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Terms and Abbreviations 

1 BLL = Blood Lead Level(s) 
2 CGS = Connecticut General Statutes 
3 DPH = Connecticut Department of Public Health 
4 LHD = Local Health Department 
5 LPPCP = Connecticut Department of Public Health Lead Poisoning Prevention 

and Control Program 
6 RCSA = Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies 

 
Background 
Upon receipt of each report of a confirmed venous BLL equal to or greater than 
twenty micrograms per deciliter (µg/dl) of blood, the Director of Health shall make or 
cause to be made an epidemiological investigation of the source of the lead causing the 
increased lead level or abnormal body burden and shall order action to be taken by the 
appropriate person or persons responsible for the condition or conditions which brought 
about such lead poisoning as may be necessary to prevent further exposure of persons to 
such poisoning (reference CGS §19a-111). 
 
Upon receipt of reports of confirmed venous BLLs equal to or greater than fifteen 
µg/dl of blood but less than twenty µg/dl of blood in two tests taken at least three 
months (90 days) apart, the Director of Health shall determine whether the child resides 
in a residence that was constructed (in whole or in part) prior to 1978.  If the Director of 
Health determines that the residence was constructed (in whole or in part) prior to 1978 
the Director of Health shall make or cause to be made an on-site lead inspection of the 
residence [reference CGS §19a-110(d)]. 
 

1 All clinical laboratories must report BLLs equal to or greater than ten µg/dl of 
blood to the LHD within forty-eight (48) hours of analysis [reference CGS §19a-
110(a)].  (Note: The attending physician must also report venous BLLs equal to 
or greater than fifteen µg/dl of blood to the LHD using form #PD-23 per CGS 
§19a-2a(9), CGS §19a-215, and RCSA §19a-36-A1 through §19a-36-A4 [see 
attached form].) 

2 Notification may be provided in writing, by facsimile, or verbally (with 
subsequent written confirmation) and must include all required data elements. 
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The following LHD response steps are required for every new BLL condition as 
described above in children ages 6 through 15 years that has been reported to the director 
of health.  
 
Step 1. 
The LHD reviews the date of analysis of the BLL(s) and the date of receipt of the BLL 
report(s) by the LHD to assess whether the laboratory has reported in a timely manner.  
The initial date of receipt of the confirmatory sample result(s) by the LHD must be 
clearly indicated on the laboratory report form(s) and a copy of the laboratory report(s) 
must be included in the LHD case file.  If the LHD identifies that a clinical laboratory has 
not reported such a BLL within the required 48 hours of analysis, it is requested that the 
LHD notify the LPPCP at (860) 509-7299 of this deficiency. 
 
Step 2. 
A. Confirmed venous BLL equal to or greater than twenty µg/dl:  The LHD initiates 
an epidemiological investigation that will include, but not be limited to, a lead risk 
assessment or a comprehensive lead inspection of the child’s residence (or residences if 
multiple residences are involved) when such residence is pre-1978 vintage [reference 
CGS §19a-111].  Simultaneously, it is recommended that the LHD contact the Primary 
Care Physician to discuss medical case management and specifics of the case. 

1 The LHD must initiate the investigation within five (5) business days of receipt 
of notification of the BLL by the LHD [reference RCSA §19a-111-3(c)(1)].  
(Note: "initiate" means active follow up has been started by the LHD; e.g., the 
LHD has contacted or made diligent attempts to contact the child’s parent[s] or 
guardian[s] to schedule the epidemiological interview, lead risk assessment, 
and/or lead inspection.) 

2 The date on which the LHD initially contacted the child’s parent(s) or guardian(s) 
must be clearly indicated in the LHD case file.  Additionally, all unsuccessful 
attempts to contact the child’s parent(s) or guardian(s) must be clearly 
documented in the LHD case file.  Attempts to contact and initiate an 
investigation must be persistent.  Deliberate avoidance of LHD contact and 
scheduling efforts by the parent(s) or guardian(s) must be followed-up by a 
Report of Child Neglect from the LHD to the State of Connecticut Department of 
Children and Families (1-800-842-2288).  Please note that per CGS §17a-101 
certain Directors of Health are mandated reporters.  Additionally, DPH has a 
policy of zero tolerance for abuse or neglect of children. 

3 The LHD must provide lead educational materials to the parent(s) or guardian(s) 
[reference CGS §19a-110(d)] and the date that these materials were provided 
must be clearly indicated in the LHD case file. 

4 A comprehensive epidemiological investigation must be conducted by the LHD 
(reference CGS §19a-111).  The Epidemiological Investigation form (see attached 
form) must be completed, signed, dated, and filed in the LHD case file. 
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B. Confirmed venous BLLs equal to or greater than fifteen µg/dl of blood but less 
than twenty µg/dl of blood (two tests taken at least 90 days apart):  The LHD initiates 
a risk assessment (or alternatively, a comprehensive lead inspection) of the child’s 
residence (or residences if multiple residences are involved) when such residence is pre-
1978 vintage [reference CGS §19a-110(d) and RCSA §19a-111-3(c)(1)].  
Simultaneously, it is recommended that the LHD contact the Primary Care Physician to 
discuss medical case management and specifics of the case. 

1. The LHD must initiate the risk assessment (or inspection) within five (5) 
business days of receipt of notification of the second BLL by the LHD.  (Note: 
"initiate" means active follow up has been started by the LHD; e.g., the LHD has 
contacted or made diligent attempts to contact the child’s parent[s] or guardian[s] 
to schedule the lead inspection.) 

2. The date on which the LHD initially contacted the child’s parent(s) or guardian(s) 
must be clearly indicated in the LHD case file.  Additionally, all unsuccessful 
attempts to contact the child’s parent(s) or guardian(s) must be clearly 
documented in the LHD case file.  Attempts to contact and initiate a risk 
assessment (or inspection) must be persistent.  Deliberate avoidance of LHD 
contact and scheduling efforts by the parent(s) or guardian(s) must be followed-
up by a Report of Child Neglect from the LHD to the State of Connecticut 
Department of Children and Families (1-800-842-2288).  Please note that per 
CGS §17a-101 certain Directors of Health are mandated reporters.  Additionally, 
DPH has a policy of zero tolerance for abuse or neglect of children. 

3. The LHD must provide lead educational materials to the parent(s) or guardian(s) 
[reference CGS §19a-110(d)] and the date that these materials were provided 
must be clearly indicated in the LHD case file. 

 
Step 3. 
The LHD will conduct a risk assessment to identify potential lead-based paint hazards in 
the child’s residence.  Alternatively, the LHD may decide to conduct a comprehensive 
lead inspection of the child’s residence if the home is pre-1978 vintage. 

1. The LHD prepares a lead risk assessment report or a lead inspection report (see 
attached DPH prescribed lead inspection form) within two (2) business days of 
completion of the lead risk assessment1 or lead inspection2. 

2. The lead risk assessment report or lead inspection report is filed in the LHD case 
file. 

3. Copies of the lead risk assessment report or lead inspection report are forwarded 
to the owner(s) of the property and the LPPCP within two (2) business days of 
completion of the lead risk assessment or the lead inspection [reference RCSA 
§19a-111-3(d)]. 

                                                 
1 A completed lead risk assessment includes: (1) identification and testing of all painted surfaces that may 
constitute lead-based paint hazards, (2) sampling dust, bare soil areas, and potable water, and (3) receipt of 
all laboratory analysis results. 
2 A completed lead inspection includes: (1) comprehensive testing of painted surfaces, (2) sampling dust, 
bare soil areas, and potable water, and (3) receipt of all laboratory analysis results. 
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Step 4. 
If the LHD has identified lead-based paint hazards and/or lead in soil hazards during the 
lead risk assessment or lead inspection, a lead hazard remediation order or lead 
abatement order is issued by the Director of Health [reference CGS §19a-111 and RCSA 
§19a-111-3(f)]. 

1 The lead hazard remediation order or lead abatement order is sent to the property 
owner(s) by certified mail with return receipt or hand delivered. 

2 A copy of the lead hazard remediation order or the lead abatement order is filed in 
the LHD case file. 

3 Documentation of receipt of the lead hazard remediation order or the lead 
abatement order by the property owner(s) is filed in the LHD case file (e.g., green 
card/return receipt, verified hand delivery). 

 
Step 5. 
The epidemiological investigation (for confirmed venous BLLs equal to or greater than 
twenty µg/dl) and the lead risk assessment (or alternatively, the comprehensive lead 
inspection) should be completed and the lead hazard remediation order (or lead 
abatement order) prepared within thirty (30) business days of the receipt of the BLL 
laboratory report.  Within thirty (30) days3 of the conclusion of an investigation of 
confirmed venous BLLs equal to or greater than twenty µg/dl, the Director of Health 
shall report to the Commissioner of Public Health (LPPCP) the result of such 
investigation and the action taken to insure against further lead poisoning from the same 
source, including any measures taken to effect relocation of families in accordance with 
CGS §19a-111.  Extenuating circumstances that may affect compliance with the thirty-
day reporting period must be documented and reported to the LPPCP in writing, as soon 
as such circumstances are identified.  A timeline for completion must be submitted with 
the non-compliance report. 
 
Step 6. 
For confirmed venous BLLs equal to or greater than twenty µg/dl the following items 
must be submitted to the LPPCP within thirty (30) days of the conclusion of the health 
director’s investigation, in accordance with CGS §19a-111: 

1 Completed Epidemiological Investigation form (updated that includes interim 
measures section). (Note: The interim measures section of the Epidemiological 
Investigation form must be completed to identify the immediate actions to be 
taken to prevent further lead exposure to all family members including, but not 
limited to, relocation of the family or specific family member.] 

2 Lead hazard remediation or lead abatement order. 

                                                 
3 When a statute or regulation indicates a timeline (e.g., # of days for a certain event, response, etc.) but 
does not specify business or calendar days the method of counting to be used is calendar days. 
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Step 7. 
A written lead hazard remediation or lead abatement plan is to be submitted by the 
property owner to the Director of Health within twenty (20) business days of receipt of 
the lead hazard remediation order or lead abatement order [fifteen (15) business days for 
confirmed venous BLLs equal to or greater than twenty µg/dl] [reference RCSA §19a-
111-5(a) and (b)].4  Within fifteen (15) business days of receipt of the plan [ten (10) 
business days for confirmed venous BLLs equal to or greater than twenty µg/dl] the LHD 
will review the plan and notify the property owner that the plan is acceptable as 
submitted or that specific revisions or additional material are required.  If revisions or 
additional material are required the LHD shall establish a timetable for submission of an 
acceptable plan.5
 
Step 8. 
Lead hazard remediation or lead abatement shall commence within ninety (90) business 
days of receipt of the lead hazard remediation or lead abatement order [forty-five (45) 
business days for confirmed venous BLLs equal to or greater than twenty µg/dl] 
[reference RCSA §19a-111-5(a) and (b)]6 and the owner is responsible to proceed to 
completion of lead hazard remediation or lead abatement in a diligent manner.7
 
Step 9. 
Upon completion of lead hazard remediation or lead abatement and prior to reoccupancy 
a lead inspector8 shall reinspect the remediated or abated area(s) to ensure that the lead 
hazard remediation or lead abatement plan has been followed.  Dust wipe samples shall 
be collected [reference RCSA §19a-111-4(e)]. The lead inspector shall issue a Letter of 
Compliance [reference RCSA §19a-111-4(f)] within five (5) business days of verification 
that the remediation/abatement area(s) is/are in compliance with clearance standards. 
 
Step 10. 
Within ten (10) business days of notification that lead hazard remediation or lead 
abatement has been completed the LHD shall reinspect the remediated or abated area(s).  
Within two (2) business days of completion of the reinspection and verification that 
abatement has been properly completed the LHD shall issue a post abatement inspection 
report [reference RCSA §19a-111-3(h)(1)].9  A copy of the post abatement re-inspection 
report/letter of compliance shall be sent to the LPPCP within two (2) business days after 
the re-inspection has been completed. 

                                                 
4 Failure to comply warrants referral of the case for enforcement to the Housing Court Prosecutor. 
5 Failure to comply warrants referral of the case for enforcement to the Housing Court Prosecutor. 
6 Failure to comply warrants referral of the case for enforcement to the Housing Court Prosecutor. 
7 Failure to comply warrants referral of the case for enforcement to the Housing Court Prosecutor. 
8 The lead inspector may be a trained code enforcement official or a certified private sector lead inspector 
or lead inspector risk assessor. 
9 Steps 9 and 10 may be accomplished simultaneously when all clearance activities are conducted by the 
LHD. 
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Delinquent is defined as: 
¾ The epidemiological investigation, the lead risk assessment, and/or the 

comprehensive lead inspection have/has not been completed or the lead 
hazard remediation order or lead abatement order has not been prepared 
within twenty (20) business days of the receipt of the laboratory report and 
reasonable extenuating circumstances are not present. 

¾ The lead risk assessment report or lead inspection report has not been 
submitted to the LPPCP within two (2) business days of completion of the 
lead risk assessment or lead inspection. 

¾ A report of the investigation (for confirmed venous BLLs equal to or greater 
than twenty µg/dl) and the action taken to insure against further lead 
poisoning from the same source has not been submitted to the LPPCP within 
thirty (30) days of the conclusion of the investigation or a report documenting 
extenuating circumstances that will delay compliance beyond thirty days has 
not been submitted to the LPPCP prior to the thirty day required response. 

¾ Failure to make a report of child neglect to the Department of Children and 
Families when parent(s) or guardian(s) deliberately avoid LHD contact and 
scheduling efforts. 

¾ Failure to refer noncompliant cases to the Housing Court Prosecutor for 
enforcement in a prompt and diligent manner. 

 
The LPPCP will forward cases where an LHD is found to be delinquent in reporting to 
the Director of the DPH Local Health Administration Branch for follow-up. 
 
If the required report regarding the LHD investigation (for confirmed venous BLLs equal 
to or greater than twenty µg/dl) and the action taken to insure against further lead 
poisoning (or a report documenting extenuating circumstances that will delay 
compliance) is not received within 50 business days of the initial laboratory notification 
to DPH, the LPPCP case manager will contact the Director of Health to assess the 
situation. 

¾ If there are reasonable mitigating circumstances, the LPPCP case manager 
will establish a revised reporting schedule for that case.  

¾ If there are no mitigating circumstances the Director of Health will be 
provided an additional five (5) business days to submit the report to the 
LPPCP. 

¾ Failure to report to the LPPCP within the additional five (5) business day 
period will result in referral of the LHD to the DPH Local Health 
Administration Branch. 

 
The LPPCP will refer all cases to the DPH Local Health Administration Branch where a 
Director of Health has failed to take appropriate, timely action to enforce a lead hazard 
remediation order or a lead abatement order. 
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Mail or fax all written reports and notifications to: 
 
Mark Aschenbach, Environmental Analyst 3 
CT DPH Lead Poisoning Prevention and Control Program    
State of Connecticut 
Department of Public Health 
410 Capital Avenue, MS # 51 LED 
P.O. Box 340308 
Hartford, CT  06134-0308 
 
Phone: (860) 509-7299 
Fax: (860) 509-7295 
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