DPH: State Vital Records Office - Birth Certificates

State Vital Records Office - Birth Certificates

Who Can Request a Certified Copy of a Birth Certificate?
How Do I Request a Birth Certificate?
How Much Does a Certified Copy of a Birth Certificate Cost?
Application to Request a Birth Certificate

Who Can Request a Certified Copy of a Birth Certificate?

If you wish to request a copy of a vital record from the state, please note the State of CT has a turnaround time of approximately six (6) to eight (8) weeks for requests for birth, death, fetal death, marriage and civil union certificates that are received through the mail. 

For a quicker turnaround time you may direct your request to the town where the event occurred.  For a town address listing and telephone numbers, click on the following link for the  Connecticut Town Vital Records Directory.
 
Expedited service is also available for an additional fee for requests ordered on-line via VitalChek.
VitalChek is the only third party vendor approved by CT DPH to accept vital record orders.

Connecticut birth records that are less than 100 years old are not open to the general public.  To be eligible to receive a copy of a birth certificate, you must be able to document that you are related to the registrant in one of the following ways:

Birth records less than 100 years old

  • You are the registrant, and you are 18 years of age or older
  • You are the parent, guardian, grandparent, or spouse of the registrant
  • You are the child or grandchild of the registrant, and you are 18 years of age or older
  • You are an attorney-at-law representing the registrant or the registrant’s parent, guardian, child, or surviving spouse
  • You are a state or federal agency employee and have an authorized release from the registrant who is 18 years of age or older
  • You are the Local Director of Health of the town/city where the birth occurred or where the mother was a resident at the time of the birth
  • You are the chief elected official of the town/ city where the birth occurred
  • You are a member of an incorporated genealogical society authorized to conduct business in the State of Connecticut (please visit the CSL History and Genealogy Unit website for more information)
Birth records more than 100 years old:
  • Available to any person over 18 years of age
 

 

How Do I Request A Birth Certificate?                                    

Connecticut law restricts access to birth records, so you must first verify that you are eligible to receive the certificate that you are requesting.  (See above “Who can request a certified copy of a birth certificate”)

If you are eligible to receive the certificate, you may request it either by mail, online via VitalChek, (the only third party vendor approved by CT DPH to accept vital record orders) or in person.  Complete the Application to Request a Birth Certificate available on this site and send it to the vital records office of the town or city where the birth occurred, where the mother resided at the time of the birth, or to the State Vital Records Office.  See the Town Vital Records Directory.  

Requesters must provide a copy of photographic identification (do not submit originals) with their application to prove they are eligible to receive a copy of the birth certificate.  Acceptable forms of identification are: 

1.  a valid, government issued photographic identification that includes the person’s or requester’s date of birth, signature, and an expiration date.

If a photographic identification is not available, copies of two (2) of the following documents can be substituted for it:

2.   social security card;
3.   social security card supplemented with either an employment identification card, a paycheck stub or a W-2 form. Providing the documents in this subdivision fully satisfies the identification requirements of this section;
4.   automobile registration;
5.   copy of utility bill showing name and current address;
6.   checking account deposit slip or bank statement stating name and current address;
7.   voter registration card;
8.   valid government issued trade or professional license;
9.   valid government issued firearm permit;
10.  probation documents issued by a court or other government agency, pursuant to a criminal conviction;
11.   letter from a government agency verifying identity. The letter shall be dated within six months prior to the date of the request;
12.   release documentation from a correctional institution containing a photograph of the former inmate and a release date within 12 months prior to the date of the request;
13.   birth certificate of the requester;
14.   military discharge papers;
15.   current school or college photographic identification; or
16.   government issued photographic identification that has expired within 12 months prior to the date of the request.

If you are requesting a birth certificate for someone other than yourself or your child, you will need to submit proof verifying your relationship to the person whose birth certificate you are requesting.  For example:
  • If you are requesting the birth certificate of your parent, you must submit a copy of your own birth certificate in order to prove the parent/ child relationship. 
  • If you have had your name legally changed by a court decree and your birth certificate does not reflect your new name, you must submit a copy of the court order verifying the legal name change.
If the State or Town Vital Records office has reason to doubt the authenticity of a document presented, the requester may be asked to provide any additional document listed above.

See Regulations for Connecticut State Agencies 19a-41-2.

To request a copy of a Certificate of Fetal Death, please follow all procedures for requesting a Birth Certificate.





Content Last Modified on 6/23/2014 10:44:34 AM