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On July 13, 2011 Governor Dannel P, Malloy signed into law modifications to Section 25-32(n} of the
Connecticut General Statutes (see enclosed), which reqguire the payment of a fee for initial and renewal water
operator certification applications for all individuals. The fees cover the cost of eligibility determination and
related administrative functions. Note the below summary of required application fees based on the
certification type:

Certification Type Initial Application Fee*' | Renewal Application Fee*'
Class I, 1, Il or IV Water Treatment $224** %98
Plant Operator

Class |, I, or lll Distribution System Operator $224*° $98
Class 1, I, Ill, or IV Water Treatment $224** $98
Plant Operator-in-Training {OIT)

Class |, I, or IHl Distribution System OIT $224*° $98
Small Water System Operator $224*° $98
Limited Distribution System Operafor Not applicable %98
Limited Water Treatment Plant Operator Not applicable 598
Conditional Smalt Water System Operator Not applicable $98
Conditional Distribution System Operator Not applicabie $98
Conditional Water Treatmeni Plant Operator Not applicable $98
Backflow Pravention Device Tester $154 569
Cross Connection Survey Inspector $154 $69

o1 = Only checks (personal, cerfified check or money order) made out to the "TREASURER, STATE OF
CONNECTICUT” in United States dollars will be accepted.

2 = Applies to certification via Examination, “OIT to Full” or Reciprocity
For examination applications an additional "exam packet fee” of forty one dollars ($41), made
payabie to the "Association of Boards of Certification” or “ABC” (personal, certified check or
money order), is required to be submitted with the application.

General Policies and Procedures: .

These fees will now be required upon filing of an initial or renewal application for certification. Current
certified operators will not be required fo submit the initial certification fee. The full renewal fee is required
regardiess of the date of initial cerlification and the renewal date.

Applications fees cannot be refunded even if the applicant is found ineligible. Clarification of this requirement
is as follows:
-if an examination application fails to provide all of the required information, an additional application
fee is not required for re-stibmission, as long as the re-submission is postmarked or hand delivered
on or before the application deadiine.
{f the DPH rejects an initial “OIT to Full” or Reciprocity application, an additional fee is required for
each re-application.
-if the DPH determines that a renewal application is insufficient, an additional fee is not required for
re-submission, as long as the re-submission is received (postmarked or hand delivered)} no later than
& months following certification expiration date.

Encl.: Section 25-32(n) of the Connecticut General Statutes
Cc: Ellen Blaschinski, Branch Chief, Regulatory Services, CT DPH
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Section 25-32(n) of the Connecticut General Statuteé, the following is substituted in lieu thereof
(Effective July 1, 2011):

(3) The commissioner may issue an initial certificate to perform a function set forth in subdivision (1) of
this subsection upon receipt of a completed application, in a form prescribed by the commissioner,
together with an application fee as foilows: (A) For a water freatment plant, water distribution system or
small water system operator certificate, two hundred twenty-four dollars; (B) for a backflow prevention
device tester certificate, one hundred fifty-four dollars; and (C) for a cross-connection survey inspector
certificate, one hundred fifty-four dollars. A certificate issued pursuant to this subdivision shall expire
three years from the date of issuance unless renewed by the ceriificate holder prior to such expiration
date. The commissioner may renew a ceriificate for an additional three years upon receipt of a
completed renewal application, in a form prescribed by the commissioner, toaether with a renewal
application fee as follows: (i) For a water freatment plant, water distribution system or small water
system operator certificate, ninety-eight dollars: (i) for a backflow prevention device tester certificate.
sixty-nine dollars; and {iii) for a cross-connection survey inspector certificate, sixty-nine dollars.
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