Barber or Hairdresser School Approval, Change of Location/Ownership
Pursuant to Section 64 of Public Act 13-208 (effective July 1, 2013) all new
barber/hairdresser schools must obtain a certificate of authorization from the
Office of Higher Education and the Connecticut Board of Examiners for Hairdressers, Barbers and Cosmeticians prior to offering instruction to students intending to sit for the licensure
examination and receiving a license as a barber or
hairdresser. Vocational Technical Schools and programs offered
through the Department of Corrections are exempt from this requirement.
A new school, a school that wants to
change its location or a school that is being sold, the owner shall notify the
Department of Public Health in writing of his/her intent at least 120 days prior
to the scheduled date on which the school proposes to begin instruction, move or
The barber school curriculum or hairdresser school curriculum
to be used in the school’s instructional program shall be submitted with the
letter of intent along with a list of instructors that includes their barber
and/or hairdresser license number(s) and documentation that each instructor is
at least 18 years of age, holds a high school diploma or equivalent, holds a
current license as a hairdresser or barber in good standing in Connecticut,
and has at least 2 years of licensed work experience as a barber or hairdresser
as appropriate to the type of school.
The Department will conduct a review of the
school’s curriculum. Results of the Department’s review will be reported
in writing to the school owner.
Upon a determination that the school’s
curriculum and instructors meets the requirements, the Department will schedule
an on-site inspection of the school to evaluate its sanitary condition in
accordance with Connecticut General Statutes Sections 20-241 and
will notify the school owner of the inspection date and time.
Copies of the following documents shall be
provided to the Department by the school prior to the on-site inspection:
- A hairdresser or barber curriculum (or both if applicable);
- Local fire marshal's inspection report;
- Floor plan;
- Admission application;
- School rules and regulations;
- Policies governing tuitions, fees, refunds
- School catalog;
- Files of any students to be enrolled in the
school, if applicable; and
- Affidavit of hours completed for any
transfer students to be enrolled in the school.
Please submit ALL required documents in PDF format by email directly to Frank.Manna@ct.gov.
Once all documents are on file and the
inspection has been completed, Department staff will present the results of
its review of the school to the Board at its next regularly scheduled
meeting. The Board’s approval or disapproval will be documented in the
Board minutes, along with the Department’s feedback to the Board on the
Department’s consent to the approval action.
Approval will be issued in writing by the
Department. An effective date of the school’s approval will be specified.
Content Last Modified on 3/24/2016 9:47:28 AM