Any amount of alcohol will affect
driving ability. Alcohol’s effect is
magnified by emotions, physical
condition, use of prescription drugs or
other types of drugs, some over-the-
counter medications and some herbal
supplements.

BAC AND AREAS OF
IMPAIRMENT
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THE
FACTS
ARE...

Driving is a privilege, and under
Connecticut’s IMPLIED CONSENT
LLAW any person who operates a
motor vehicle is presumed to have
given his or her consent to a test to
determine blood alcohol content
(BAC).

You are legally intoxicated if your
BAC is .08 or above. If you are
under 21 years of age, you are
legally intoxicated at a .02 BAC or
higher.

Connecticut has enacted strong
new measures to combat drunk
driving. Stiff penalties, including
mandatory sentencing and strict
enforcement of our laws send a
clear message:

Driving under the
influence will not
be tolerated on
Connecticut’s roadways.

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
(DUI)

In Connecticut, operating a motor
vehicle while under the influence
of alcohol and/or drugs is a
criminal offense. This offense may
be prosecuted with or without any
direct evidence of a person’s blood
alcohol content (BAC). The
determining factor is whether a
person’s ability to drive has been
impaired.

IF YOU ARE ARRESTED FOR DUI:

* You will be detained by the police
and read your rights.

¢ Your vehicle will be towed at
your expense.

® You will be taken in a police
cruiser to the police station.

* You will be asked to submit to a
blood, breath or urine test. If you
refuse, the refusal will be
admissible as evidence in your
criminal prosecution for
operating under the influence.

e [f you consent to testing, you will
be given two tests at least ten
minutes apart.

e [f you refuse the test or if the test
results show an elevated BAC,
you will be subject to criminal
and administrative sanctions.

* You will be kept in a police lock-
up until you are bailed out.



TWO WAYS TO LOSE YOUR LICENSE:
There are two laws to protect the citizens of Connecticut from the impaired driver:
e DRIVER’S LICENSE SANCTIONS e CRIMINAL PENALTIES

The DRIVER’S LICENSE SANCTIONS (license suspension periods) outlined below have been revised
recently and will be imposed IN ADDITION TO CRIMINAL PENALTIES. In most cases, the driver’s license
sanctions will be imposed much earlier. IN ALL CASES, they will be imposed in addition to criminal
penalties and will appear on your driving record.

ADMINISTRATIVE SANCTIONS

Blood Alcohol Level First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

Driver’s 16 and 17-Years-Old

Refusal to submit to a
blood, breath or urine test 18 months 3 year 6 years

Test results of .02 or higher; up to,
but not including .16 1 year 2 years 4 years

Test results of .16 or higher 1 year 30 months 5 years

Driver’s Between the Ages 18 to 20

Refusal to submit to a
blood, breath or urine test 1 year 2 year 6 years

Test results of .02 or higher; up to,
but not including .16 6 months 18 months 4 years

Test results of .16 or higher 240 days 20 months 5 years

Driver’s 21 Years Old and Older

Refusal to submit to a
blood, breath or urine test 6 months 1 year 3 years

Test results of .08 or higher; up to,
but not including .16 90 days 9 months 2 years

Test results of .16 or higher 120 days 10 months 2 1/2 years

CRIMINAL LAW#*#*

Under Connecticut’s criminal law, the driver arrested for DUI will receive both a summons and a court date.
If the court proceedings result in a convietion, the following penalties must be imposed:

Second Offense Within Third Offense
First Offi Connecticut or Out-Of-State . -
1rs ense (within 10 years of last conviction) (within 10 years of last conviction)

Fine: $500 to $1,000 $1,000 to $4,000 $2.000 to $8,000

Jail:  Mandatory 48 hours of a

. . Mandatory 1 year of a maximun 3
maximum 6 month sentence; or 6 | Mandatory 120 days of a maximin 2 year sentence YLy

year sentence and 100 hours of

months suspended with 100 hours and 100 hours of community service. L

of community service. community service.
License If the arrest was in CT, the suspension is 1 year Permanent Revocation
Suspension:  One year followed by 24 months with an approved (The person may request a hearing

ignition interlock device. after at least 6 years after the date of

Suspension is 3 years for arrest that did not revocation)
occur in CT.

If operator is under 21 years of age. suspension is 3
years or until the time operator is 21 years of age
(whichever is longer)




PARTNERS IN PREVENTION

Department of Transportation
Highway Safety Office
2800 Berlin Turnpike

P.O. Box 317546
Newington, CT 06131-7546
Phone (860) 594-2364
Fax (860) 594-2374

Dianne Harnad, MSW Office of the Chief State’s Attorney
Director of Prevention Services Division of Criminal Justice
Department of Mental Health Phone (860) 258-5800

& Addiction Services Fax (860) 258-5358

410 Capitol Avenue, MS14PIT
Hartford, C'T 06134

Phone (860) 418-6827

Fax (860) 418-6792

Dianne.harnad@po.state.ct.us

State of Connecticut website: www.ct.gov

SUPPORTING AGENCIES INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING:
* Office of Policy and Management (OPM)
* Department of Public Safety-Division of State Police
* Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)

* Connecticut’s Court Support Services-Division of the Judicial Branch
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