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Overview

m The program covers the basic outline of legal
considerations for providers who treat
children and adolescents

m Case studies will be used to explore how to
Implement these considerations in practice

m Q&A will follow




Consent for Care

m Persons with legal capacity for decision
making control are permitted to make their
own healthcare decisions

m General rule Is that minors do not have
capacity to make legal decisions, so parents
control healthcare decisions for their children
but there are many exceptions that return
control to the minor.




Minors
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Mandatory Child Abuse and
Neglect Reporting

m Each healthcare must report, as soon as practicable (no later than 12
hours) to DCF (or the police) if, in the ordinary course of employment or
profession the provider has reasonable cause to suspect or believe any
child under 18 years old has been:

abused or neglected (includes maltreatment, malnutrition, sexual molestation
or exploitation, deprivation of necessities, emotional maltreatment or cruel
punishment)

has a non-accidental injury at variance with history given

is placed at imminent risk of serious harm

Oral report followed by written report. DCF has authority to follow up and
obtain any information it deems necessary for the child and his/her siblings.

m Age of consent for sexual activity is 16, but decision to report 13, 14 and
15 year old as abused or neglected due to sexual molestation or
exploitation is NOT tied directly to statutory rape laws (but 12 or younger
should be reported)
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Statutory Exceptions

m But — sometimes the minor controls instead of the parent.
Connecticut law expressly allows minor to control decisions
for:

— Venereal disease/STDs

m No notice to parents, bill must go only to minor

m 12 y.o. or under = mandatory DCF abuse & neglect report
— Substance abuse treatment

m State and federal laws allow minor to consent
— HIV testing and care

m For testing, minor controls

m For treatment, minor controls only if physician documents why parent is
not being involved (e.g., to avoid patient elopement from care)

m For their own children
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Abortion Counseling and
Decision-making

= Generally, the choice to have an abortion prior to viability of the fetus is
solely controlled by the pregnant woman in consultation with and her
physician (per federal case law), but states are permitted to add
requirements on minors making a choice about abortion.

Connecticut DOES NOT require parental consent, but instead for a minor
may consent without a parent, but several counseling steps must be met:

— For abortion minor is specially defined: person less than 16 years of age

— Requires counseling before minor can consent. Counseling includes a laundry list if items, including:

m Letting minor know it is her choice, and she can change her mind if she wishes, and give
opportunity for her to ask questions

Explaining alternative choices and services available

Must discuss possibility of involving minor’s parents or other family members
Minor signs form that counseling elements were met

Provider signs off on form

In emergency, counseling and form not required
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Statutory Exceptions: Mental
Healthcare

m These are instances where Connecticut law
expressly grants (some) rights to minors over their
own healthcare decisions, under certain
circumstances - Outpatient mental healthcare (Sixth
session rule):

m Only applies to psychiatrist, psychologist, social worker, marriage
and family therapist

m notifying parent would cause minor to avoid care

m clinically indicated and failure to treat would be detrimental

m minor voluntarily seeking care; minor is mature enough to consent
m Provider must document the decision (reassess after six session)

m Minor financially responsible (not parent)

m NO MEDS prescribed! (otherwise doesn't fit the rule)
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Statutory Exceptions: Mental
Healthcare

m These are instances where Connecticut law
expressly grants (some) rights to minors over
their own healthcare decisions, under certain
circumstances - Inpatient mental healthcare:

— 16 & 17 year olds are treated as if adults

— 14 & 15 year olds can give voluntary consent to
sign in (parents need to be contacted w/in five




Non-Statutory Reasons Minors Control
Their Own Healthcare Decisions

m Contraception/family planning. Two sources
of legal authority that give minors control
over their own reproductive care (in addition
to abortion):

— Case law has developed over several decades

— Federal grant program and other payer programs
require patients are given confidentiality
(including minors)




Emancipation

m Two ways a minor can be emancipated in
Connecticut:

— Common law, where minor is essentially taking
care of himself/herself

— By court order

m Rare that someone Is emancipatec

— If emancipated, child control medical decisions

— Minor not parent is liable for payment for care




Ethical Treatment Considerations

Minors do not have right in Connecticut to have an
advance directive for end of life decisions

Religious objections are generally honored unless
the child’s health and safety put in jeopardy, In
which case state/court may step In

Court is the proper place to determine who controls
the decision (child, parent, state) and what is in the
best interest of the child when there is disagreement
and the law is not clear




Record Access and Retention

m The power to authorize disclosure of records
generally belongs to the person who controls the
medical decision-making

m Copying charges limited to $.65 per page, plus first
class postage

m Retention time frames are the same regardless of
patient’s age (very unlike other states — because our
statute of limitations is not extended for minors)

— 7 years last date of care
— 10 years for most faclilities




Policy Decisions and Fitting Laws
Together

m In your practice setting, particularly facilities,
It Is Important to know and follow the policies

m Often laws and regulations have been
welighed out against risks of non-compliance

m HIPAA and other system issues are often
handled through policies and protocols




Ethical and Professional
Considerations

m AMA,. AAP, AAFP and other similar
organizations share the same perspective:
where law does not require otherwise,
physicians who treat minors must involve

minors In decision-making process
commensurate with abilities of the minor.

m Numerous studies confirm that 66-7/5% of
minors would be at risk of not accessing
necessary health services if they did not feel
the care could be kept confidential
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Access to Treatment

m [t Is iImportant to assess whether a minor will still
seek treatment when parents are involved

m Mature minor theory has not been confirmed as part
of Connecticut’'s common law, but is often relied
upon. Case-by-case in many situations:

— Is the minor able to understand the situation and make
meaningful decisions

— As a matter of professional judgment, can you justify it,
and if so, document the decisions
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Application of Legal
Considerations

CASE STUDIES




