DOB: Vehicle Loan

File a Sales Finance/Vehicle Loan Complaint


Department of Banking Retail Installment Financing Contract Complaint Notice: 

The Department pursues complaints about retail installment contracts, made in Connecticut on the purchase of a car and other consumer goods.  The holder of a retail installment contract is responsible for compliance with Connecticut Banking Law.


How do I submit a complaint?

File a complaint about a retail installment financing contract entered into in Connecticut with the Department of Banking using the Online Consumer Assistance Form:


    
     DOB Online Consumer Assistance Form    
 
 

Helpful Resources 

There are many more rights and protections for Connecticut residents concerning retail installment contracts, including the following:
  • Interest Rate Caps
     
    • Caps on interest rate charged on a sales finance contract to purchase a car:
       
      • New car = cap of 15% annual percentage rate (APR) on interest charged
      • Used model less than 2 years old = cap of 17% APR
      • Used model over 2years old = cap of 19% APR
         
    • Caps on interest rate charged on sale of consumer goods other than a car is 18%.
       
  • Ask CFPB: Auto Loans
     
  • Contact our Consumer Affairs Division to learn more.

_____________________________________

Questions?

By Telephone or Fax:

Telephone Direct: 860-240-8170
Toll-free: 1-800-831-7225, ext. 8170
Foreclosure Assistance Hotline:  1-877-472-8313

By Email:  banking.complaints@ct.gov

PLEASE NOTE:
This is an unsecured e-mail address for general questions.  Please do not include personal identifying information such as Social Security and/or account numbers, birth date, user ID, or passwords using this unsecured e-mail address.  To send a Secure Message log into the Online Assistance Form.