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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

 

 

 
 
 
 
Dear Applicant: 
 
Please be advised, pursuant to Section 17a-101 of the Connecticut General Statutes (see reverse side), certain 
health professions regulated by the Department of Public Health are mandated to report suspected child abuse or 
neglect to the Department of Children and Families (DCF) Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline or a law 
enforcement agency. 
 
Reports must be made within twelve hours of the moment you suspect the abuse/neglect has occurred.  
Suspected child maltreatment of any kind, regardless of the identity of the alleged perpetrator must be reported.  
The Hotline number is 1-800-842-2288 and is available on a 24 hour 7 day a week basis.  A copy of the child 
abuse reporting laws is enclosed. The Hotline can answer questions you may have regarding these laws. 
 
It is important that you become familiar with Connecticut’s reporting laws as failure to meet reporting 
responsibilities may subject you to criminal prosecution and possible action against your license or certificate. 
 
Should you have any questions regarding your licensure or certification, please contact the Department of 
Public Health at the number in this application. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Phone:  (860) 509-7975 
Telephone Device for the Deaf (860) 509-7191 

410 Capitol Avenue – MS # 12EMS 
P.O. Box 340308 Hartford, CT  06134 

An  Equal  Opportunity  Employer 
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Connecticut General Statutes, Chapter 319a 
Child Welfare 

Child Abuse Reporting Laws 
 
 
Sec.17a-101. (Formerly Sec. 17-38a). Protection of children from abuse. Mandated reporters. Educational and training programs. (a) The public policy of 
this state is: To protect children whose health and welfare may be adversely affected through injury and neglect; to strengthen the family and to make 
the home safe for children by enhancing the parental capacity for good child care; to provide a temporary or permanent nurturing and safe environment 
for children when necessary; and for these purposes to require the reporting of suspected child abuse, investigation of such reports by a social agency, 
and provision of services, where needed, to such child and family.  (b) The following persons shall be mandated reporters: Any physician or surgeon 
licensed under the provisions of chapter 370, any resident physician or intern in any hospital in this state, whether or not so licensed, any registered 
nurse, licensed practical nurse, medical examiner, dentist, dental hygienist, psychologist, coach of intramural or interscholastic athletics, school teacher, 
school principal, school guidance counselor, school paraprofessional, school coach, social worker, police officer, juvenile or adult probation officer, 
juvenile or adult parole officer, member of the clergy, pharmacist, physical therapist, optometrist, chiropractor, podiatrist, mental health professional or 
physician assistant, any person who is a licensed or certified emergency medical services provider, any person who is a licensed or certified alcohol and 
drug counselor, any person who is a licensed marital and family therapist, any person who is a sexual assault counselor or a battered women's 
counselor as defined in section 52-146k, any person who is a licensed professional counselor, any person paid to care for a child in any public or private 
facility, child day care center, group day care home or family day care home licensed by the state, any employee of the Department of Children and 
Families, any employee of the Department of Public Health who is responsible for the licensing of child day care centers, group day care homes, family 
day care homes or youth camps, the Child Advocate and any employee of the Office of Child Advocate.  (c) The Commissioner of Children and Families 
shall develop an educational training program for the accurate and prompt identification and reporting of child abuse and neglect. Such training program 
shall be made available to all persons mandated to report child abuse and neglect at various times and locations throughout the state as determined by 
the Commissioner of Children and Families.  (d) Any mandated reporter, as defined in subsection (b) of this section, who fails to report to the 
Commissioner of Children and Families pursuant to section 17a-101a shall be required to participate in an educational and training program established 
by the commissioner. The program may be provided by one or more private organizations approved by the commissioner, provided the entire costs of 
the program shall be paid from fees charged to the participants, the amount of which shall be subject to the approval of the commissioner. 
 
Sec.17a-101a. Report of abuse, neglect or injury of child or imminent risk of serious harm to child. Penalty for failure to report. Any mandated reporter, 
as defined in section 17a-101, who in the ordinary course of such person's employment or profession has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that 
any child under the age of eighteen years (1) has been abused or neglected, as defined in section 46b-120, (2) has had nonaccidental physical injury, or 
injury which is at variance with the history given of such injury, inflicted upon such child, or (3) is placed at imminent risk of serious harm, shall report or 
cause a report to be made in accordance with the provisions of sections 17a-101b to 17a-101d, inclusive. Any person required to report under the 
provisions of this section who fails to make such report shall be fined not less than five hundred dollars nor more than two thousand five hundred dollars 
and shall be required to participate in an educational and training program pursuant to subsection (d) of section 17a-101. 
 
Sec.17a-101b. Oral report by mandated reporter. Notification of law enforcement agency when allegation of sexual abuse or serious physical abuse. 
Notification of person in charge of institution, facility or school when staff member suspected of abuse or neglect. (a) An oral report shall be made by a 
mandated reporter as soon as practicable but not later than twelve hours after the mandated reporter has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a 
child has been abused or neglected or placed in imminent risk of serious harm, by telephone or in person to the Commissioner of Children and Families 
or a law enforcement agency. If a law enforcement agency receives an oral report, it shall immediately notify the Commissioner of Children and Families. 
 
(b) If the commissioner or the commissioner's designee suspects or knows that such person has knowingly made a false report, the identity of such 
person shall be disclosed to the appropriate law enforcement agency and to the perpetrator of the alleged abuse. 
(c) If the Commissioner of Children and Families, or the commissioner's designee, receives a report alleging sexual abuse or serious physical abuse, 
including, but not limited to, a report that: (1) A child has died; (2) a child has been sexually assaulted; (3) a child has suffered brain damage or loss or 
serious impairment of a bodily function or organ; (4) a child has been sexually exploited; or (5) a child has suffered serious nonaccidental physical injury, 
the commissioner shall, within twelve hours of receipt of such report, notify the appropriate law enforcement agency. 
(d) Whenever a mandated reporter, as defined in section 17a-101, has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that any child has been abused or 
neglected by a member of the staff of a public or private institution or facility that provides care for such child or a public or private school, the mandated 
reporter shall report as required in subsection (a) of this section. The Commissioner of Children and Families or the commissioner's designee shall notify 
the person in charge of such institution, facility or school or the person's designee, unless such person is the alleged perpetrator of the abuse or neglect 
of such child. Such person in charge, or such person's designee, shall then immediately notify the child's parent or other person responsible for the 
child's care that a report has been made.  
 
17a-101c. Written report by mandated reporter. Within forty-eight hours of making an oral report, a mandated reporter shall submit a written report to the 
Commissioner of Children and Families or his representative. When a mandated reporter is a member of the staff of a public or private institution or 
facility that provides care for such child or public or private school he shall also submit a copy of the written report to the person in charge of such 
institution, school or facility or the person's designee. In the case of a report concerning a certified school employee, a copy of the written report shall 
also be sent by the person in charge of such institution, school or facility to the Commissioner of Education or his representative. In the case of an 
employee of a facility or institution that provides care for a child which is licensed by the state, a copy of the written report shall also be sent by the 
mandated reporter to the executive head of the state licensing agency. 
 
Sec.17a-101d. Contents of oral and written reports. All oral and written reports required in sections 17a-101a to 17a-101c, inclusive, and section 17a-
103, shall contain, if known: (1) The names and addresses of the child and his parents or other person responsible for his care; (2) the age of the child; 
(3) the gender of the child; (4) the nature and extent of the child's injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect; (5) the approximate date and time the injury 
or injuries, maltreatment or neglect occurred; (6) information concerning any previous injury or injuries to, or maltreatment or neglect of, the child or his 
siblings; (7) the circumstances in which the injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect came to be known to the reporter; (8) the name of the person or 
persons suspected to be responsible for causing such injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect; and (9) whatever action, if any, was taken to treat, 
provide shelter or otherwise assist the child.                                      
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 

 

 
LICENSURE/CERTIFICATION APPLICATION POLICIES FOR ALL PROFESSIONS 

      

 
AN APPLICATION WILL NOT BE REVIEWED BY PROFESSIONAL STAFF OF THE DEPARTMENT UNTIL ALL 
REQUIRED DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED. 
 
• The fee for initial licensure covers the cost of eligibility determination and related administrative functions.  At such time as an 

applicant is determined eligible for licensure, the process of licensure issuance will proceed immediately.  The licensure renewal 
fee is separate and distinct from the application fee.  Licenses are renewed annually during the licensee’s month of birth.  
Renewal will be required in the FIRST birth month which immediately follows the issuance of licensure.  The full renewal fee 
will be required regardless of the date of initial licensure. 

 
• It is the responsibility of the applicant to arrange for submission of all required documentation for timely completion of the 

application.  The Department does NOT notify applicants of incomplete documentation.  It is recommended that applicants who 
are interested in expediting licensure contact the Department periodically to monitor the status of their file with regard to the 
receipt of supporting documents. 

 
• Educational credentials earned in a country other than the United States (or Canada in some instances) must be evaluated by a 

credential evaluation service approved by the Department.  Documents in a language other than English MUST be translated by a 
certified translation service in accordance with instructions from this office.  Applicants to whom these provisions apply should 
request additional information from this office. 

 
• No personal checks are accepted.  Please remit the application fee, by CERTIFIED CHECK or MONEY ORDER ONLY, 

payable to "TREASURER, STATE OF CONNECTICUT", in United States dollars.  All fees are non-refundable and non-
transferable.  The fee which accompanies an application covers the cost of reviewing and processing that specific application, IT 
CANNOT BE REFUNDED, EVEN IF THE APPLICANT IS FOUND INELIGIBLE FOR LICENSURE. 

 
• Any incomplete application which has remained inactive for one year will be destroyed in accordance with the agency’s record 

retention plan.  To reactivate the application process, a completely new application and fee will be required. 
 
• Licensure requirements are subject to change as a result of new legislation, new Rules and Regulations, or from new policies and 

procedures adopted by the Department of Public Health working, where appropriate, in cooperation with various Boards of 
Examiners.  Applicants must meet current licensure requirements. 

 
• Licensing examination questions are NOT included in the Freedom of Information Act as documents available for review.  

Whenever possible, however, this division will provide whatever feedback possible with regard to examination performance. 
 
• The Privacy Act of 1974 requires any federal, state or local government agency that requires individuals to disclose their social 

security numbers to inform those individuals whether the disclosure is mandatory or voluntary, by what statutory or other 
authority the number is requested and how it will be used.  Pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes, Section 17b-137a(a)(1), 
disclosure of the social security number is mandatory.  The social security number is used in the administration and collection of 
taxes and is also used for child support collection.  Please note that the Department will ONLY disclose social security numbers 
to government entities.  Your social security number will NOT be released to the general public. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Phone: (860) 509-7975 
Telephone Device for the Deaf  (860) 509-7191 

410 Capitol Avenue - MS # 12EMS 
P.O. Box  340308  Hartford, CT  06134 

An  Equal  Opportunity  Employer 
www.ct.gov./dph   
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Office of Emergency Medical Services 

  Emergency Medical Services Certification 
          Telephone (860) 509-7975  
         Fax   (860) 707-1902
          www.ct.gov/dph      
 
1.  Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) Certification 
 
Eligibility Routes - An applicant must be at least fourteen (14) years old and have satisfied one of the following 
requirements: 
 
1(a) Examination- Successful completion, within the past twelve months, of a Department-approved EMR training 

program in Connecticut that included written and practical examinations at the completion of the course, or if outside 
of Connecticut, a program which adhered to the United States Department of Transportation, National Highway 
Traffic Safety Administration, First Responder National Standard Curriculum and which included an examination. 
Applicants are also required to take the initial practical and written examinations prescribed by this Department.  
Please note that EMR’s must contact the instructor of the Connecticut EMR course to obtain examination 
information or, 

1(b) Examination- Connecticut certification/licensure as an EMT, AEMT or paramedic and passage of the final 
examination required of an EMR initial training program.  Please note that EMR’s must contact the instructor of the 
Connecticut EMR course to obtain examination information. 

1(c) Endorsement- Current certification as a First Responder by the National Registry of Emergency Medical 
Technicians or by a state or territory maintaining certification requirements equal to or higher than those of this state.  
Upon receipt and review of all application materials this office will determine your eligibility under this route.  
Applicants that do not meet the eligibility requirements may be required to take the initial practical and written 
examinations prescribed by this Department.  Please note that you must contact the office of Emergency Medical 
Services to obtain examination information. 

 
Documentation Requirements: 
 

 If applying by Route 1(a) Examination, a completed application for EMR certification (Attached).  Complete the 
top portion and forward application to your training instructor, who in turn must complete the bottom portion of the 
form and return it directly to this office and official verification of your written exam score, sent directly to this 
office from the appropriate EMS Instructor of an EMR initial training program. 

  If applying by Route 1(b) Examination, a completed application for EMR certification (Attached-you need only 
complete the top portion and return same directly to this office) and official verification, sent directly to this office 
from the appropriate EMS Instructor verifying your passage of the final examination of an EMR initial training 
program.  Please affix a copy of EMT, AEMT certification or Paramedic license to the application.   

 If applying by Route 1(c) Endorsement, a completed application for EMR certification (Attached) and arrange for 
official verification of current or expired EMR certification or licensure in another state(s) or territory to be sent 
directly to this office directly from the state’s Licensing/Certification entity (Attached). The other state or territory 
must also provide their current license/certification requirements. Please note that some jurisdictions may charge a 
fee for completion of the verification form; contact the jurisdiction for fee information.  To access jurisdictions 
contact information via the Internet please go to www.nremt.org.  Upon receipt and review of all application 
materials this office will determine your eligibility under this route. Applicants that do not meet the eligibility 
requirements may be required to take the practical and written examinations.  Please see route 1(a) information for 
examination information and documentation requirements. 

 
  EMR Renewal (Recertification)        (What to do before the expiration of your certification) 
 
To qualify for renewal an applicant must recertify on or before the expiration date of the certification.  If the certification 
is not renewed within 90 days of the due date then the certification will become void and or expire and as a result the 
applicant can no longer practice as an EMS provider (please see reinstatement requirements below).  To qualify for 
renewal an applicant shall meet one of the following requirements:   
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(A) Applicants must complete an approved refresher-training course within six months of the expiration date of the 
certification.  Please note that applicants will not receive credit for a refresher course that is completed more than 
one year before of the expiration of the certification.  Refresher training courses shall include both written and 
practical testing; or 

(B)  Applicants may complete one out-of-state refresher training course throughout the lifetime of the certificate which 
may be accepted in lieu of a refresher training course required by this department provided: (i) the applicant is 
currently certified as a EMR for EMR renewal or as a person entitled to perform similar services under a different 
designation in another state; (ii) the refresher training program is equal to the refresher training program required by 
this department; and (iii) the refresher training program is approved by the appropriate regulatory body of such 
other state. 

 
Documentation Requirements: 
 

 A completed application for EMR certification (Attached).  Complete the top portion and forward the application to 
your training instructor, who in turn must complete the bottom portion of the form and return it directly to this 
office and official verification, sent directly to this office from the appropriate EMS Instructor verifying your 
passage of the final examination of the EMR training program. 

 
  EMR Reinstatement     (What to do after the expiration of your certification) 
 
If the certification is not renewed within 90 days of the due date then the certification will become void and or expire and 
as a result the applicant can no longer practice as an EMS provider unless the certification is reinstated.  Any person 
certified as an EMR whose certification has expired may apply for reinstatement of such certification as follows: 
 

a) If such certification expired one year or less from the date of application for reinstatement, such person shall 
complete an approved refresher course,  

b) if such certification expired more than one year but less than three years from the date of application for 
reinstatement, such person shall complete an approved refresher course and the written and practical examinations 
required for initial certification; or  

c) if such certification expired three or more years from the date of application for reinstatement, such person shall 
complete a full course and the written and practical examinations required for initial certification. 

 
Documentation Requirements: 
 

 A completed application for EMR certification (Attached).  Complete the top portion and forward the application to 
your training instructor, who in turn must complete the bottom portion of the form and return it directly to this 
office. Official verification, sent directly to this office from the appropriate EMS Instructor, verifying your passage 
of the final examination of an EMR training program., and 

 If such certification expired more than one year but less than three years from the date of application for 
reinstatement, such person shall, in addition to the completion of a refresher course must also complete the written 
and practical examinations required for initial certification. 

 
2.  Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Certification 
 
Eligibility Routes - An applicant must be at least sixteen (16) years old and meet one of the following requirements: 
 
2(a) Examination- Successful completion of a Department-approved EMT training program Connecticut that included 

written and practical examinations or if outside of Connecticut, a program which adhered to the United States 
Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, EMT National Standard 
Curriculum; or 

2(b) Examination- Current unrestricted Connecticut licensure as a registered nurse, advanced practice registered nurse, 
physician or physician assistant and successful completion of a Department-approved 25 hour EMT refresher course 
that included written and practical examinations; or 

2(c) Endorsement- Current certification as an EMT by the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians or by a 
state or territory maintaining certification requirements equal to or higher than those of this state; or 

2(d) Endorsement- Current, valid license/certification in good standing as an EMT in Maine, Massachusetts, New 
Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island or Vermont. 
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Documentation Requirements: 
 

 If applying by Route 2(a) -Examination, (1) a completed application for EMT certification (Attached).  Complete 
the top portion and forward the application to your training instructor, who in turn must complete the bottom portion 
of the form and return it directly to this office.  In addition, after the successful completion of the course, applicants 
must take an approved Practical Examination.  Please note that EMT’s must contact the instructor of the EMT 
course to obtain examination information.  (2) Complete a National Registry (NR) application online.  Please see 
Examination Candidate Information section below for examination information. 

 If applying by Route 2(b), -Examination, a completed application for EMT certification (Attached).  Complete 
the top portion of the application and attach a copy of your current RN, APRN, MD or PA license and forward same 
to your refresher training instructor, who in turn must complete the bottom portion of the form and return it directly 
to this office. In addition, after the successful completion of the refresher course, applicants must take the approved 
Practical and Written Examinations.  Please see Examination Candidate Information section below for examination 
information. 

 If applying by Route 2(c) -Endorsement, a completed application for EMT certification (Attached) and arrange 
for official verification of current or expired EMT certification or licensure in another state(s) or territory to be 
sent directly to this office directly from the state’s Licensing/Certification entity (Attached).  The other state or 
territory must also provide their current license/certification requirements.  Please note that some jurisdictions may 
charge a fee for completion of the verification form; contact the jurisdiction for fee information.  To access 
jurisdictions contact information via the Internet please go to www.nremt.org.  Upon receipt and review of all 
application materials this office will determine your eligibility under this route.  Applicants that do not meet the 
eligibility requirements may be required to take the practical and written examinations approved by this Department 
Please see Examination Candidate Information section below for examination information. 

 If applying by Route 2(d) –Endorsement, a completed application for EMT certification (Attached).  Complete 
the top portion and arrange for official verification of current or expired EMT certification or licensure in another 
state(s) to be sent directly to this office directly from the state’s Licensing/Certification entity (Attached).  Please 
note that some jurisdictions may charge a fee for completion of the verification form; contact the jurisdiction for fee 
information.  To access jurisdictions contact information via the Internet please go to www.nremt.org. 

 
 

EXAMINATION INFORMATION FOR EMTCANDIDATES 
 
At the exam, do you require accommodation for any disabling condition?  Yes   No .  If yes, please submit a written statement 
briefly describing the nature of your disability and the accommodation you are seeking. Please mail the request for 
accommodation directly to the National Registry at 6610 Busch Blvd, PO Box 29233, Columbus OH 43229, and attach a separate 
copy of the statement to the EMT application.  Upon review of your request, this office and the National Registry will contact you 
regarding your request. 
 
EMT applicants must complete a state approved practical examination and the National Registry of Emergency Medical 
Technician’s (NREMT) cognitive examination.  The practical examination consists of six stations in which the candidate 
is expected to direct patient care and be graded individually in six stations.  For information regarding the skills stations at 
the practical examination please visit: https://www.nremt.org/nremt/about/exam_coord_man.asp.  Please note that 
applicants do not need to pass the practical examination prior to being eligible for the written examination.   
 
Please note that results of the practical examinations are good for one year from the date of the last practical examination. 
Candidates applying for written examination and have a one-year-old practical examination must retake the practical 
examination before a certification could be issued. 
 
Individuals completing a full basic Connecticut course, applicants that have a current Connecticut RN, APRN, MD or PA 
license who completed a Connecticut approved refresher course, those individuals who are not certified by the National 
Registry, and or those that are not able to qualify via endorsement, will be required to take the examinations prescribed by 
this Department. 
 
For National Registry applications go www.nremt.org .  Also, note that applicants that are 18 years of age and older must 
apply for the EMT Basic Exam and be approved to take the NREMT exam by their EMS Instructor.  Applicants that are 
younger than 18 years of age must apply for the Basic Assessment exam and must be approved by the OEMS office.  
Upon receipt and review of all application materials and approval by your instructor or this office, you will see the  
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following link ‘Print ATT Letter’.  You will only see the ATT letter when either your instructor or the OEMS has verified 
your course.  This link will not appear if the verification process is not complete. Please note that you must have your 
ATT letter to schedule an appointment to take the NREMT examination. Follow the directions listed on your ATT letter 
to schedule an examination appointment.  For lists of examination dates visit the department’s website: 
http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3127&q=387364&dphNav_GID=1827&dphPNavCtr=|#46950. 
 
Applicants must register for the NREMT examination. Please be advised that candidates are allowed six (6) opportunities 
to test for the written examination within a two-year period from the end of the course. Candidates applying for the fourth 
time must submit an official verification of successful completion of a refresher education directly to this department and 
the instructor of the course must submit a letter to the NREMT verifying completion of such refresher. Complete the top 
portion and forward the application to your training instructor, who in turn must complete the bottom portion of the form 
and return it directly to this office and a separate letter to the NREMT. This refresher must be completed before the fourth 
attempt of the examination. Candidates who fail the examination on the sixth attempt or have reached the two-year limit 
must repeat the entire EMT-Basic training program in order to apply for subsequent examination attempts. 
 
  Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Temporary Permit 
 
An applicant who held Connecticut EMT certification prior to becoming licensed as a Connecticut licensed paramedic 
may be eligible for a one year, non-renewable, temporary EMT permit.   
 
Eligibility Route – In order to be eligible for the one-year temporary permit, an applicant must: 
 

 Have been certified as a Connecticut EMT prior to becoming licensed as a paramedic in Connecticut (such EMT 
certificate and paramedic license must have expired prior to the submission of the application). 

 Holders of temporary EMT permits may qualify for reinstatement of a lapsed paramedic license or EMT 
certification provided the applicant can demonstrate that he/she meets the requirements for reinstatement as 
indicated in page 8 of this application only if the paramedic meets the requirements as indicated in the paramedic 
application.   

 
Documentation Requirements: 
 

 A completed application for EMT temporary permit (Attached).  Complete the top portion of application and return 
it directly to this office. 

 Please affix a copy of EMT certification and Paramedic license to the application.  If you do not have a copy of 
either certificate please indicate it and submit the application.  This office will contact you should your involvement 
be necessary. 

 
  EMT Renewal (Recertification)       (What to do before the expiration of your certification) 
 
To qualify for renewal an applicant must recertify on or before the expiration date of the certification.  If the certification 
is not renewed within 90 days of the due date then the certification will become void and or expire and as a result the 
applicant can no longer practice as an EMS provider (please see reinstatement requirements below).  To qualify for 
renewal an applicant shall meet one of the following requirements:   
 

A. Applicants must complete an approved refresher-training course within six months of the expiration date of the 
certification.  Please note that applicants will not receive credit for a refresher course that is completed more than 
one year before of the expiration of the certification.  Refresher training courses shall include both written and 
practical testing; or 

B. Applicants may complete one out-of-state refresher training course throughout the lifetime of the certificate which 
may be accepted in lieu of a refresher training course required by this department provided: (i) the applicant is 
currently certified as an EMT for EMT renewal or as a person entitled to perform similar services under a 
different designation in another state; (ii) the refresher training program is equal to the refresher training program 
required by this department; and (iii) the refresher training program is approved by the appropriate regulatory 
body of such other state. 

 
Documentation Requirements: 
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 A completed application for EMT certification (Attached).  Complete the top portion and forward the application to 

your training instructor, who in turn must complete the bottom portion of the form and return it directly to this 
office. 

 
  EMT Reinstatement     (What to do after the expiration of your certification) 
 
If the certification is not renewed within 90 days of the due date then the certification will become void and or expire and 
as a result the applicant can no longer practice as an EMS provider unless the certification is reinstated.  Any person 
certified as an EMT whose certification has expired may apply for reinstatement of such certification as follows: 
 

a) If such certification expired one year or less from the date of application for reinstatement, such person shall 
complete an approved refresher course,  

b) if such certification expired more than one year but less than three years from the date of application for 
reinstatement, such person shall complete an approved refresher course and the written and practical examinations 
required for initial certification; or  

c) if such certification expired three or more years from the date of application for reinstatement, such person shall 
complete a full course and the written and practical examinations required for initial certification, or  

d) holders of temporary EMT permits (see requirements in page 6) may qualify for reinstatement as an EMT provided 
the applicant has completed an approved EMT refresher-training program prior to the expiration date of the 
temporary permit.  Please ensure that a completed EMT application (Attached) is submitted to this office.  Please 
complete the top portion and forward the application to your training instructor, who in turn must complete the 
bottom portion of the form and return it directly to this office verifying the completion of an approved EMT 
refresher-training program. 

 
Documentation Requirements: 
 

 A completed application for EMR, EMT or AEMT certification (Attached).  Complete the top portion and forward 
the application to your training instructor, who in turn must complete the bottom portion of the form and return it 
directly to this office, and 

 If such certification expired more than one year but less than three years (not applicable to holders of temporary 
permits), such person shall, in addition to the completion of a refresher course the applicant must successfully 
complete a state approved practical examination and the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technician’s 
(NREMT) cognitive examination.  To register for the NREMT exam applicants can go to the NREMT website 
www.nremt.org.  For lists of practical examination dates visit the department’s website 
http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3127&q=387364&dphNav_GID=1827&dphPNavCtr=|#46950  

 
3.  Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT) certification        
 
Eligibility Routes - An applicant must meet one of the following requirements: 
 
3(a) Examination- Current Connecticut EMT certification and successful completion of a Department-approved AEMT 

85 or 99 training programs in Connecticut or if outside of Connecticut, a program which includes those modules of a 
United States Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, AEMT85 or 99 
National Standard Curriculum required by the Department; or 

3(b) Endorsement- Current certification as an AEMT by the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians or by 
a state or territory maintaining certification requirements equal to or higher than those of this state. 

3(c) Endorsement- Current, valid license/certification in good standing as an AEMT in Maine, Massachusetts, New 
Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island or Vermont. 

Documentation Requirements: 
 

 If applying by Route 3(a) -Examination, a completed application for AEMT certification (Attached).  Complete 
the top portion and forward the application to your training instructor, who in turn must complete the bottom portion 
of the form and return it directly to this office with the results of your written examination. Please note that 
AEMT’s must contact the instructor of the AEMT course to obtain examination information.  

 If applying by Route 3(b) -Endorsement, a completed application for AEMT certification (Attached).  Complete 
the top portion and arrange for official verification of AEMT certification to be sent directly to this office the state’s 
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Licensing/Certification entity (Attached).  The state or territory must also provide their current license/certification 
requirements. Please note that some jurisdictions may charge a fee for completion of the verification form; contact 
the jurisdiction for fee information.  To access states contact information via the Internet please go to 
www.nremt.org.  Upon receipt and review of all application materials this office will determine your eligibility 
under this route.  Applicants that do not meet the eligibility requirements may be required to take the practical and 
written examinations prescribed by this Department.  Please see Examination Candidate Information section above 
for examination information. 

 If applying by Route 3(c) -Endorsement, a completed application for AEMT certification (Attached) and arrange 
for official verification of current or expired AEMT certification or licensure AEMT in Maine, Massachusetts, 
New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island or Vermont to be sent directly to this office directly from 
the state’s Licensing/Certification entity (Attached).  Please note that some jurisdictions may charge a fee for 
completion of the verification form; contact the jurisdiction for fee information.  To access jurisdictions contact 
information via the Internet please go to www.nremt.org.  Upon receipt and review of all application materials this 
office will determine your eligibility under this route.  

 
  AEMT Renewal (Recertification)        (What to do before the expiration of your certification) 
 
To qualify for a renewal for an AEMT certification an applicant must recertify on or before the expiration date of the 
certification.  If the certification is not renewed within 90 days of the due date then the certification will become void and 
or expire and as a result the applicant can no longer practice as an EMS provider (please see reinstatement requirements 
above).  
 
To qualify for renewal as an AEMT, an applicant shall meet one of the following requirements:   
 

a) Complete a minimum of forty-eight (48) hours of Department approved refresher training for AEMT within six 
months of the expiration date of the certification.  Please note that applicants will not receive credit for a refresher 
course that is completed more than one year before of the expiration of the certification.  For a list of available 
courses in Connecticut please visit our website 
http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3127&q=387358&dphNav_GID=1827&dphNav=|.  Please note that such 
refresher training program include a twenty-five (25) hours of Department approved EMT-B refresher training and a 
minimum of twenty-three (23) credit hours of continuing education as indicated below and shall include both 
written and practical testing for the EMT-B refresher component; or if an approved refresher training for AEMT is 
not completed then applicants must separately,  

 
b) Complete a minimum of twenty-five (25) hours of Department approved refresher training, within six months of the 

expiration date of the certification.  Please note that applicants will not receive credit for a refresher course that is 
completed more than one year before of the expiration of the certification.  Such refresher training programs shall 
include both written and practical testing; and  

 
c)  Complete a minimum of twenty-three (23) credit hours of continuing education at intervals not to exceed twenty-

four (24) months.  Such twenty-three (23) hours shall include, but not be limited to, coursework in intravenous 
techniques and advanced airway management.  One credit hour shall mean a minimum of sixty (60) minutes of live 
instruction, which a participant physically attends, either individually or as part of a group.  Please note that your 
“Medical Oversight” must sign the bottom of your application.  Please submit copies of such documents to the 
Department.  

 
Documentation Requirements: 
 

 A completed application for AEMT certification (Attached).  Complete the top portion and forward the application 
to your training instructor or clinical care coordinator, who in turn must complete the bottom portion of the form 
and return it directly to this office. 

 
 
 
 
  AEMTReinstatement     (What to do after the expiration of your certification) 
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If the certification is not renewed within 90 days of the due date then the certification will become void and or expire and 
as a result the applicant can no longer practice as an EMS provider unless the certification is reinstated.  Any person 
certified as an AEMT whose certification has expired may apply for reinstatement of such certification as follows: 
 

a) If such certification expired one year or less from the date of application for reinstatement, such person shall 
complete an approved refresher course,  

b) if such certification expired more than one year but less than three years from the date of application for 
reinstatement, such person shall complete an approved refresher course and the written and practical examinations 
required for initial certification; or  

c) if such certification expired three or more years from the date of application for reinstatement, such person shall 
complete a full course and the written and practical examinations required for initial certification. 

 
Documentation Requirements: 
 

 A completed application for AEMT certification (Attached).  Complete the top portion and forward the application 
to your training instructor, who in turn must complete the bottom portion of the form and return it directly to this 
office, and 

 If such certification expired more than one year but less than three years from the date of application for 
reinstatement, such person shall, in addition to the completion of a refresher course and the written and practical 
examinations required for initial certification. 

 
Please note that the issue date of a new certification or reinstatement of an expired certification is based on the day that 
the course was completed.  Certifications or reinstatement of expired certifications are granted for a period not to exceed 
three years to the nearest quarter that the training course was completed. 
 
EMS courses are available throughout the state.  For a list of available courses in Connecticut please visit our website at: 
http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3127&q=387358&dphNav_GID=1827&dphNav=| . 
 
For a copy of the 1994 United States Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 
National Standard Curriculum, go the following website: www.nhtsa.dot.gov/people/injury/ems/nsc.htm  
 
Applications and supporting documentation must be sent directly from the appropriate authority to: 
 

CT Department of Public Health 
EMS Certification  

410 Capitol Ave., MS #12 EMS 
P.O. Box 340308  

Hartford, CT 06134-0308. 
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Office of Emergency Medical Services 
Emergency Medical Service Certification 

Telephone (860)509-7975 
Fax (860)707-1902 

www.ct.gov/dph  
 

 

Type of application:                  EMR         EMT      EMT Temporary Permit  AEMT 
       Please check one below: 
 

 Initial (new course only)   Endorsement   Renewal   Reinstatement: Certification No.: ________ Expiration:  ______ 
 

Name and Mailing Address:  This will be how your name and address will appear on your official certification documents, your 
address of record for all mailings from this office Department (please type or print). 
 

Last Name:  _______________________________________   First Name:  _________________________________  MI:  ____ 
 

Date of Birth:  _____/_____/_____  SSN: _______-_____-________             Gender:  Male  Female 
 

Home Phone: (____) ___________________   Cell Phone: (____) __________________  E-mail: _____________________________ 
 

Address:     ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

City/Town:   ___________________________________________________  State:  __________  Zip Code: _______________ 
 

Are you now, or have you ever been, licensed, certified or registered as an EMS provider in any state or territory?  Yes   No .  If 
yes, list all states or territories ___________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Are you now, or has the National Registry ever certified you? Yes  No . If yes, please indicate certification number: __________ 
 

Are you presently working in your licensed/certified profession? Yes  No . If yes, please indicate hours of practice per week ____ 
 

Provider information (If presently affiliated): Name of Service:   _________________________________________________ 
 

  Address:  ________________________________________________________ 
 

  City, State, Zip: ___________________________________________________ 
 
 

PROFESSIONAL HISTORY:  Answer 1-8 by checking YES or NO.  If you answer YES, follow directions below. 
 

1.  Have you ever been censured, disciplined, dismissed or expelled from, had admissions monitored or restricted, had 
privileges limited, suspended or terminated, been put on probation, or been requested to resign or withdraw from any of 
the following:               YES   NO  
 

-Any hospital, nursing home, clinic, or similar institution;  
-Any health maintenance organization, professional partnership, corporation, or similar health practice 
  organization, either private or public; 
-Any professional school, clinical clerkship, internship, externship, preceptorship or postgraduate training program; 
-Any third party reimbursement program, whether governmental or private? 

If your answer is "yes" to this question, please give full details, names, addresses, etc. on a separate NOTARIZED statement. 
 

2.  Have you ever had your membership in or certification by any professional society or association suspended or 
revoked for reasons related to professional practice?               YES   NO  
If your answer is "yes" to this question, please give full details, names, addresses, etc. on a separate NOTARIZED statement. 
 

3.  Has any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, a United States possession or 
territory, or a foreign jurisdiction, limited, restricted, suspended or revoked any professional license, certificate, or 
registration granted to you, or imposed a fine or reprimand, or taken any other disciplinary action against you? 
              YES   NO  
If your answer is "yes" to this question, please give full details, names, addresses, etc. on a separate NOTARIZED statement. 
4.  Have you ever, in anticipation or during the pendency of an investigation or other disciplinary         
proceeding, voluntarily surrendered any professional license, certificate or registration issued to you 
by any state, the District of Columbia, a United States possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction?    YES   NO  
If your answer is "yes" to this question, please give full details, names, addresses, etc. on a separate NOTARIZED statement. 
 
 
 
 

CONNECTICUT 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
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5.  Have you ever been subject to, or do you currently have pending, any complaint, investigation, charge, 
or disciplinary action by any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, 
a United States possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction or any disciplinary board/committee of any 
branch of the armed services?  You need not report any complaints dismissed as without merit.              YES   NO  
If your answer is "yes" to this question, please give full details, names, addresses, etc. on a separate NOTARIZED statement. 
 
6.  Have you ever been denied or surrendered a state or federal controlled substance registration, had it 
revoked or restricted in any way, or been warned, reprimanded, or fined by the responsible agency?         YES   NO  
If your answer is "yes" to this question, please give full details, names, addresses, etc. on a separate NOTARIZED statement. 
 
7.  Have you ever entered into, or do you currently have pending, a consent agreement of any kind, whether 
oral or written, with any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, 
a United States possession or territory, any branch of the armed services or a foreign jurisdiction?          YES   NO   
If "yes", give full details, names, addresses, etc. on a separate, NOTARIZED statement.  Also submit a NOTARIZED copy of the 
agreement. 
 
8.  Have you ever been found guilty or convicted as a result of an act which constitutes a felony under the laws of this 
state, federal law or the laws of another jurisdiction and which, if committed within this state, would have constituted a 
felony under the laws of this state?                    YES   NO  
If "yes", give full details, dates, etc. on a separate NOTARIZED statement and furnish a Certified Court Copy (with court seal 
affixed) of the original complaint, the answer, the judgment, the settlement, and/or the disposition. 
 
I have reviewed the information provided and verify that it is accurate.  I certify under penalties of perjury that I have not 
been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude, nor am I addicted to the use of drugs or alcohol.  I certify that I am 
the person on this application and that all statements are true and correct.   
 
______________________________________________     __________________ 
Signature of Applicant          Date 
 

TO BE COMPLETED BY TRAINING PROVIDER ONLY 
 

For All Courses: The course was an:  Initial       Refresher training program for:  EMR    EMT     AEMT 
 

Dates of Course:   
EMR- Basic/Refresher - From: ______ To: ______ Course location ____________________________ Course hours ___ 
EMT- Basic/Refresher - From: ______ To: ______ Course location ____________________________ Course hours ___  
AEMT-Basic/Refresher - From: ______ To: ______ Course location ___________________________ Course hours ____ 
EMS-I Certification Number: ___________________ 
 

For Connecticut Courses only: EMR- Basic/Refresher CT Course Approval Number: __________ Course hours _______ 
               EMT- Basic/Refresher CT Course Approval Number: __________ Course hours _______ 
               AEMT- Basic/Refresher CT Course Approval Number: _________ Course hours _______ 
 
I certify that the applicant successfully completed a written and practical examination at the conclusion of this course     

 Yes   No  If yes, please indicate written examination score _______________ and date of exam ________________ 
 
I certify under penalties of perjury that the above named applicant successfully completed the above training program, 
including written and practical exams, and that such program met the requirements of DPH Regulations or, if outside of 
Connecticut, adhered to the U.S. DOT, NHTSA National Standard Curriculum. 
 

________________________________________________ _________________________________ _____________________ 
Signature of Course Instructor/Coordinator   Daytime Phone No.   Date 
 

_________________________________________________ E-mail:  __________________________________________________ 
Printed Name of Course Instructor/Coordinator 
 

_______________________________________________________________ _____________________  ______________ 
Signature of “Medical Oversight” (Mandatory for AEMT courses only) CT Physician License No. Date 
 

Please mail this form directly to: CT Department of Public Health, EMS Certification • 410 Capitol Ave., MS #12 EMS • 
P.O. Box 340308 • Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Phone (860) 509-7975, Fax (860) 707-1902 
 
 

IMPORTANT: The application packet for this profession consists of 18 pages, including instructions and eligibility 
requirements. Do not send this application unless you have read and understood all pertinent information. 
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Connecticut Department of Public Health 
Verification of EMS License/Certification Status 

 

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT ONLY 
 

Applicant- Complete the top portion of this form and forward it to each state or territory (not applicable to the National Registry) 
where you have been licensed, certified, or registered as an emergency medical services provider (make copies as necessary).  
 

Section 1: Applicant information 
 

Last Name: __________________________  First Name:  _______________________ MI: ____      SSN: _______-______-______ 
 

Address:  ________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 No. & Street     City    State    Zip Code 
 
Home Phone: (____) ___________________  Work Phone: (____) __________________   Cell Phone: (____) __________________  
 
Original License/Certification number __________________________   Date Issued  ______________________________________ 
(in the state to which the form is being forwarded) 
 

Type:         First Responder (EMR)      Emergency Medical Technician      Advanced Emergency Medical Technician 
 
I hereby authorize the ________________________________ to furnish the Connecticut Department of Public Health the information 
requested below. 
 

Signature____________________________________________________________ Date _________________________________ 
 

TO BE COMPLETED BY VERIFYING AGENCY ONLY 
 
Section 2:  Verifying Organization:  Please complete this section as completely as possible.  The information you provide will assist 
in the review of this individual’s eligibility for Connecticut EMS certification. 
 
I certify that the above named individual was issued license/certificate number ___________________________________________ 
 
to practice as a __________________________________________________ effective  ___________________________________ 
 

Certification Expiration Date:  _________________________  
 
What was the basis for licensure/certification/registration in your state?  Examination   Endorsement (Endorsement, from 
State(s)? __________________________________________________________________________________________________) 
 
What examination does your agency currently require for purposes of certification? 
 

  National Registry     Professional Examination Service     State Board Examination     Other: ______________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Does your agency currently require successful completion of a training program adhering to the United States Department of 
Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration National Standard Curriculum?   YES   NO.  If no, please 
provide a brief description of the requirements this individual completed for purposes of certification. 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
Has this individual ever been subject to disciplinary action of any type or is this individual currently the subject of a pending 
disciplinary action or unresolved complaint?   YES   NO.  If yes, please forward all publicly disclosable information regarding 
the individual’s status and the basis for same.  Please advise this office if you require consent for release of this information from the 
applicant. 
 

Signed:    ___________________________________________   Title:  _________________________________________________ 
 

Name of Agency:  ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Address:  ___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

City/State/Zip ________________________________________________________ Telephone Number:  ______________________ 
 
Please mail this form directly to: CT Department of Public Health, EMS Certification • 410 Capitol Ave., MS #12 EMS • 
P.O. Box 340308 • Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Phone (860) 509-7975, Fax (860) 707-1902. 
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Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies 
EMS Personnel 

 
19a-179-16a. Minimum personnel qualifications--certification and licensure  
(a) Medical Response Technician.  
(1) In order to qualify for initial medical response technician certification, or for current certification of a lapsed 
certificate, an applicant shall meet one of the following requirements:  
(A) successfully complete, within twelve months of the date of application for certification, a training program, which if 
offered outside Connecticut, adheres to a United States Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration, First Responder National Standard Curriculum and includes an examination. A training program offered 
in Connecticut shall be approved by the Department pursuant to section 19a-179-17 of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies and shall include an examination approved by the Department;  
(B) hold current certification as a person entitled to perform similar services under a different designation by the National 
Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians or its successor organization as approved by the Department, or by a state 
which maintains certification requirements equal to or higher than those in this state; or  
(C) have held emergency medical technician certification pursuant to section 19a-179-16a(b) of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies or emergency medical technician-intermediate pursuant to section 19a-179-16a(c) of the 
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies or paramedic licensure pursuant to chapter 384d of the Connecticut General 
Statutes and completed the examination required in subparagraph (A) of this subdivision.  
 
(2) In order to qualify for recertification an applicant shall meet the following requirement:  
(A) complete a minimum of fifteen hours of refresher training, approved by the Department pursuant to section 19a-179-
17 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, at intervals not to exceed twenty-four months for the period starting 
with the date of the initial certification and extending through the end of the sixth consecutive year of certification. 
Starting in the seventh year of certification and thereafter, an applicant shall complete fifteen (15) hours of refresher 
training, approved by the Department pursuant to section 19a-179-17 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, at 
intervals not to exceed thirty-six months. Refresher training programs shall include both written and practical testing;  
(B) individuals may complete one out-of-state refresher training program throughout the lifetime of the certificate which 
may be accepted in lieu of a refresher training program required pursuant to section 19a-179-16a(a)(2)(A) of the 
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies provided:  (i) the individual is currently certified as a medical response 
technician or as a person entitled to perform similar services under a different designation in another state; (ii) the 
refresher training program is equal to the refresher training program required pursuant to section 19a- 179-16a(a)(2)(A) of 
the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies; and  (iii) the refresher training program is approved by the approved 
regulatory body of such other state.  
(3) No certificate shall be issued to a person applying for certification pursuant to section 19a-179-16a(a)(1) of the 
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies against whom a complaint is pending adjudication in another state or with the 
Department of Public Health.  
 
(b) Emergency Medical Technician  
(1) In order to qualify for initial emergency medical technician certification, or for current certification of a lapsed 
certificate, an applicant shall successfully complete a written and practical examination prescribed by the Department and 
meet one of the following requirements:  
(A) successfully complete a training program which, if offered outside Connecticut, adheres to the United States 
Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Emergency Medical Technician National 
Standard Curriculum. A training program offered in Connecticut shall be approved by the Department pursuant to section 
19a-179-17 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies;  
(B) hold current certification to perform similar services under a different designation by the National Registry of 
Emergency Medical Technicians or its successor organization as approved by the Department, or by a state which 
maintains certification requirements equal to or higher than those in this state; or  
(C) hold a current unrestricted Connecticut registered nurse, advanced practice registered nurse, physician/surgeon, or 
physician assistant license and complete a minimum of twenty-five (25) hours of refresher training, approved by the 
Department pursuant to section 19a-179-17 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies.  
(2) In order to qualify for recertification, an applicant shall meet one of the following requirements:  
(A) complete a minimum of twenty-five (25) hours of refresher training, approved by the Department pursuant to section 
19a- 179-17 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, at intervals not to exceed twenty-four months for the 
period starting with the date of the initial certification and extending through the end of the sixth consecutive year of 
certification. Starting in the seventh year of certification and thereafter, an applicant shall complete twenty-five (25) hours 
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of refresher training, approved by the Department pursuant to section 19a-179-17 of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies, at intervals not to exceed thirty-six months. Such refresher training programs shall include both written and 
practical testing;  
(B) successfully complete the examination required pursuant to section 19a-179-16a(b)(1) of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies at intervals not to exceed twenty-four months for the period starting with the date of the initial 
certification and extending through the end of the sixth consecutive year of certification. Starting in the seventh year of 
certification and thereafter, an applicant shall complete the examination required pursuant to section 19a-179-16a(b)(1) of 
the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, at intervals not to exceed thirty-six months;  
(C) individuals may complete one out-of-state refresher training program throughout the lifetime of the certificate which 
may be accepted in lieu of a refresher training program required pursuant to section 19a-179-16a(b)(2)(A) of the 
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies provided: (i) the individual is currently certified as an emergency medical 
technician or as a person entitled to perform similar services under a different designation in another state; (ii) the 
refresher training program is equal to the refresher training program required pursuant to section 19a-179-16a(b)(2)(A) of 
the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies; and (iii) the refresher training program is approved by the appropriate 
regulatory body of such other state; or  
(D) an applicant who is certified as an emergency medical services-instructor issued pursuant to section 19a-179-16a(d) of 
the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies may qualify for recertification as an emergency medical technician 
provided such emergency medical services-instructor served as an emergency medical services-instructor within two years 
of application for recertification, for the required modules of a training program required pursuant to section 19a-179-
16a(b)(1)(A)  of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies or section 19a-179-16a(b)(2)(A) of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies or equivalent modules in any Department-approved initial or refresher course.  
(3) No certificate shall be issued to a person applying for certification pursuant to section 19a-179-16a(b)(1) of the 
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies against whom a complaint is pending adjudication in another state or with the 
Department of Public Health.  
 
(c) Emergency Medical Technician-Intermediate  
(1) In order to qualify for initial emergency medical technician-intermediate certification, or for current certification of a 
lapsed certificate, an applicant shall successfully complete, within one year of date of application, an examination 
prescribed by the Department, and  meet the following requirements:  
(A) hold current emergency medical technician certification issued pursuant to section 19a-179-16a(b) of the Regulations 
of Connecticut State Agencies and successfully complete a training program which, if offered outside Connecticut, 
includes those modules of a United States Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration, Emergency Medical Technician-Intermediate National Standard Curriculum required by the Department 
or if offered in Connecticut, shall be approved by the Department. A training program offered in Connecticut must be 
approved by the Department pursuant to section 19a-179-17 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies; or  
(B) hold current certification to perform similar services under a different designation by the National Registry of 
Emergency Medical Technicians or its successor organization as approved by the Department, or by a state which 
maintains certification requirements equal to or higher than those in this state.  
(2) In order to qualify for recertification, an applicant shall meet the following requirements:  
(A) complete a minimum of twenty-five (25) hours of refresher training required pursuant to section 19a-179-
16a(b)(2)(A) of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies and approved by the Department pursuant to section 19a-
179-17 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, at intervals not to exceed twenty-four months. Such refresher 
training programs shall include both written and practical testing; and  
(B) complete a minimum of twenty-three (23) credit hours of continuing education at intervals not to exceed twenty-four 
(24) months. Such twenty-three (23) hours shall include, but not be limited to, coursework in intravenous techniques and 
advanced airway management. One credit hour shall mean a minimum of sixty (60) minutes of live instruction which a 
participant physically attends, either individually or as part of a group.  
(C) Each certified emergency medical technician-intermediate shall maintain written documentation of completion of 
continuing education activity for a period of four years. Said documentation may be maintained by the sponsor hospital or 
emergency medical services provider with which such certificate holder is affiliated or employed. The Department may 
inspect such certificate holder records as it deems necessary. Such documentation shall be submitted to the Department 
only upon the Department's request to the certificate holder. The certificate holder shall submit such records to the 
Department within forty-five days of the Department's request.  
(3) No certificate shall be issued to a person applying for certification pursuant to section 19a-179-16a(c)(1) of the 
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies against whom a complaint is pending adjudication in another state or with the  
Department of Public Health.  
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Connecticut General Statutes 
Chapter 368d 

EMS Personnel 
 
Sec. 19a-88b. Renewal of license, certificate, permit or registration which becomes void while holder on active duty 
in the armed forces of the United States. Exceptions. (a) Notwithstanding section 19a-14 or any other provisions of the 
general statutes relating to continuing education or refresher training, the Department of Public Health shall renew a 
license, certificate, permit or registration issued to an individual pursuant to chapters 368d, 368v, 370 to 388, inclusive, 
393a, 395, 398, 399, 400a and 400c which becomes void pursuant to section 19a-88 or 19a-195b while the holder thereof 
is on active duty in the armed forces of the United States, within six months from the date of discharge from active duty, 
upon completion of any continuing education or refresher training required to renew a license, certificate, registration or 
permit which has not become void pursuant to section 19a-88 or 19a-195b. A licensee applying for license renewal 
pursuant to this section shall submit an application on a form prescribed by the department and other such documentation 
as may be required by the department. 
(b) The provisions of this section shall not apply to reservists or National Guard members on active duty for annual 
training that is a regularly scheduled obligation for reservists or members of the National Guard for training which is not a 
part of mobilization. 
(c) No license shall be issued under this section to any applicant against whom professional disciplinary action is pending 
or who is the subject of an unresolved complaint. 
 
Sec. 19a-89. Change of office or residence address. Whenever any person holding a license, certificate or registration 
issued by the Department of Public Health changes his office or residence address, he shall, within thirty days thereafter, 
notify said department of his new office or residence address. 
 
Sec. 19a-195a. Regulations re recertification and state-wide standardization of certification. (a) The Commissioner 
of Public Health shall adopt regulations in accordance with the provisions of chapter 54 to provide that any person who 
has completed six years of continuous service as an emergency medical services technician shall be recertified every three 
years rather than every two years. For the purpose of maintaining an acceptable level of proficiency, each emergency 
medical services technician who is recertified for a three-year period shall complete twenty-five hours of refresher training 
approved by the commissioner at intervals not to exceed thirty-six months.  (b) The commissioner shall adopt regulations, 
in accordance with the provisions of chapter 54, to (1) provide for state-wide standardization of certification for each class 
of (A) emergency medical technicians, including, but not limited to, paramedics, (B) emergency medical services 
instructors, and (C) Emergency Medical Responders, (2) allow course work for such certification to be taken state-wide, 
and (3) allow persons so certified to perform within their scope of certification state-wide. 
 
Sec. 19a-195b. Reinstatement of expired certification. Validity of expired certificate. (a) Any person certified as an 
emergency medical technician, emergency medical technician-intermediate, Emergency Medical Responder or emergency 
medical services instructor pursuant to this chapter and the regulations adopted pursuant to section 19a- 179 whose 
certification has expired may apply to the Department of Public Health for reinstatement of such certification as follows: 
(1) If such certification expired one year or less from the date of application for reinstatement, such person shall 
complete the requirements for recertification specified in regulations adopted pursuant to section 19a- 179, as such 
recertification regulations may be from time to time amended; (2) if such certification expired more than one year but 
less than three years from the date of application for reinstatement, such person shall complete the training required for 
recertification and the examination required for initial certification specified in regulations adopted pursuant to section 
19a-179, as such training and examination regulations may be from time to time amended; or (3) if such certification 
expired three or more years from the date of application for reinstatement, such person shall complete the requirements 
for initial certification specified in regulations adopted pursuant to section 19a-179, as such initial certification regulations 
may be from time to time amended. 
(b) Any certificate issued pursuant to this chapter and the regulations adopted pursuant to section 19a-179 which expires 
on or after January 1, 2001, shall remain valid for ninety days after the expiration date of such certificate. Any such 
certificate shall become void upon the expiration of such ninety-day period. 
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Connecticut General Statutes 
Chapter 368d 

 
Sec. 19a-179. (Formerly Sec. 19-73aa). Regulations. Issuance of certificate for certain applicants. 
Application for renewal or reinstatement by certain applicants. Definitions. (a) The commissioner shall 
adopt regulations, in accordance with chapter 54, concerning (1) the methods and conditions for the issuance, 
renewal and reinstatement of licensure and certification or recertification of emergency medical service 
personnel, (2) the methods and conditions for licensure and certification of the operations, facilities and 
equipment enumerated in section 19a-177, and (3) complaint procedures for the public and any emergency 
medical service organization. Such regulations shall be in conformity with the policies and standards 
established by the commissioner. Such regulations shall require that, as an express condition of the purchase of 
any business holding a primary service area, the purchaser shall agree to abide by any performance standards to 
which the purchased business was obligated pursuant to its agreement with the municipality. 
 

(b) The commissioner may issue an emergency medical technician certificate to an applicant who presents 
evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the applicant (1) is currently certified as an emergency medical 
technician in good standing in any New England state, New York or New Jersey, (2) has completed an initial 
training program consistent with the United States Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic 
Safety Administration emergency medical technician curriculum, and (3) has no pending disciplinary action or 
unresolved complaint against him or her. 
 

(c) The commissioner may issue a temporary emergency medical technician certificate to an applicant who 
presents evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that (1) the applicant was certified by the department as an 
emergency medical technician prior to becoming licensed as a paramedic pursuant to section 20-206ll, and (2) 
the applicant's certification as an emergency medical technician has expired and the applicant's license as a 
paramedic has become void pursuant to section 19a-88. Such temporary certificate shall be valid for a period 
not to exceed one year and shall not be renewable. 
 

(d) An applicant who is issued a temporary emergency medical technician certificate pursuant to 
subsection (c) of this section may, prior to the expiration of such temporary certificate, apply to the department 
for: 
 

1) Renewal of such person's paramedic license, giving such person's name in full, such person's 
residence and business address and such other information as the department requests, provided the application 
for license renewal is accompanied by evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the applicant was under 
the medical oversight of a sponsor hospital on the date the applicant's paramedic license became void for 
nonrenewal; or 
 

2) Recertification as an emergency medical technician, provided the application for recertification is 
accompanied by evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the applicant completed emergency medical 
technician refresher training approved by the commissioner not later than one year after issuance of the 
temporary emergency medical technician certificate. The department shall recertify such person as an 
emergency medical technician without the examination required for initial certification specified in regulations 
adopted by the commissioner pursuant to this section. 
 

(e) For purposes of subsection (d) of this section, "medical oversight" means the active surveillance by 
physicians of mobile intensive care sufficient for the assessment of overall practice levels, as defined by state-
wide protocols, and "sponsor hospital" means a hospital that has agreed to maintain staff for the provision of 
medical oversight, supervision and direction to an emergency medical service organization, as defined in 
section 19a-175, and its personnel and has been approved for such activity by the Office of Emergency Medical 
Services. 
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Connecticut General Statutes 
Chapter 368a 

 
Sec. 19a-88. Annual renewal of licenses by certain health practitioners.   
 
(e) Each person holding a license or certificate issued under section 19a- 514 and chapters 370 to 373, inclusive, 
375, 378 to 381a, inclusive, 383 to 388, inclusive, 393a, 395, 398, 399 or 400a and section 20-206n or 20-206o 
shall, annually, during the month of his birth, apply for renewal of such license or certificate to the Department 
of Public Health, giving his name in full, his residence and business address and such other information as the 
department requests. Each person holding a license or certificate issued pursuant to section 20-475 or 20-476 
shall, annually, during the month of his birth apply for renewal of such license or certificate to the department. 
Each entity holding a license issued pursuant to section 20-475 shall, annually, during the anniversary month of 
initial licensure, apply for renewal of such license or certificate to the department.  
 
(f) Any person or entity which fails to comply with the provisions of this section shall be notified by the 
department that his license or certificate shall become void ninety days after the time for its renewal under this 
section unless it is so renewed.  Any such license shall become void upon the expiration of such ninety-day 
period.  
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