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Consultation Services

Licensure and Training Requirements for Persons Engaged In Asbestos

Abatement And Consultation Services

19a-332e-1. Definitions. As used in sections 19a-332e-1 through 19a-332e2
of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies

(1) "Asbestos-containing material” or "ACM" means material composed of asbestos
of any type and in an amount greater than one percent by weight, either alone or
mixed with other fibrous or nonfibrous material.

(2) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Department of Public Health.
€)) "Department” means the Department of Public Health.
4) "Local Education Agency" or "LEA" means:

(A) Any local educational agency as defined in Section 198 of the

Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, 20 U.S.C. § 3381, as
amended from time to time;

(B) the owner of any nonpublic, nonprofit elementary, or secondary school
building; or

© the governing authority of any school operated under the defense
dependents' education system provided for under the Defense
Dependents' Education Act of 1978, 20 U.S.C. § 921, et seq., as
amended from time to time.

(5) "Person” means any individual, corporation, partnership, firm, association, sole
proprietorship, the State of Connecticut or any of its political subdivisions, or any
other entity except an LEA as defined in subsection (4) of this section.

(Effective June 4, 1999.)

19a-332e-2. Assessment of civil penalties

(@)

(b)

()

(d)

(e)

Establishment of civil penalty. In setting a civil penalty in a particular case the
commissioner shall consider all factors which he deems relevant, including but not limited
to those listed in subsection (b) of section 19a-332e of the Connecticut General Statutes.
Explanation of assessment. When the commissioner imposes a civil penalty under
subsection (a) of section 19a-332e of the Connecticut General Statutes, the
commissioner shall provide a written explanation of the methodology employed and a
written summary of calculations used to determine a particular assessment upon written
request by the affected person.

Calculation of assessment. The total penalty assessed shall be calculated by adding all
the applicable penalties specified in section 19a-332e-2(a) of the Regulations of
Connecticut State Agencies.

Record of mitigation. The department shall maintain a written record of each instance in
which the commissioner mitigates a civil penalty pursuant to subsections (b) and (e) of
Section 19a-332e of the Connecticut General Statutes. The record shall include the name
and address of the person, the violation(s), the amount of the civil penalty before and
after mitigation, and the reasons for mitigation.

Schedules of penalties.

(Effective June 4, 1999.)

TABLE A

Asbestos-Containing Materials in Schools

LEA

Other Person

Section 19a-333a-2

General Local Education

$50-$5000

X
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Responsibilities

Section 19a-333a-3 Inspections and Reinspections $50-$5000 $50-$25000
Section 19a-333a-4 Sampling $50-$1000 $50-$2000
Section 19a-333a-5 Analysis $50-$1000 $50-$1000
Section 19a-333a-6 Assessment $50-$1000 $50-$1000
Section 19a-333a-7 Response Action $50-$5000 $50-$25000
Section 19a-333a-8 Operations and Maintenance $50-$1000 $50-$1000
Section 19a-333a-9 Training and Periodic Surveillance $50-$2500 $100-$10000
Section 19a-333a-10 Management Plans $50-$5000 $50-$25000
Section 19a-333a-11 Recordkeeping $50-$1000 $50-$2000
Section 19a-333a-12 Warning Labels $50-$1000 $50-$1000
Section 19a-333a-13 Exclusions $50-$5000 $50-$25000

TABLE B

Standards for Asbestos Abatement

LEA Other Person
Section 19a-332a-3 Notification of Asbestos Abatement $50-$1000 $50-$2000
Section 19a-332a-4 Recordkeeping $50-$1000 $50-$2000
Section 19a-332a-5 General Requirements for Asbestos $50-$5000 $50-$25000
Abatement Projects
Section 19a-332a-6 Worker Decontamination System for | $100-$2500 $100-$10000
Asbestos Abatement Projects
Section 19a-332a-7 Specific Requirements for Asbestos | $50-$1000 $50-$2000
Removal
Section 19a-332a-8 Specific Requirements for $50-$1000 $50-$2000
Encapsulation
Section 19a-332a-9 Specific Requirements for Enclosure | $50-$1000 $50-$2000
Section 19a-332a-10 Specific Requirements for Spot $50-$1000 $50-$2000
Repairs
Section 19a-332a-11 Alternative Work Practices $50-$5000 $50-$25000
Section 19a-332a-12 Post Abatement Reoccupancy $50-$5000 $50-$25000
Criteria for Asbestos Abatement
Projects for Friable Asbestos-
Containing Material
Section 19a-332a-14 Inspection for Asbestos Abatement $500-$5000 $1000-$25000
Projects
Section 19a-332a-15 Order to Cease Activity $500-$5000 $1000-$25000

Current with materials published in Connecticut Law Journal through 09/01/2009

2




Department of Public Health

19a.46

Licensure and Training Requirements for Persons Engaged In Asbestos Abatement And

Consultation Services

TABLEC

Licensure and Training Requirements for Persons Engaged in Asbestos Abatement and

Consultation Services

LEA Other Person
Section 20-440-2 Licensure of Asbestos Contractors $100-$2500 $100-$10000
Section 20-440-3 Licensure of Asbestos Consultants $100-$2500 $100-$10000
Section 20-440-4 Application for Licensure and $100-$2500 $100-$10000
Certification as an Asbestos
Consultant
Section 20-440-5 Certification and Employment as an $100-$2500 $100-$10000
Asbestos Abatement Site Supervisor
or as an Asbestos Abatement Worker
Section 20-440-7 Training Requirements $100-$2500 $100-$10000
Section 20-440-8 Training Provider Administrative $50-$1000 $50-$2000
Tasks and Certification
Requirements
Section 20-440-9 Recordkeeping $50-$1000 $50-$2000
Section 20-441 Refresher Training $50-$1000 $50-$2000
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