
STATE OF CONNECTICUT

DEPARTMENT OF BANKING

CONSUMER CREDIT DIVISION

260 CONSTITUTION PLAZA, HARTFORD, CT 06103-1800

General Instructions

1. There must be a separate application and license fee for each place of business required to be licensed pursuant to 

Chapter 668, Part IV of the Connecticut General Statutes.

2. In the event space provided for answers is inadequate, additional sheets should be attached and should identify the 

applicant and the specific item on the application to which the answer relates.

The check must be made payable to "Treasurer, State of Connecticut."  All fees are NOT REFUNDABLE.

 

5. Licenses expire at the close of business on September 30th of each odd year, unless renewed. 

4. License fee for Branch Office:

Application filed between 10/1/2013 and 9/30/2014

6. The application and related material must be mailed to:

Connecticut Department of Banking

Consumer Credit Division

260 Constitution Plaza

Hartford, CT 06103-1800

3. Any change to information submitted in or with the application must be reported in writing immediately. Reporting 

should not be delayed until the time a license is renewed.

Application Instructions

2. IDENTIFYING INFORMATION.  Applicant Name should be the full legal name as organized in the Applicant 's 

domestic state and found in incorporating documents.  Applicant is the entity applying for a license. The only instance 

in which the Applicant is an individual is in the case of a sole proprietorship . If the Applicant is a sole proprietor, use 

the Applicant's Last, First and Middle names and suffix (“Jr”, “III”, etc.) if any. Branch Office Address should be the 

physical address location, not a post office box or other mailing address.  Be sure to provide proposed days and 

hours of operation

3. OTHER BUSINESS NAMES.  List any other name(s) by which the Applicant conducts or will conduct business in

Connecticut  (i.e., trade name, fictitious name, or “doing business as” name). The name(s) should be listed exactly as 

used in advertising, documents, etc. 

 CHECKLIST FOR CHECK CASHING LICENSE - BRANCH OFFICE

Application filed between 10/1/2014 and 9/30/2015

1. LICENSE TYPE. Please check the appropriate box. Please refer to definitions of the General Facility and Limited 

Facility posted on our website under “Who needs a license?"

continued on the next page

$1,100

$2,200

4. BOOKS AND RECORDS INFORMATION. List the physical address where books and records are stored. Provide 

the name and title of the individual at such location that should be contacted with inquiries about or to gain access to 

the storage location. 
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WHO TO CONTACT - Questions concerning this application may be directed to Maria Burgos at 860-240- 8211 

or via e-mail at maria.burgos@ct.gov 

Branch Office Attachments

YOU ARE NOT AUTHORIZED TO ENGAGE IN CHECK CASHING ACTIVITIES IN THE STATE OF 

CONNECTICUT UNTIL YOU HAVE OBTAINED LICENSURE IN CONNECTICUT 

PROPOSED FACILITY.  Copy of the lease allowing a check cashing facility to 

operate at the location. If the applicant owns the building, proof that zoning in the 

area allows a business to operate at the proposed address. Include description of 

the proposed facility; provide the square footage, layout, and the facility’s security 

features.

ATTACHED NOT

 APPLICABLE

ITEM

BUSINESS PLAN. Business Plan must include the description of:

Financial Projections - revenue, expenses and net income for first few years.

Competition - all financial institutions in the area including banks, credit unions 

and check cashing facilities.

Internal Controls for cash to assure compliance with the law and with the 

check casher’s policies and procedures. The accounting and controls for the 

check cashing operation should be separate from any other operations at the 

site.  For example, there should be a separate bank account and separate 

bookkeeping for check cashing operations and for other operations, such as 

pawn shop operations, etc.

SCHEDULE OF FEES.  Submit a schedule of all fees charged for each individual 

service offered, including fees for dishonored or returned items, or for membership 

or identification cards.

CONTRACT.  Copy of all executed contract evidencing the proposed arrangement 

between the applicant and employer (For Limited Facility only).

LIQUID ASSETS.  Proof of availability and continual maintenance of liquid assets 

of at least $10,000 for each proposed General Facility location and/or of at least 

$2,500 for each Limited Facility location (in the form of a bank statement). 

ACKNOWLEDGMENT.  A statement that the applicant has read, understands, and 

will comply with all state and federal check cashing and anti-money laundering 

laws. If the applicant employs others to work at the proposed facilities, then the 

applicant should describe the training of employees to comply with these laws. 

Enclose copies of training documents.

FEE. Required fee as described in General Instructions. The check must be made

payable to "Treasurer, State of Connecticut."
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