergency care, including supervision of camp health staff; a 

review of health care procedures; preparing written standing orders for licensed medical personnel, specifying first aid 

instructions for unlicensed personnel (first aid instructions for an unlicensed medical personnel cannot list any 

medications) and first aid equipment; reviewing, signing and dating the bound log on a weekly basis; and procedure 

implementation to maintain records on prescription drugs used at the above named camp.  This is to certify that I have 

accepted the position of camp physician on call for the above named camp and will assume responsibility for all camp 

sessions for the duration of the license. 

______________________________________________________ License # ______________      _____/_____/_____ 

Physician’s Signature                                                                              Physician’s License #         Date Signed 

 

****************************************************************************************************** 

OPERATOR CERTIFICATION 

I certify that all of the above statements contained herein are true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I promise to uphold 

and maintain all standards required under the Connecticut General Statutes and Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies 

governing the licensure and operation of a youth camp. Any false statements made herein are punishable in accordance with 

Sections 53a-157 and 19a-423. 

First Name ___________________ Last Name _____________________________Title __________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________              _____/_____/_____ 

Signature of the Operator (Owner) or individual authorized to act on behalf of the Operator         Date Signed 

 

A completed application is due 30 days prior to the opening date of your camp. The licensure fee in the form of a check 

or money order made payable to the Treasurer, State of Connecticut must accompany the application. All fees are non-

refundable. Mail completed and signed application along with payment to the State of CT, Department of Public 

Health, Community Based Regulation Section, 410 Capitol Avenue, MS #12CBR, P.O. Box 340308, Hartford, CT 

06134. 

 

Please retain a copy of the application being submitted to the Department of Public Health 


