DOB: Year 2009 Legal Holidays in Connecticut

State Holidays and Furlough Days
in Year 2009
  {Desk Calendar}

Due to the Department of Banking’s amended Policy Concerning Holiday Openings and Closings, Connecticut banks and credit unions are no longer obligated to close on legal holidays (as set forth in Section 1-4 of the Connecticut General Statutes) but may, at their option, close or remain open for business on a full or partial basis on any day designated as a legal holiday. Connecticut banks and credit unions are required to give at least two weeks’ advance notice to their customers of holiday openings and closings by posting such notice in the lobby of each office.

Please contact your financial institution directly to determine whether or not it will open for business on a state holiday.

Legal holidays to be observed by the State of Connecticut in the year 2008 are:

Legal Holiday Day Observed
New Year’s Day Thursday, January 1, 2009
Martin Luther King's Day Monday, January 19, 2009
Lincoln's Birthday Thursday, February 12, 2009
Washington's Birthday Monday, February 16, 2009
Good Friday * Friday, April 10, 2009
Memorial Day Monday, May 25, 2009
Independence Day Friday, July 3, 2009
Labor Day Monday, September 7, 2009
Columbus Day Monday, October 12, 2009
Veterans' Day Wednesday, November 11, 2009
Thanksgiving Day ** Thursday, November 26, 2009
Christmas Day Friday, December 25, 2009
{ }
* The day which will be designated by the Governor as a day of Fasting and Prayer.
** The day which will be designated by the Governor as a day of Thanksgiving.
For 2010, the first holiday is New Year’s Day. This holiday will be observed on Friday, January 1, 2010.
 
Furlough Days
The Department of Banking will be closed on the following days:
Friday, May 22, 2009 
Monday, July 6, 2009
Friday, November 27, 2009
Thursday, December 24, 2009
 
Friday, July 2, 2010
Friday, November 26, 2010
Monday, December 27, 2010
These furlough days have been imposed as part of the state employee union concessions to address the current state budget deficit.

Consumer Assistance  |  2008 Holidays