
STATE OF CONNECTICUT

DEPARTMENT OF BANKING

CONSUMER CREDIT DIVISION

260 CONSTITUTION PLAZA, HARTFORD, CT 06103-1800

General Instructions

2. In the event space provided for answers is inadequate, additional sheets should be attached and should identify the 

applicant and the specific item on the application.

The check must be made payable to "Treasurer, State of Connecticut." All fees are NOT REFUNDABLE.

 

5. Licenses expire at the close of business on September 30th of each odd year, unless renewed. 

4. License fee for Branch Office:

6. The application and related material must be mailed to:

Connecticut Department of Banking

Consumer Credit Division

260 Constitution Plaza

Hartford, CT 06103-1800

3. Any change to information submitted in or with the application must be reported in writing within 10 days. Reporting 

should not be delayed until the time a license is renewed.

continued on the next page

1. There must be a separate application, surety bond and license fee for each place of business required to be licensed 

pursuant to Chapter 669, Part XII of the Connecticut General Statutes.  Note, those engaged in debt buying only do 

not require a surety bond.

CHECKLIST FOR CONSUMER COLLECTION AGENCY LICENSE - BRANCH OFFICE

Application filed between 10/1/2013 and 9/30/2014

Application filed between 10/1/2014 and 9/30/2015

$900

$500
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WHO TO CONTACT - Questions concerning this application may be directed to Maria Burgos at 860-240- 8211 

or via e-mail at maria.burgos@ct.gov.

SURETY BOND.  An additional $25,000 surety bond is required per branch office 

location.  As an alternative, surety may provide a rider to the existing bond on file 

increasing the amount by an additional $25,000 and adding the address of the 

branch office being licensed. Rider must also include a list of all locations presently 

covered by the bond.  Be sure addresses on the rider are identical to addresses on 

CT licenses. Please include complete addresses - not post office boxes or other 

mailing addresses.  Those engaged in debt buying only do not require surety bond.

Branch Office Attachments

PERSONAL AND BUSINESS HISTORY STATEMENT. Form is required for 

Person in Charge of the Office.

ATTACHED NOT

 APPLICABLE

ITEM

FEE. Required fee as described in General Instructions. The check must be made 

payable to "Treasurer, State of Connecticut."

Application Instructions

1. IDENTIFYING INFORMATION.  Applicant Name should be the full legal name as organized in the Applicant 's 

domestic state and found in incorporating documents. Applicant is the entity applying for a license. The only instance 

in which the Applicant is an individual is in the case of a sole proprietorship . If the Applicant is a sole proprietor, use 

the Applicant's Last, First and Middle names and suffix (“Jr”, “III”, etc.) if any. Branch Office Address should be the 

physical address location, not a post office box or other mailing address.  Debtor Payment Mailing Address, if a 

P.O. Box or the address used for Debtor payments is different then branch office address .

2. OTHER BUSINESS NAMES.  List any other name(s) by which the Applicant conducts or will conduct business in

the state of Connecticut  (i.e., trade name, fictitious name, or “doing business as” name). The name(s) should be 

listed exactly as used in advertising, documents, etc. 

4. PERSON IN CHARGE OF THE OFFICE. Identify person with the supervisory authority over the day-to-day activities 

of the Branch Office.

3. BOOKS AND RECORDS INFORMATION. List the physical address where books and records are stored. Provide 

the name and title of the individual at this location that should be contacted with inquiries about or to gain access to the 

storage location. 

YOU ARE NOT AUTHORIZED TO ENGAGE IN CONSUMER COLLECTION AGENCY ACTIVITIES IN 

THE STATE OF CONNECTICUT UNTIL YOU HAVE OBTAINED LICENSURE IN CONNECTICUT 

FINANCIAL STATEMENT. 

Include a balance sheet and a statement of income and expense dated within 30 

days of the date of the application.

The balance sheet submitted must include the client's trust accounts information,

therefore please provide a line item in cash assets to reflect restricted funds held

on behalf of the client and a line item in liabilities to reflect “due clients” information.

An attestation form must be attached to the balance sheet and be sworn to before 

a notary public by a Control Person listed on the Main Office Application . 

DEBT BUYERS ONLY Statement of Acknowledgment.  Please complete if 

applicable.
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