
STATE OF CONNECTICUT

DEPARTMENT OF BANKING

CONSUMER CREDIT DIVISION

260 CONSTITUTION PLAZA, HARTFORD, CT 06103-1800

General Instructions

1. There must be a separate application and license fee for each place of business required to be licensed pursuant to 

Chapter 668, Part V of the Connecticut General Statutes.

2. In the event space provided for answers is inadequate, additional sheets should be attached and should identify the 

Applicant and the specific item on the application to which the answer relates.

The check must be made payable to "Treasurer, State of Connecticut."  All fees are non-refundable

6. Licenses expire at the close of business on September 30th of each odd year, unless renewed. 

5. License/Investigation fee:

Application filed between 10/1/2013 and 9/30/2014

7. The application and related material must be mailed to:

Connecticut Department of Banking

Consumer Credit Division

260 Constitution Plaza

Hartford, CT 06103-1800

3. Any change to information submitted in writing with application must be reported in writing no later than 15 days after 

the applicant or licensee has reason to know of such change.

continued on the next page

Application filed between 10/1/2014 and 9/30/2015

$2,875

CHECKLIST FOR MONEY TRANSMISSION LICENSE

$1,875

4. Be advised that changes described in section 36a-598(e)(1) through (e)(7) of Connecticut General Statute as 

amended by Public Act 13-253 must report no later than one business day.  After the licensee has reason to know of 

the occurance of the described activity.
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continued on the next page

4. WEB ADDRESSES.  Provide the full web address(es) of the Applicant and any separate websites for any other 

names identified in Other Business Names. Include any and all websites through which the Applicant solicits

customers. 

5. CONTACT EMPLOYEE INFORMATION.  Identify a single Contact Employee who will be the person this department 

should contact about the company’s license information. This individual must be authorized to receive all compliance 

and licensing information, communications and mailings and be responsible for disseminating it within the Applicant’s 

organization. It is very important that if this information changes you update the department immediately as all future 

communication, including renewal applications, will be done electronically. 

Application Instructions

2. IDENTIFYING INFORMATION.  Applicant Name should be the full legal name as organized in the Applicant 's 

domestic state and found in incorporating documents.  Applicant is the entity applying for a license. The only instance 

in which the Applicant is an individual is in the case of a sole proprietorship . If the Applicant is a sole proprietor, use 

the Applicant's Last, First and Middle names and suffix (“Jr”, “III”, etc.) if any. Please use the physical address of the 

location , not a post office box or other mailing address.

3. OTHER BUSINESS NAMES.  List any other name(s) by which the Applicant conducts or will conduct business in

Connecticut  (i.e., trade name, fictitious name, or “doing business as” name). The name(s) should be listed exactly as 

used in advertising, documents, etc. 

10. INDIRECT OWNERS. If the Applicant is owned by another entity such as a corporation , limited liability company, 

partnership, or a trust, identify all such entities in the Applicant’s chain of ownership on an organizational chart .  If the 

direct owner is a corporation, list the name and address of any stockholder owning 25% or more of the outstanding 

stock in the corporation. If the direct owner is a partnership or limited liability company, list each partner or member 

with 25% or more ownership. In the case of a direct owner that is a trust, list each trustee with 25% or more 

ownership. Once a public reporting company or a natural person is reached, no ownership information further up the 

chain of ownership need be given. 

9. DIRECT OWNERS.  If the Applicant is a corporation, list the name and address of any stockholder owning 10% or 

more of the outstanding stock of the corporation. If the Applicant is a partnership or LLC, list the percentage of 

ownership of each partner or member. In the case of an owner that is a trust, the trust and each trustee.

8. CONTROL PERSONS. Provide the full name, title, and residential address of all individuals (natural persons) that 

directly or indirectly exercise control over the Applicant , including principal officers, members, partners, trustees, etc. 

The intent is to capture the Applicant's leadership, and not to rely solely on the title of the individual.

6. CONSUMER COMPLAINT EMPLOYEE INFORMATION.  Identify a single Consumer Complaint Employee 

authorized to receive and respond to consumer complaints.

7. BOOKS AND RECORDS INFORMATION. List the physical address where books and records are stored. Provide 

the name and title of the individual at such location that should be contacted with inquiries about or to gain access to 

the storage location. 

1. ACTIVITIES TYPE. Please check the appropriate box or boxes. Please refer to definitions  posted on the website 

under “Who needs a license?"

11. PERMISSIBLE INVESTMENTS. Submit a list of the applicant’s permissible investments, and the book and market    

values of such investments:

a) as of the most recent fiscal year end of the financial statement filed in accordance with 

Section 36a-598(a)(6) of the C.G.S., as amended by Public Act 13-253.

b) as of a date no earlier than thirty business days prior to the filing of the application.

12. OUTSTANDING TRANSMISSIONS. Provide the total dollar amount of the Applicant’s outstanding instruments and 

the transmissions in the State of Connecticut and in the USA:

a) as of the most recent fiscal year end of the financial statement filed in accordance with 

      Section 36a-598(a)(6) of the C.G.S., as amended by Public Act 13-253.

b) as of the date no earlier than thirty business days prior to the filing of the application.
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Attachments

FORMATION DOCUMENTATION.  Copy of:

Articles of Incorporation (if a corporation), 

Articles of Organization (if a limited liability company), 

Partnership Agreement (if a partnership of any form), 

Trust Agreement (if a trust), etc.

BOND.  Surety bond in the amount of $300,000, $500,000 or $1,000,000. The 

bond shall be in the principal sum.  Please refer to the Bond Calculation Form 

included with this application to determine the correct amount. Bond must include 

complete address of the office being licensed; not a post office box or other mailing 

address. 

DISCLOSURE QUESTIONS.  Explanation, in writing, detailing all events or 

proceedings for each “Yes” answer in response to the Disclosure Questions . 

Copies of court documents pertaining to each arrest, indictment and/or conviction 

must be provided. Copies of any applicable order and/or consent agreement must 

be attached. 

INDIRECT OWNERS.  Copy of an organizational chart.

PERSONAL AND BUSINESS HISTORY STATEMENT.  Form is required for all 

Control Persons and Direct Owners.

ATTACHED NOT

 APPLICABLE

ITEM

FEE.  Required fee as described in General Instructions. The check must be made 

payable to "Treasurer, State of Connecticut."

AUTHORITY TO DO BUSINESS IN CONNECTICUT.  If the Applicant was 

organized or formed outside of Connecticut, submit certified proof of authorization 

to do business in this state from the Connecticut Secretary of the State. Contact 

the Secretary of the State at (860)509-6001 or www.sots.ct.gov

continued on the next page

BOND CALCULATION FORM.

FINANCIAL STATEMENT. 

Applicant's audited financial statement for the most recent fiscal year end

• If applicant is a wholly-owned subsidiary of a corporation, (a) applicant's or 

parent corporation’s most recent audited consolidated annual financial 

statements and (b) applicant's audited unconsolidated annual financial 

statement, including balance sheet, receipts, and disbursements for the 

preceeding year

• If the applicant is a publically traded entity, the applicant's most recent 10K 

report filed with the SEC 

• If the applicant is a wholly-owned subsidiary of a publicly traded company, 

the parent company’s most recent 10-K report filed with the SEC

• If the applicant or parent of a wholly owned subsidiary is publicly traded on a 

foreign exchange, documents similar to the 10-K report filed with the 

appropriate securities regulator
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WHO TO CONTACT - Questions concerning this application may be directed to Maria Burgos at 860-240- 8211 

or via e-mail at maria.burgos@ct.gov 

YOU ARE NOT AUTHORIZED TO ENGAGE IN THE BUSINESS OF MONEY TRANSMISSION 

 UNTIL YOU HAVE OBTAINED LICENSURE IN CONNECTICUT 

ITEMATTACHED NOT

 APPLICABLE

AUTHORIZED DELEGATE LIST.  Submit the complete name and address of each 

of the Applicant’s branches, subsidiaries, affiliates and authorized delegate, if any, 

engaging in the business of money transmission.  Submit the list in Excel format.

MONEY SERVICES BUSINESSES. Please provide a copy of the letter 

acknowledging the Applicant’s registration as a Money Services Business (MSB)

with the U.S. Department of Treasury.

 

In 1999, the Secretary of the Treasury grouped certain non-bank financial

institutions for purposes of the Bank Secrecy Act (BSA). This category includes

businesses that provide check cashing, money transmission, money orders and

other services. As a check cashing operation, you are required to comply with the

BSA requirements applicable to financial institutions as well as the requirements

for MSBs. All MSBs are required to register with the U.S. Department of the

Treasury at the end of the 180-day period beginning on the day following the date

the business is established. For more information, please visit the following

websites: Connecticut Department of Banking at www.ct.gov/dob and Financial

Crimes Enforcement Network at www.fincen.gov

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCLOSE DEPOSIT INFORMATION.  This form should 

be completed for deposit accounts maintained: 

at financial institutions which are chartered under Connecticut laws or

in lieu of any part of the required bond.
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