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Immunization Program 
 
TO:  College Health Services and Administrative Personnel  

FROM: Kathy Kudish, DVM, MSPH 
Connecticut Immunization Program Manager 

DATE: January 27, 2016 

SUBJECT: College Immunization Requirements-Varicella Clarification 
 
The purpose of this memo is to serve as a reminder for college personnel on the immunization 
requirements for college entry and to provide further clarification on students presenting documentation 
of a history of varicella disease.     
 
Measles, Mumps, and Rubella Vaccine 
As of August 1, 2010 all incoming freshman are required to show proof of 2 doses of measles, 
mumps and rubella vaccine. The doses should be separated by at least 28 days with dose number 
one given on or after the first birthday. Exemptions to this requirement include: 

 
1. Individuals born before January 1, 1957, 
2. Laboratory confirmation of immunity to such disease, 
3. Documentation from a physician stating that the student is medically contraindicated from 

receiving such vaccine, 
4. Documentation from the student that such an immunization is contrary to his/her religious 

beliefs, 
5. Documentation from a physician or director of health that the student has had a confirmed 

case of such disease, 
6. Enrollment in a distance-learning program conducted entirely through electronic media in a 

setting without other students present. 
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Graduation from a Connecticut high school in 1999 or later 



 
 

 

The provision in the statute regarding “Graduation from Connecticut high school in 1999” 
does not apply to the 2 dose mumps and rubella requirement. Although most students have 
probably received 2 doses of the combination measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR) vaccine, 
you cannot assume that all incoming freshman who graduated from a state high school since 
1999 are adequately immunized; some students may have received the single antigen vaccine 
or had an exemption. College health service personnel must still review student immunization 
records to ensure that all incoming freshman are in compliance with the 2 dose MMR 
immunization requirements prior to enrollment. 

 
 
Varicella Vaccine 

 

As of August 1, 2010 all incoming freshman are required to show proof of 2 doses of 
varicella (chickenpox) vaccine. The doses should be separated by at least 28 days with dose 
number one given on or after the first birthday. Exemptions to this requirement include: 

 
1. Individuals born in the United States before January 1, 1980, 
2. Laboratory confirmation of immunity to such disease, 
3. Documentation from a physician stating that the student is medically 

contraindicated from receiving such vaccine, 
4. Documentation from the student that such an immunization is contrary to his/her 

religious beliefs, 
5. Documentation from a physician or director of health that the student has had a 

confirmed case of such disease, 
6. Enrollment in a distance-learning program conducted entirely through electronic 

media in a setting without other students present. 
 
Graduation from a Connecticut high school in 1999 or later does NOT apply to varicella 
vaccine. 

 
Clarification On History Of Varicella Disease  
Before a student can enroll in an institution of higher education, a student must “provide proof of 
adequate immunization against … varicella … as recommended by the national Advisory 
Committee for Immunization Practices [(the “ACIP”)]….” Conn. Gen. Stat. § 10a-155(a) (the 
“Statute”).  
 
Under the Statute, “proof of adequate immunization” includes “a certificate from a physician or 
an advanced practice registered nurse stating that in the opinion of such physician or advanced 
practice registered nurse such immunization is medically contraindicated …” or “a certificate 
from a physician, an advanced practice registered nurse or the director of health in the student’s 
present or previous town of residence, stating that the student has had a confirmed case of such 
disease….” Conn. Gen. Stat. § 10a-155(a)(1) and (3), respectively.  
 
The Statute does not prescribe the precise contents or manner of the “certificate” required under 
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 10a-155(a)(1) or (3). Consequently, higher education institutions have some 
discretion to determine what documentation they will accept to ensure compliance with the 



 
 

 

requirements of the Statute and have sought guidance from the Department regarding appropriate 
documentation.  
 
Neither the Statute nor the ACIP requires inclusion of the date of disease contraction on a 
certificate for the certificate to be valid under the Statute. A physician, advanced practice nurse 
or director of health may require such information before he or she will complete a certificate 
regarding medical contraindication or a previous confirmed case, as the case may be; however, 
such date does not necessarily need to be included on the certificate. 
 
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Immunization Program at  
(860) 509-7929. 


