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Learning Objectives

To understand the unique characteristics of teen 
car crashes.

To describe current safety recommendations and 
laws regarding teen drivers.

To integrate teen driver safety recommendations 
into clinical practice.



Overview

Trauma Perspective
Characteristics of crashes
Graduated driver licensing
CT Teen Driving Safety Partnership
Governor Rell’s Task Force















Injury Prevention
PRIMARY – Pre-injury activities that seek 
to completely avoid the occurrence of the 
injury (GDL, parent-teen contracts)
SECONDARY – At the time of injury 
interventions (seatbelts, airbags, ABS)
TERTIARY – Trauma system issues (EMS, 
Level 1 trauma centers, Rehab)



Perspective



Human cost !MPACT

www.ctdrive.blogspot.com



Magnitude of the Problem
Leading cause of death for 16-20 yr olds
5,500 deaths/yr or 10 per day in the US
27,000 hospitalizations
450,000 injuries

CDC, 2006



Teen drivers

Represent 6% of all drivers but 14% of 
fatal crashes

NHTSA, 2005



Crash rate by age group
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Crash risk by age
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Risk factors: Inexperience

Less proficient:
detecting and responding to hazards
controlling vehicle, especially at high speeds

learner permit crash rates are low

J Safety Research, 2003



Risk factors: Inexperience

First months after licensure high crash risk
1st month (120 crashes/10,000 drivers)
5 month (70)
18 month (50)

Accid Anal Prev, 2003



Risk factors: risk taking

Normal to take chances, succumb to 
peer pressure, overestimate abilities, 
mood swings
Males at high risk

social norms and media images

Immature pre-frontal cortex
planning, impulse control, decision making

Inj Prev, 2002

Ann NY Acad Sci, 2004



Risk factors: Teen passengers

Crash risk directly proportional to 
number of teen passengers

JAMA, 2000



Crash rates by driver age and 
passenger presence
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Teen passengers: reasons

General distraction
Encouragement of risky driving
For both male and female drivers, male
passengers results in more risk

Accid Anal Prev, 2005



Night driving



Night driving: reasons

Fatal night crashes more likely to 
involve multiple teen passengers, 
speeding, and alcohol
Night time driving is more challenging

fatigue and inexperience handicap teens



Alcohol

Drink and drive less often than adults 
but crash rates higher
9th-12th graders

10% drink and drive
29% riding with driver who had been 
drinking

MMWR, 2002



Distractions including cell 
phones

Eating, drinking, adjusting radio/ipod
Cell phone use (increase crash risk 4X)

Hands-free (same risk)
Text messaging

J Exp Psychol Appl, 2003



Graduated Driver Licensing 
Systems

New Zealand 1987, Florida 1996

A system where novice drivers can 
gain knowledge, skills and 
experience under conditions of 
minimal risk.



Graduated Driver Licensing

Learner’s permit – allows driving only while 
supervised by an experienced driver
Intermediate License – allows 
unsupervised driving under certain restrictions
Full license – no restrictions.



Graduated Driver Licensing

Research in the US & Canada has 
conclusively shown that GDL has reduced
teenage driver crashes & fatalities
Crash reductions greater for stronger GDL 
systems



Crashes and Injuries, 16-18 
years, Connecticut
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Key Components of GDL Systems

Extended holding period for learner’s permit
Passenger and Nighttime restrictions during 
the intermediate license period



CT learner’s permit

16 years old
Vision and knowledge test
Hold permit to 6 months

4 months with completed drivers ed course

20 hours practice with licensed driver, at 
least 20 years and 4 years experience



Restrictions for newly licensed 
teens

First 3 months:
No passengers except parents, legal 
guardian or licensed driver instructor

3-6  months
Only immediate family members



Drivers under 18

No cell phones (including “hands free” or 
mobile electronic devices) while driving
No driving between 12 midnight and 5 A.M.

Except for employment, school, religious 
activities, medical reasons



Percent reduction in fatal crash 
rate by driver age, 1996 vs. 2005
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Percent reduction in fatal crash rate 
of 16 yr old drivers by passenger 
presence, 1996 vs. 2005
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CT Data 1998-2006
16-year olds have the highest rate for crashes involving a fatality. From 1998-
2006, crash rates were 49.2 per 10,000 in 16 year old drivers, which was followed by 43 
per 10,000 in 18 year, 40.5 per 10,000 in 17 year, and 34.2 per 10,000 in 19 year old 
drivers.
Male drivers represent an overwhelming majority of drivers involved in fatal 
crashes. Seventy six percent of the teen drivers were male and 24% were female.
About forty percent (40%) of the fatal car crashes occurred between 9:00 p.m. 
and 3:00 a.m.
Less than a quarter (22.3%) of the participants were drinking drivers
Forty eight percent (48%) used a known restraint system (shoulder belt, lap 
belt, and lap and shoulder belt).
Crash rates decreased significantly for female drivers from ages 16 to 19, with 
a starting rate of 42.3 declining to 12.5 (per 10,000), respectively. 
Percentage of fatal crashes involving one or more passengers were 71.5% in 
16 year, 57.5% in 17 year, 46.8% in 18 year, and 44.5% in 19 year old drivers.



Parent role: monitor driving

Ride along often
Require permission for trips
Limit teen passengers
Enforce curfew
Write contract



Parent/Teen safe driving 
agreement

Written document that defines:
• Restrictions
• Privileges
• Rules
• Consequences

For Parent
A plan  to reduce risk



CT Teen Driving Safety 
Partnership



Project objective

Increase the number of Connecticut 
physicians providing safe teen driving 
anticipatory guidance.



Project activities

complete pre-campaign survey 
describing current teen driver safety 
anticipatory guidance practice in their 
offices



Project activities
mail physicians teen driver safety package

description of current CT GDL law, driving tips
waiting room posters
in-office conversation starters, in home reminders
parent and teen brochures
parent teen driving contracts
community advocacy materials



Project activities

the campaign promoted through CT 
AAP/AAFP chapter correspondence, 
newsletters, teleconferences, and 
meetings
follow-up physician survey to measure 
use of the materials and change in 
practice.



Preliminary Results

45% of responding physicians had lost 
a teen patient due to a motor vehicle 
fatality.



Governor’s Task Force

Survey of Connecticut Residents
Task Force Recommendations
The Golden Opportunity



Connecticut Teen Driving Survey

Week of January 7, 2008 
398 parents of teens & 409 adults
Are you aware of current teen driver 
requirements?
Do you support changing the 
requirements?



Overall Results

Majority support from parents & others
Increased supervised driving hours
Longer learner’s permit period
Longer passenger restriction period
Increased penalties for multiple moving 
violations



Overall Results (con’t)

Half of parents & others support
Earlier nighttime restriction
Increased learner’s permit age

Fewer than half support stickers to 
identify novice drivers cars



Task Force Recommendations

Eliminate youthful offender plea for 
moving violations
Require all passengers in a car driven 
by a driver under age 20 wear seatbelts
Increase penalties for moving violations 
(MA model) 



Task Force Recommendations

Amend nighttime driving curfew for 
drivers <18yrs to 11PM (retain exceptions)
Increase supervised driver training 
requirement from 20 to 50 hours
No passengers except parent(s) during the 
learner’s permit period
Intermediate License – no passengers 
except parent(s) for first 6 months



Conclusions
Significant progress since 1996
Graduated Driver Licensing systems are the 
most effective approach available to reduce 
teen driving fatalities
Anticipatory guidance from physicians 
provides valuable strategies to teenagers and 
their parents that can reduce risk.




