
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 
 

Notice of Intent to Amend Regulations 
 

The Commissioner of Transportation, pursuant to Sections 4-168 and 15-14 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes, herby gives notice of his intent to amend regulations concerning the “Rates of 
Pilotage”. 
 
All interested persons are invited to submit written views and arguments in connection with the 
proposed action within thirty (30) days following the publication of this notice to Ralph J. 
Carpenter, Commissioner of Transportation, 2800 Berlin Turnpike, Newington, CT 06131, 
Attention: Pamela P. Sucato. 
 
The proposed amendments are set forth as follows: 
 

Rates of Pilotage 
 

Section 1. Section 15-14-1a of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies is amended to 
read a follows: 
  
Sec. 15-14-1a.  Rates of Pilotage 
 Pilotage rates for Connecticut harbors and the Thames River and waters of Long Island 
Sound shall be as follows: 
 
New Haven & Bridgeport Harbors 

Minimum charges (each way)        Effective Effective Effective 
      upon  July 20,  July 20, 
      passage  2008  2009 
25 through 49 pilotage units [$2.64]  $279.84  $296.63  $314.43 
50 through 99 pilotage units [$3.18]  $337.08  $357.30  $378.72 

 
      All vessels of 100 pilotage units and over shall pay [two dollars and ninety-five cents ($2.95)] 
three dollars and thirteen cents ($3.13) effective upon passage, three dollars and thirty-two cents 
($3.32) on July 20, 2008 and three dollars and fifty-two cents ($3.52) on July 20, 2009 per 
pilotage unit with a maximum of [$1,035.00] $1,097.10,  $1,162.93 and  $1,232.71 respectively. 
 
New London Harbor 
    Minimum charges (each way)            Effective Effective Effective 
      upon  July 20,  July 20, 
      passage  2008  2009 
    25 through 49 pilotage units [$2.15]  $227.90  $241.57  $256.06 
    50 through 99 pilotage units [$2.69]  $285.14  $302.25  $320.39  
 
    All vessels of 100 pilotage units and over shall pay [two dollars and sixty-five cents ($2.65)] 
two dollars and eighty-one cents ($2.81) effective upon passage, two dollars and ninety-eight 
cents ($2.98) on July 20, 2008 and three dollars and sixteen cents ($3.16) on July 20, 2009 per 
pilotage unit with a maximum of [$1,015.00]   $1,075.90, $1,140.45 and $1,208.88 respectively. 
 



Thames River 
    Minimum charges (each way)          Effective Effective Effective 
      upon  July 20,  July 20, 
      passage  2008  2009  
   25 through 49 pilotage units [$2.50]  $265.00  $280.90  $297.75 
   50 through 99 pilotage units [$3.00]    $318.00  $337.08  $357.30 
 
   All vessels of 100 pilotage units and over shall pay [two dollars and eighty-five cents ($2.85)]  
three dollars and two cents ($3.02) effective upon passage, three dollars and twenty cents ($3.20) 
on July 20, 2008  and three dollars and thirty-nine cents ($3.39) on July 20, 2009 per pilotage unit 
with a maximum of [$1,025.00] $1.086.50, $1,151.69 and $1,220.79 respectively. 
 
Connecticut waters of Long Island Sound 
 
 All vessels shall pay [five dollars and thirty cents ($5.30)] seven dollars ($7.00) effective 
upon passage, seven dollars and forty-two cents ($7.42) on July 20, 2008 and seven dollars and 
eighty-seven cents ($7.87) on July 20, 2009  per pilotage unit with a minimum of [one hundred 
(100)] one hundred fifty (150) units and not to exceed a maximum of [four hundred fifty (450)] 
six hundred (600) units with a maximum of [$2,385.00] $4,200.00 the first year, $4,452.00 the 
second year and $4,722.00 the third year respectively. 
   
(New) Docking and Undocking Fees 
 
   All vessels shall pay a docking/undocking fee of one dollar ($1.00) per unit with a minimum fee 
of two hundred dollars ($200.00) to be paid by any vessel under two hundred (200) units. 
 
(New) Additional Fees 
 

The following additional fees shall be imposed as appropriate: 
 

A fee of one hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) for each hour of pilotage in excess of eight (8) 
hours for tows only. 
 

A fee of one hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) for each hour of detention aboard a vessel at 
platforms or at anchor. 
 

A fee of one hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00) for each hour in excess of one hour (1) if a 
vessel arrives or departs late unless a four hour (4) notice of a change to the time of arrival or 
departure is provided to the Administrator as defined in Section 15-15a-6 of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies. 
 

A cancellation fee of five hundred dollars ($500.00) unless a four hour (4) notice is provided to 
the Administrator as defined in Section 15-15a-6 of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies. 
 

A fee of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) for the first day, five hundred dollars ($500.00) for 
each additional day and the cost of return first class travel expenses should a pilot be carried 
away. 
 
 



Section 2. Section 15-14-3 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies is amended to read 
as follows: 
 
Sec.15-14-3. Definitions 
 (1) “Overall Length” is the distance between the forward and after extremities of the 
vessel. 
 (2) “Extreme Breadth” is the maximum breadth to the outside shell plating of the vessel.  
 (3) “Depth” is the vertical distance at amidships from the top of the keel plate to the 
uppermost continuous deck, fore and aft, and which extends to the sides of the vessel. The 
continuity of the deck shall not be considered to be affected by the existence of tonnage openings, 
engine spaces, or a step in the deck. 
 (4)  All measurements shall be in feet and inches (U.S.). 
 (5) The measurements of the overall length, extreme breadth, and depth as previously 
defined shall be made available to the pilot by the master or his agent for the computation of the 
pilotage fees. Failure to provide the measurements so required shall subject the vessel the 
maximum pilotage charge. 
 (New) (6)  “Pilotage” means the transit from or to the designated pilot boarding station 
through the waters of Block Island and Long Island Sound and the waters of Connecticut and 
New York to or from the Connecticut and New York ports of Long Island Sound. 
 (New) (7)   “Pilotage fees” are those charges for the services of a licensed marine pilot 
through pilotage waters excluding docking, undocking and additional fees described in Sec. 15-
14-1a of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies.  
 
Purpose: To update and increase current marine pilotage rates and define certain terms used in its 
implementation. 
   


