DPH: Professional Liability Insurance Requirements

Professional Liability Insurance Requirements

Pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes, individuals licensed and providing direct patient care services, are required to maintain professional liability insurance or other indemnity against liability for professional malpractice.  The amount of such insurance or indemnity for claims against injury or death for professional malpractice must be not less than five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) for one person, per occurrence, with an aggregate of not less than one million five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000).  In the event that a licensee fails to maintain such insurance or indemnity coverage, the Connecticut State Dental Commission may restrict, suspend, revoke, limit the right to practice or take action in accordance with Section 19a-17, Connecticut General Statutes.





Content Last Modified on 1/5/2016 11:22:16 AM