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Introduction 
onnecticut in January, 2014, marked the 10th anniversary of adopting its first set 

of teen driving restrictions in its Graduated Driver Licensing law for 16 and 17 

year-olds. The last decade saw a re-make of the landscape in the ways that 

parents, teens, school officials, state policymakers and safety advocates confront issues with this 

young, vulnerable group of drivers killing and injuring themselves and others on the state’s roads 

and highways. It saw tremendous improvement as well as new challenges arising on the horizon. 

This report will discuss: 

 

 The 82-percent decrease since 2004 of 16- or 17-year-old driver deaths. 

 The 64-percent reduction in the deaths of 16- and 17-year-old drivers when comparing 

Connecticut before and after the adoption of restrictive teen driving laws. 

 How safety risks are developing for 18 and 19 year-olds who delayed getting a license 

and now possibly face increased chances of crashes, deaths and injuries. 

 How drivers on a 2-to-1 basis are more often killed or injured in crashes than passengers. 

 Reductions in police summonses, but no clear reasons for the downward trend. 

 Continued dangers of distracted driving for teens behind the wheel and in the vehicle.  

 A new Travelers survey showing parents are significant role models for younger drivers. 

  

Connecticut started its move into Graduated Driver Licensing on January 1, 1997, when the 

state instituted a learner's permit. Prior to that change, learner’s permits were not required for 

anyone. The new permit mandated various training requirements, including home training for six 

months or driver's education for four months prior to taking skills test for license. Yet, the permit 

and its training requirements alone did not reduce the significant number of injuries and deaths for 

16- and 17-year-old drivers. In 2003 the state legislature passed the first set of curfew and 

passenger restriction laws to become effective in January 2004. They stemmed in particular from 

a fiery crash in Glastonbury in two years earlier in which three seniors in high school as well as a 

38-year-old father of three in another vehicle were killed on a December evening on Hebron 

C 
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Avenue. That crash and its horrific elements, including a finding that the young driver was drunk at 

the time of crash, added increased attention to a growing debate about curbing the driving 

privileges for 16 and 17 year-olds. In 2007 another series of high-profile crashes occurred, taking 

the lives of teen drivers and their passengers. 

Again the state was riveted to these drivers' 

behaviors as well as whether training and 

restriction laws for this age group were doing 

enough. A Governor's Task Force on Teen Safe 

Driving, convened in the late fall, recommended 

during the spring of 2008 extended curfews, 

passenger restrictions, beefed-up training, 

enhanced penalties, including fines and license 

suspensions for violations. It also recommended 

the first in the nation 48-hour suspension of a 

license for just a charge of violating the laws and a 

two-hour joint parent-teen information session 

required for any 16 or 17 year-old seeking a 

driver's license.i The Governor and the state 

Legislature adopted these recommendations. 

 

Beginning 10 years ago with the first set of 

restriction laws and following through with the 

measures to strengthen them, an industry of public education, public health initiatives and 

community outreach developed both in Connecticut as well as nationally as other states reacted 

to the same issues. Teens have a built-in disadvantage: Medical studies show their brains do not 

fully develop until about 25 years old. This means they have difficulty fully understanding risky 

situations into which they place themselves.  

 

In Connecticut, a well-spring of involvement in the issue erupted. This included new and 

ramped up programs at DMV and the Department of Transportation's Highway Safety Office, with 

whom DMV has worked closely on a number of initiatives. The state Department of Public Health 

began examining the issue. Hospitals increased their attention to the issue. Safety advocates 

formed groups, including one called !MPACT whose founders included the mother of the 

Glastonbury teen driver and mothers of sons killed in unrelated crashes around the same time. 

“OUR recent findings of a 

64-percent reduction in 16- 

and 17-year-old driver 

deaths after the state 

adopted driving restrictions 

shows the true value of 

them. Many more teens are 

alive and safe today 

because of these laws. But, 

we have more work to do 

to preserve this trend. “ 

Melody A. Currey 

DMV Commissioner 
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High schools and law enforcement teamed up to give educational presentations, including mock 

crashes. Communities developed programs, including those overseen by the state Department of 

Mental Health and Addiction Services. Corporations, such as Travelers, Allstate Foundation and 

State Farm, joined with others in the state to lend financial support and other resources to send 

the message. One book for parents, recently published by Timothy Hollister of Bloomfield, has 

come from this growing chorus of people trying to curb the tragedies that occur when teens fail to 

understand the risks with their reckless behavior when behind the wheel.  

 

"We have made significant progress in our approaches to the GDL laws in 

Connecticut, but we need to remain vigilant in enforcing those laws and letting 

parents know they save lives," said Dr. Brendan T. Campbell, Director of 

Pediatric trauma at Connecticut Children's Medical Center and a trauma surgeon. 

He was a member of the 2007 Governor's Task Force on Teen Safe Driving.  

 

Overall, this report shows in detailed ways with numbers – and explanations from some of 

the advocates themselves --  the significant progress Connecticut continues to make in 

preventing these tragedies and fostering awareness among teens and parents for safety 

precautions. It also points to the direction of approaching issues that await consideration and 

debate in the public policy arena.  

 

 

Note: A special thanks for reviewing this report: Timothy Hollister, JD, author of Not So Fast – Parenting 

Your Teen Through the Dangers of Driving; Sherry Chapman, President, Mourning Parents Act, Inc.; Mario 

Damiata, University of Connecticut Transportation Research Center and former regional program manager 

for the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration; C. Steven Wolf, MD, Chairman of Emergency 

Medicine, Saint Francis Hosptial and Medical Center; Brendan Campbell, MD, pediatric trauma surgeon 

and Director of Pediatric Trauma at Connecticut Children’s Medical Center; David Shapiro, MD, trauma 

surgeon, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center, and advisor to the DMV; Garry Lapidus, PA, Director 

of the Connecticut Children’s Medical Center Injury Prevention Center; Pina Violano, RN, Director of the 

Injury Prevention Center at Yale-New Haven Children’s Hosptial; Kevin Borrup, JD, Associate Director of 

the Connecticut Children’s Medical Center Injury Prevention Center and Neil Chaudhary, PhD, Vice 

President, Preusser Reseach Group, authorities on transportation research issues. Their comments and 

insights were invaluable. Report prepared and compiled January, 2014, Wethersfield, CT. 

  

Dr. Brendan T. 
Campbell 



2013 Connecticut Teen Safe Driving Report                                             
7 

LICENSING 
Connecticut, like many other states, has experienced issues with delayed licensing based 

on recent downward economic trends in the last five years and enhanced graduated driver 

licensing laws for teens. Both of these have led to teens waiting beyond the 16th birthday to obtain 

a license. In some instances, teens wait until they are 18 or older. This can have effects on the 

training that teens receive, the kinds of learning experiences behind the wheel and the potential 

for crashes. Training requirements are not as rigorous for those 18 and older as they are for 

younger drivers.  

 

In the two 

years prior to the 

adoption of tougher 

GDL laws in 

Connecticut, an 

average of nearly 

31,000 teens 16 

and 17 years-old 

obtaining a license. 

In the years that 

followed, that 

average has 

dropped to nearly 

26,000. Meanwhile, the average for 18 and 19 year-olds has remained about 10,500 per year, 

except in 2008 and 2009 when there were slight dips.ii Transportation researchers have seen 

these two dips as anomalies and most likely the result of the economic troubles facing families 

and young adults. As the country began to recover, the consistency in licensing at this age has 

returned.  

 

The question arises about the overall 5,000 license decrease in 16 and 17 year-olds after 

the passage of tougher teen driving laws in 2008.  Population in this age group is decreasing 

slightly, but not enough alone, according to transportation researchers, to cause this decline.  

 

“There is clear evidence for licensure delays in CT,” said Neil Chaudhary, PhD, Vice 

President, Preusser Research Group, Inc. “But the interesting fact is that there does not seem to 

31,905 
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 Figure 1 CT Department of Motor Vehicles 
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be an increase in the rates of licensure for 18 and 19 years consistent with the reduction of 16 and 

17 year licensure rates. It is likely that teens are waiting even longer to obtain their licenses but a 

more detailed analysis of the rates will be needed to determine how long they wait.” 

 

Transportation researchers have indicated that this age group may delay in obtaining a 

license because of a poor economy, and the restrictive teen driving laws. Trends indicate that 

some 16 and 17 year-olds have waited until they were older and likewise some of the 18 and 19 

year-olds delayed until their early 20s mostly because of 

expense of owning and maintaining a vehicle. The 

economy has driven older teens to remain at home and a 

New York Times story in 2010 coined the term, "The 

changing timetable for adulthood.iii" In addition, many 

attend a college or university and many prohibit the 

parking of vehicles on campus until the second or third 

year and so a license isn't needed until then. Any 

licensing delay for the youngest drivers most often brings 

an escape from Connecticut's strict teen driving laws, 

including the beneficial passenger restrictions and bans 

on cell phone use. It can have far-reaching effects that sometimes pass unnoticed. 

  

 “Delayed licensing is an issue that we need to keep ahead of. We don’t 

want young drivers first getting behind the wheel at 18 and suffering tragic 

consequences because they didn’t know the safety rules that help to keep them 

alive and safe,” said Pina Violano, RN, injury prevention coordinator at 

Yale-New Haven Children’s Hospital.  

 

The line between who is a “teen driver” is getting blurred. More safety advocates, public 

health professionals and members of the news media are referring to the entire range from 16 to 

19 years-old as “teen drivers,” even though a different set of laws distinguish those two groups. 

The combined injuries and deaths climb to just over 5,300 with this large cohort of young drivers 

at the wheel. Safety advocates maintain these numbers show that injury prevention activities and 

laws to help teens become better drivers need to be extended to the older age group. They point 

to reduced injuries from crashes involving the younger group when tougher restrictions were 

imposed.  Indeed, the Connecticut DMV a year ago started a new learner's permit for anyone 18 

Pina Violano, 
RN 

"We also have a duty to 

expand our prevention efforts 

to the 18- and 19-year-old 

group," said Sherry Chapman, 

president of Mourning 

Parents Act, Inc., and whose 

son Ryan was killed in 

December of 2002.   
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or older seeking a driver's license. They must hold it for at least three months before taking a road 

test for the license. It does not require, though, the training regime for the 16-17 year-olds who are 

also are required to have a learner's permit. 

 

Chaudhary said, “The fact 

of delayed licensure does suggest 

that a new focus of research needs 

to be on these older novice drivers. 

Licensure delays are creating a 

situation where we have moved 

novice driving from 16 and 17 years 

to 18 and 19 years and perhaps 

even older.  There is some 

indication in the research that we 

may be seeing a rebound in crash 

rates at the older ages (i.e., a 

decrease in 16 and 17 year-old 

crash rates followed by an increase 

in 18 and 19 year-old crash rates) 

but most studies suggest that there 

is a net benefit in overall crash 

reduction. 

 

“These issues were taken 

up by the young driver 

sub-committee meeting at the national Transportation Research Board’s 2014 meeting. The 

committee agreed that there needs to be a focus on novice drivers defined as 16-20 year olds 

instead of 16-17 year olds,” he said. 

 

AAA Study on Licensing Delays 

When looking at the national issue, the majority of American teens today delay getting a 

driver's license, according to a 2013 study by the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety. Less than 

half (44 percent) of teens obtain a driver's license within 12 months of the minimum age for 

licensing in their state and just over half (54 percent) are licensed before their 18th birthday, 

 
Figure 2 CT Department of Transportation 

 Figure 3 CT Department of Transportation 
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causing concern among safety experts that young adult drivers are missing the benefits intended 

by graduated drivers licensing (GDL). These findings mark a significant drop from two decades 

ago when data showed more than two-thirds of teens were licensed by the time they turned 18.iv 

 

"With one in three teens waiting to get their license until they turn 18, there's a segment of 

this generation missing  opportunities to learn under the safeguards that GDL provides," said 

Peter Kissinger, President and CEO, AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety. "For most, it's about not 

having a car or having alternatives for getting around that 

are the top reasons cited for delaying what has 

traditionally been considered to be a rite of passage." 

 

Contrary to some expectations, survey results 

suggest that few teens wait until 18 simply to avoid 

graduated driver licensing. Instead, a number of other 

reasons for delaying licensure were cited, including: 

 

Low-income and minority teens are the least likely 

to obtain a driver's license before age 18. Only 25 percent 

of teens living in households with incomes less than 

$20,000 obtained their license before they turned 18, 

while 79 percent of teens were licensed by their 

eighteenth birthday in households with incomes of 

$100,000 or more. The findings for licensure by age 18 

differed significantly by race and ethnicity, with 67 

percent for non-Hispanic white teens, 37 percent for 

non-Hispanic black teens, and 29 percent for Hispanic 

teens. 

 

"For a range of reasons, young adults 

increasingly are getting licensed without the benefit of 

parental supervision, extensive practice and gaining experience under less risky conditions that 

are the hallmark of a safety-focused licensing system," said AAA's Director of State Relations and 

teen driver issue expert, Justin McNaull.  "Researchers and policymakers should examine 

whether existing state GDL systems – nearly all of which end once a teen turns 18 – can be 

f 

 
What teens say 

about why they 

wait to obtain a 

driver’s license: 

● 44 percent – Did 
not have a car  

● 39 percent – Could 
get around without 
driving  

● 36 percent – Gas 
was too expensive  

● 36 percent – 
Driving was too 
expensive  

● 35 percent – "Just 
didn't get around to 
it"  

 

AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety 
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modified to improve safety for these young adult novice drivers." 

 

AAA has worked for nearly two decades to recommend that all states adopt and enforce a 

comprehensive three-stage (learner's permit, intermediate/probationary license, full/unrestricted 

license) graduated driver licensing (GDL) system for novice teen drivers. These programs require 

minimum holding periods and practice requirements for teens with learner's permits, followed by 

restricted licenses that limit driving at night or with peer passengers. These requirements help 

novice drivers safely gain the skills and experience needed to become safe adult drivers. 

 

Previous AAA Foundation research found that states with comprehensive GDL systems 

have experienced a 38 percent decrease in fatal crashes involving 16 year-olds and a 40 percent 

reduction in injury crashes. 

 

The researchers surveyed a nationally-representative sample of 1,039 respondents ages 

18-20. The full research report and survey results can be found on the AAA Foundation for Traffic 

Safety website. Established by AAA in 1947, the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety is a 501(c) (3) 

not-for-profit, publicly-supported charitable educational and research organization. The 

Foundation's mission is to prevent crashes and save lives through research and education about 

traffic safety. The Foundation has funded over 200 research projects designed to discover the 

causes of traffic crashes, prevent them, and minimize injuries when they do occur. 
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CRASHES AND INJURIES 
For the 2013 calendar 

year, a downward trend in lower 

fatalities for 16- and 17 year-old 

drivers continues. However, 

questions among safety 

advocates are raising the issue 

about whether more safety 

awareness is needed for the 16- 

to 19-year-old age group. This is 

based on a growing view that the entire group needs special attention, not just the youngest in the 

cohort. Fatalities for Connecticut’s 16 and 17-year-old drivers are at historic lows. According to 

statistics compiled by the state Department of Transportation, two drivers in this age group were 

killed in crashes for 2013. These fewer numbers continue the average trend since 2010 of two 

deaths per year, an 82-percent decrease compared to 2004.v  The tougher 2008 laws are 

credited for some of the consistent reduction. Since the passage of new and tougher laws in 2008, 

the focus of outreach among safety advocates has been 16- and 17-year-old drivers. Drivers in 

this age group face significant restrictions, rigorous training and harsh penalties for violating the 

laws.  

 

Connecticut Crashes:  

Before and After Teen Driving Laws 

A look at statistics when Connecticut did not have any 

special laws for teen driving shows dramatic change since 

restrictions were imposed. There has been a 64-percent 

reduction in the deaths of 16- and 17-year-old drivers when 

comparing for totals for 1999-2003 (the immediate four years 

before restrictions began) to 2008-2012 (the latest four-year 

numbers available). From 1999 through the end of 2003 there 

were a total of 37 driver deaths in this youngest age group. 

After 10 years of various restrictions, driver deaths dropped to 

a total of 13 for 2008 – 2012. Crashes saw a 60-percent 

reduction to 3,049 for these most recent years. Passenger 

 

A 64% drop 

has occurred in 16- and 

17-year-old driver deaths 

when comparing four-year 

totals in Connecticut before it 

imposed restrictions and after 

(1999-2003 and 2008-2012). 

Source: CT Department of Motor 

Vehicles 
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deaths saw a corresponding 67-percent decrease from 34 to 11. Population for this group shows 

an increase on average for those two time periods.  For injuries to drivers and passengers in this 

comparison, the numbers also show dramatic change: a 56-percent reduction for drivers and 68 

percent for passengers. Driver injuries sunk from 2,608 to 1,145 and passengers from 1,713 to 

540. These pre- and post-GDL laws statistics show that the laws, outreach and other efforts, 

along with a poor economy, are helping to blunt crashes.  

 

 “This is very good news. While we are meeting less frequently ‘by 

accident’ in the ER, we need to keep working at this critical issue,” said Dr. David 

S. Shapiro, trauma surgeon at Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center. He 

works with DMV on a variety of teen driving outreach efforts. 

 

Chaudhary of Preusser Research Group, Inc., said, “I would suspect, in the 

absence of a controlled study, that some portions of the decreases are causally related to the 

stricter laws. The mechanism behind their effectiveness may well be that… some teen drivers 

today are apt to delay their driving for a few years and this results in fewer young folks being 

involved in crashes. It’s a win for Connecticut. Theoretically, when they do decide to start driving 

at an older age there is at least some level of increased maturity and we may therefore see a net 

reduction in crashes across all younger (under 21) novice drivers,” said Chaudhary, whose firm 

advises the state on transportation safety issues.   

 

However, some 

recent figures for 16 and 

17-year-old driver crashes 

and injuries, note a slight 

increase from 2011 to 2012. 

While this fluctuation may be 

an anomaly, it indicates a 

need to keep up crash 

prevention and safety 

outreach, say long-time 

safety advocates who have 

watched the numbers rise 

and fall.    

Dr. David S. 
Shapiro 

 Figure 5 CT Department of Transportation 
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Passengers in Crashes 

There has been an overall positive news for changes in teen drivers in Connecticut and 

there has been a corresponding increase in discussion about passenger safety. From May 

through August, a series of fatal crashes occurred that sparked a renewed debate about whether 

the laws were doing enough to prevent deadly teen crashes. There were seven crashes that killed 

a total of six passengers and four drivers. Two drivers were 17 and in the other crashes either an 

18- or 19-year-old was behind the wheel. Passengers ranged from 15- to 18 years-old.  

 

State statistics show, however, that more 16- to 19-year-old drivers than their passengers, 

by a nearly 2-to-1 margin, are either killed or injured in crashes. The numbers involved increase 

with the 18- and 19-year-old drivers because of the larger number of drivers in that age group and 

the lack of a passenger restriction law.  From 2008 through 2012, statistics for this 16- to 

19-year-old age group show 51 drivers and 31 passengers died. Nearly 3,640 drivers were 

seriously injured compared to 1,700 passengers. 

 

This was not surprising to Chaudhary. He said that studies show drivers will have larger 

numbers of injuries and fatalities because more often they are alone in a car than with 

passengers. In addition, backseat passengers often are protected from a collision's impact and 

thus suffer fewer injuries. They also more often are wearing seat belts. Passengers in the front 

seat have the most risk for injury or death, yet often also wear a seat belt more often than the 

young driver, he said.  

 

Nonetheless, crashes bring collateral injuries and death to passengers. Connecticut's 

Graduated Driver Licensing (teen driving) laws do little to address issues with young passengers 

in these vehicles driven by inexperienced drivers. It is time to focus on a campaign for educating 

teens that they are "not just along for the ride," many safety advocates say. That trip, if the car is 

driven unsafely, could be deadly. With these young drivers there's clearly different maturity levels 

and levels of parental involvement. The teen brain does not fully develop until about 25 years-old. 

This means risky behaviors by drivers and passengers are not fully understood. Here are 

suggestions offered to help address the passenger issue: 

 

■ Parents need to know who is driving their teen and the extent of his or her driving 

experience. Did that driver gain driving experience under Connecticut's GDL law or did the 
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driver bypass this requirement and get a license at 18 years-old?  

■ Parents need to continuously monitor and guide their teenagers driving activity, and limit 

their travel to purposeful driving.  Once teens begin to engage in "joyriding" their crash 

risk increase dramatically and more so with each additional teenage passenger in the 

vehicle. 

■ A statewide outreach and advertising program, similar to the one in 2008 for drivers, 

needs to be undertaken regarding passengers. 

■ Communities and high schools should consider a voluntary vehicle decal program that 

identifies novice drivers, and helps police identify vehicles that should not have 

passengers. Schools should examine permission forms for vehicles on campus to ensure 

GDL laws are followed. Parents should enforce its use with their young drivers and 

municipalities should set up community service programs that go hand-in-hand with the 

summons that police issue for those who must follow passenger restriction laws. 

■ Parents must be aware that driver's education is not the panacea for making teens safer 

drivers.  The best way to provide teens with experience is to have parents drive with them 

under variable conditions (inclement weather, night time driving). 

■ Prosecutors and courts should consider some novel approaches to passenger education 

and awareness when drivers are convicted of violating any of the teen driving laws. 

■ Pediatricians, family physicians and other health care professionals need to stress both 

driver and passenger safety during wellness visits and encourage the use of parent teen 

driving contracts that set the driving rules and consequences for violations in advance 

■ Police need to enforce Connecticut's GDL laws. Statistics across the board show 

significant drops in both summonses and convictions, yet there’s no evidence to show 

teens have significantly changed a traditional risk-taking behavior that is consistent with 

that age group. 

 

How Parents Can Help Protects Drivers and Passengers 

With many more teens living at home while working or attending 

post-secondary schools, some professionals in the driving safety field say 

that parents need to take a stronger role in overseeing their teen’s driver 

training and performance on the road, even at 18- or 19-years old. Timothy 

Hollister of Bloomfield, whose teenage son was killed in a crash, recently 

completed a book for all parents: Not So Fast - Parenting Your Teen 
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Through the Dangers of Driving. He was a member of the 2008 Governor’s Task Force on Teen 

Safe Driving. Most driving literature for parents focuses on how to teach a teen to drive, without 

explaining why teen driving is so dangerous in the first place or giving parents a plan to preempt 

the hazards teens face. By contrast, Not So Fast empowers and guides parents to understand the 

causes and situations that most often lead to teen crashes and to take specific, proactive 

steps--before and each time a teen driver gets behind the wheel--to counteract them. This guide 

tackles hot button issues such as texting and distracted driving, parenting attitudes (conscious 

and unconscious), and teen impairment and fatigue--and includes a combination of topics not 

found in other teen driving guides. 

 

Parents as Role Models 

DMV has partnered with Travelers in the last several years on a number of teen-safe 

driving related safety projects. DMV and Travelers has looked at the effects of role models, 

especially parents, on these youngest drivers. Travelers recently released the results of its 

Parent/Teen Safe Driving Survey, which found teens who feel parents are good driver role models 

are half as likely to have been in an accident.  The survey also found that the vast majority of 

teens (96 percent) have had conversations with their parents about safe driving. This rate is much 

higher than the number of teens who report having talked with their parents about alcohol/drug 

use (84 percent), safe sex (78 percent) or bullying (67 percent).  

 

“The results reinforce that parents who actively discuss safe driving habits can have a 

strong positive influence on teen driving,” said Doreen Spadorcia, Vice Chairman of Travelers. 

“It’s critical that parents and teens are on the same page about driving dangers and are clearly 

communicating the consequences for not following the rules of the road.”  

 

Key Survey Findings 

Parents as Role Models. 

Parents play a critical role in influencing teen driving behavior. Teens who report their 

parents are not good driving role models are more than twice as likely to be involved in an 

accident. 

o Accidents. Twenty-four percent of teens who report their parents are not good 

driving role models have been in more than one accident as a driver, compared to 

10 percent of teens who report their parents are good role models as drivers.  
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o Tickets. Fifteen percent of teens who report their parents are not good role models 

as drivers have been issued more than one ticket (speeding or other moving 

violation), compared to six percent of teens who report their parents are good role 

models as drivers. 

 

Disconnect over top driving concerns. 

The survey found that parents and teens do not always see eye-to-eye when it comes to 

certain driving-related risks. Among the largest disconnects: 

o Driving under the influence. Sixty-six percent of teens are concerned about 

driving under the influence of alcohol, compared to 14 percent of parents. 

o Distracted driving (mobile/smartphone). Fifty-six percent of teens are 

concerned about distracted driving as a result of mobile/smartphones, versus 35 

percent of parents. 

o Staying aware of other drivers on the road. Fifty-two percent of teens are 

concerned about staying aware of other drivers on the road, compared to 31 

percent of parents. 

 

“The Talk.”  

Ninety-eight percent of parents report they have had conversations about safe driving with 

their teen drivers, while 96 percent of teens report they have had conversations. 

 

Reaching Teens at a Younger Age. 

Younger teens are more receptive to safe driving conversations than older teens. Among 

those who have not had a safe driving conversation with parents: 

o Sixty-seven percent of 16-year-olds would like to have the conversation, 

compared to 29 percent of 18-year-olds. 

o Of that 67 percent, half are waiting for their parents to initiate the conversation. 

 

Travelers has created the Let’s Talk Safety Parent/Teen Safe Driving Coaching Guide to 

help facilitate open communication between parents and their teenage drivers on the importance 

of safe driving. The Guide equips parents with information for how to initiate the safe driving 

conversation; ways to educate young people about the dangers of speeding, drunk driving, and 

distracted driving; and provides parents with a sample “driving contract” they can sign with their 

children.  

http://travelers.http.internapcdn.net/travelers_vitalstream_com/Creative/PI/13-PI-2903/v1/index.html
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VIOLATIONS 
One measure of the effectiveness of teen driving laws is convictions for violating them. 

Though summonses are issued first, a variety of circumstances surround allegations of a 

violation. However, a conviction in court brings the official stamp on a driving record about the 

violation occurring. We look at this measure to examine the laws' effectiveness in terms of how 

often various behaviors have occurred. In turn, summonses and convictions send powerful 

messages to teens that a society governed by laws will not tolerate certain behaviors behind the 

wheel that endanger themselves, their passengers and others on the road.  

 

Statistics show a steady drop in convictions since the state started enforcing the new laws 

in August 2008. In nearly every category - from seat belts to passenger restrictions and curfew to 

cell phone use and distracted driving - the numbers of convictions each year steadily decline.  

 

For instance, from August 2009 

through July 2010 -- the first full year the laws 

were in effect -- there were 852 convictions of 

16- and 17-year-old drivers for violating the 

passenger restrictions and curfew laws. That 

number dropped to 466 for August 2012 

through July 2013, a decrease of 386 

convictions, or about 45 percent, according to 

an analysis by both the DMV and The Hartford Courant.vi  

 

There has been no detailed research on enforcement of the revised laws and 

effectiveness of the laws due to enforcement.  The Hartford Courant, however, undertook a 

similar analysis as DMV of 16- and 17-year-old teen drivers' records. Both DMV and The Courant 

found questions about how vigorous law enforcement agencies were applying the laws.  

 

"Experts say the reason for the drop in convictions is multifaceted, but they say that it's not 

as simple as teens driving more safely, and that a lack of enforcement may be partly responsible," 

wrote Kelly Glista in her September 2013 story, Stricter State Laws Translate Into Fewer Tickers 

to Teen Drivers. Police and lawmakers remarked on a range of reasons including an inability to 

enforce all laws, the risk of illegal profiling because someone looks young and shouldn't have 

passengers, the reluctance of officers to write tickets, a lack of police resources to focus on young 
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drivers to the exclusions of others, and a general concern about balancing good police community 

relations with enforcement.  

 

"I would love to be able to say (enforcement of) these laws have been effective in that 

[they] are changing behavior," said Chaudhary of Preusser Research Group. “But, there are likely 

other reasons for 

the relatively low 

ticketing rates. For 

example, the police 

may not be able to 

enforce these laws 

effectively, other 

emerging issues 

shift the focus of 

ticketing or the 

economy may have 

impacted overall 

manpower reducing 

all ticketing rates. This is not to say that that the laws are ineffective, merely that the ticketing 

rates, without detailed analysis, cannot be used to determine whether or not the restrictions are 

effective.  That said, crash rate reductions are pretty impressive and suggest, even after 

controlling for many factors, that laws are having a positive effect on teen driving. 

 

The 48-Hour Suspension 

Another measure is 

instances in which police issued 

the required immediate 48-hour 

suspension of the license for a 16- 

or 17-year-old driver dropped 

nearly 40 percent in 2013 

compared to just after the new 

laws were passed. State law 
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requires that the suspension be given for violating the teen driving laws and those violations 

numbered over 700 in 2012-2013.  In just a little over 50 percent of those violations was the 

suspension issued. More work is needed to encourage police to issue these suspensions. The 

Governor's Task Force on Teen Safe Driving saw the suspension as a deterrent to violating the 

laws because teens would not be able to drive a car home and parents would need to sign for the 

license's return. 

  

Distracted Driving 

Distracted driving remains one of Connecticut's -- and the nation's -- top concerns for 

drivers, especially younger drivers. Connecticut has strong laws for 16- and 17-year-old drivers to 

prevent distractions. Cell phones and other electronic devices are prohibited from use by them as 

well as wireless connections to them or so-called "hands free." Tougher laws in 2013 were also 

extended to the overall driving population.  Governor Dannel P. Malloy, joined by Lt. Governor 

Nancy Wyman, Attorney General George Jepsen, state Department of Transportation 

(ConnDOT) Commissioner James P. Redeker, state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 

Commissioner Melody A. Currey and executives from AT&T and Travelers Insurance, September 

19 kicked-off a statewide campaign to raise awareness about the dangers of distracted driving by 

proclaiming September 19th "Don't Text and Drive Day in Connecticut".vii 

 

"As long as motor vehicle crashes remain the leading cause of death for American 

teenagers, everyone needs to do their part to ensure our youngest, most inexperienced drivers 

have the knowledge to make responsible decisions when 

they get behind a wheel," said Governor Malloy. "We are 

issuing a call to action to all drivers, new and 

experienced, to help reduce the number of crashes, 

injuries and deaths associated with distracted driving by 

remaining focused on the task at hand – operating your 

motor vehicle safely when under your control." 

 

Distracted driving can occur for any number of reasons. These include failure to pay 

attention while texting, tuning a radio, a GPS device, shuffling papers, talking on the phone, 

talking with passengers, etc. It has two primary causes: passenger distractions and use of cell 

phones or electronic devices, such as iPods, iPads and other similar devices on which music is 

often played while driving. 
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DMV's teen advisers chose the theme Teen Safe Driving: Put Your Brakes on Distractions 

for the 2013-2014 DMV - Travelers teen safe driving video contest. It was the oldest and first I the 

nation sponsored by a state motor vehicle department. Hundreds of teens in the fall prepare 

videos which are submitted in early January. The high schools of the top five winners share in 

$15, 000 in prizes and students in first place win iPads from AT&T.  

 

In July, Governor Malloy signed legislation that expanded Connecticut's prohibition on 

using cell phones while driving to include using a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle at a 

temporary standstill, such as waiting in an intersection or at a red stop light. The legislation also 

requires the driver's license knowledge test to include at least one question on distracted driving. 

Governor Malloy also signed separate legislation that increased the fines for distracted driving, 

requires that the record of such a violation appear in the violator's driving history and be made 

available to motor vehicle insurers, and creates a task force to study distracted driving issues and 

report to the Transportation Committee by January 1, 2014. Both laws and fines went into effect 

on October 1, 2013.  

 

Teen drivers are very cautious behind the wheel when they first start driving, but as time 

passes they begin to engage in potentially risky behaviors such as talking on cell phones, eating 

and talking to other passengers. That's according to a new study by researchers at the Virginia 

Tech Transportation Institute, which has conducted some of the nation's most important research 

on distracted driving, and the National Institutes of Child Health and Human Developmentviii. 

 

"Novice drivers are more likely to engage in high-risk secondary tasks more frequently 

over time as they become more comfortable with driving," said Charlie Klauer, group leader for 

teen risk and injury prevention at the institute's Center for Vulnerable Road User Safety. "The 

increasingly high rates of secondary task engagement among newly licensed drivers in our study 

are worrisome as this appears to be an important contributing factor to crashes or near-crashes." 

 

Klauer is first author of an article on her group's research that appears in The New 

England Journal of Medicine. The researchers compared the results of a one-year, 100-car study 

with drivers ages 18-72 with an average of 20 years of experience, and the results from an 

18-month study of 42 teens who had drivers' licenses for less than three weeks when the study 

began. Participants in both studies drove vehicles equipped with data acquisition systems 
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developed at Virginia Tech's Transportation Institute, including a minimum of four cameras and 

sensors that collected continuous video and driving performance data during the studies. 

Researchers watched the video of the drivers and noted any distracting behavior before or during 

a crash or near-crash. 

 

The researchers found that during the first six months behind the wheel, novice teen 

drivers engaged in secondary tasks less frequently than experienced drivers. But they matched 

experienced drivers between months seven and 15, and were engaging in the distracting 

behaviors more frequently than experienced drivers during months 16-18. The young drivers 

logged a two-fold increase in risky distractions during the last three months of the study. 

 

One of their findings: The teens were engaging in distracting behaviors beyond just using 

their cellphones. 

 

"Many states have adopted graduated driver licensing provisions that limit cell phone use," 

said Tom Dingus, director of the institute and a co-author of the paper. "However, it is not the only 

risky behavior for novices." He added that dialing increases the risk for all groups. 

 

Bruce Simons-Morton, a senior investigator with the National Institutes of Child Health and 

Human Development, said the study is the first to measure how much multi-tasking distracts 

novice drivers and how that compares to more experienced drivers. Among the findings from 

institute researchers: Engaging in tasks associated with the use of hand-held cellphones and 

other portable devices increases the risk of crashing by three times; sending or receiving a text 

message takes a driver's eyes off the road for an average of 4.6 seconds, the equivalent of driving 

the length of a football field while blindfolded at 55 mph; behind the wheel use of hands-free 

cellphones is not substantially safer than hand-held use. 

 

Klauer says she hopes the new study will remind parents of teen drivers to continue 

monitoring their children's behind-the-wheel behavior as they gain experience. 
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UNDERAGE DRINKING AND DRIVING 
Underage drinking and driving was a topic for statewide discussion in the summer of 2013. 

While the discussion focused on concert goers and parties attended by minors, the issue of 

drinking and driving frequently arose. Dr. C. Steven Wolf, chairman of emergency medicine at 

Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center in Hartford, 

expressed serious concern about the rising risks to 

young people. 

 

"The large amounts of alcohol that are being 

consumed at one time by teenagers at concerts, 

college parties and private homes is staggering and 

can result in emergency room visits, accidents of all 

kinds, and death," said Dr. Wolf, who frequently patrols 

the Hartford concert venues with police to observe the 

behavior of teens consuming alcohol as part of his 

prevention work at the hospital. 

 

“Parents and communities need to find 

innovative strategies to confront this issue, and this 

includes government, school, interfaith and other 

community stakeholders putting their heads together 

to address the matter,” he added. 

Dr. Jeff Finklestein, Chief of Emergency 

Medicine at Hartford Hospital, tells this story:  It's 11 

p.m. on a Saturday night. An ambulance stops outside 

the hospital emergency room and doctors immediately roll a stretcher through the doors and to a 

treatment room. A young girl, uncommunicative and combative, is throwing up. A team of medical 

professionals, well aware that her vomit may soon choke her, puts a tube down her throat to 

breathe for her. She is 15 years old and all alone. Her parents will soon receive a phone call. 

They'll forget about her missed curfews and delayed responses to their text messages. They will 

simply be thankful their daughter is alive. Her parents may have dropped her off a few hours ago 

at a friend's house, a concert or the beach. But, they'll learn that soon after they left, she 

consumed a lot of alcohol quickly and passed out. They'll want to blame someone else, but be  

From the View in the 

Emergency Department 

 

Dr. C. Steven Wolf, 
Chairman of the 
Emergency 
Medicine, Saint 
Francis Hospital 
and Medical 
Center 

 

“The large 

amounts of 

alcohol that teens 

are consuming is 

staggering.” 
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thankful that her friends -- also inebriated -- decided to call 911. 

 

This is a real story. This young girl was lucky she ended up in an emergency room where 

she was safe, cared for and would recover. This girl and her family are also lucky that she did not 

attempt to drive before passing into unconsciousness and that her inebriated friends called 911 

rather than driving her to a hospital. 

 

Issues Hosptials Face 

Hospital emergency departments across Connecticut have experienced this scene and 

sometimes frequently. Underage binge or high-risk drinking that has a high level of toxicity is a 

real public health problem, especially if 

someone gets behind the wheel of a 

vehicle. Too often teen driver fatalities 

involve the use of alcohol by the driver, 

passengers or both. The impacts can 

be life-long if not devastating and 

life-threatening. It is also entirely 

preventable. Underage drinking as 

well as binge drinking occurs at 

significant rates in this state. The 

state's 2011 Connecticut School 

Health Survey – the most recent - 

surveyed high school students with an 

anonymous questionnaire across the 

state. It found that 41.5% of high school students had at least one drink of alcohol, 22.3 percent 

binge drank, 6.9 percent drove after drinking alcohol and 25.2 percent rode with a driver 

who had been drinking alcohol.  In Connecticut, 15.6 percent of high school students drank 

alcohol (other than a few sips) for the first time before age 13 years.  

 

State law prohibits anyone under age 21 from driving with a blood alcohol content of .02% 

or more. The laws specify criteria for alcohol and drug tests to determine it and criminal penalties 

and driver's license suspension penalties for violations. State records show a 39-percent 

decrease in charges for underage drinking (Conn. Gen. Stat. 30-89). In addition, they show a 

Figure 8 CT Department of Public Health 
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28-percent decrease in arrests (Conn. Gen. Stat. 14-227g) for driving while intoxicated from 2008 

to 2012. Various safety advocates and law enforcement report that the decreases stem from 

police having increased responsibilities for pursuing more serious crime, the use of community 

courts in Connecticut, and a general 

malaise in communities to address the 

problem of underage drinking. 

 

The survey reports that 

unhealthy behaviors often established 

during childhood continue into 

adulthood. They also can stem from a 

family culture of permissive alcohol use 

and excessive drinking by adults who 

are role models.   

 

The potential for this kind of excessive drinking and driving rises with trips to summer 

concerts, drives to the beach, parties in the woods near homes, house and pool gatherings while 

parents are away or even asleep. We want to remind parents of this serious issue and equip them 

with prevention tools.  

 

Parents need know that alcohol consumption can adversely affect their developing 

adolescents' brains and have long-term health consequences.  And that teens binge drink – 

possibly including their own. Studies also show the teen brain doesn't fully develop until about 25 

years old and underage drinkers often cannot fully understand the risky situations they invite. This 

behavior is not simply a rite of passage in contemporary society or some other family's problem. 

Teens and young adults are also using innovative strategies, as Yale-New Haven Hospital 

reports, such as soaking tampon applicators in alcohol to avoid traces on the breath. In addition to 

death that can result from alcohol poisoning, driving drunk or with an impaired driver, the studies 

show that youth who drink alcohol are more likely to experience problems in school; unwanted, 

unplanned, and unprotected sexual activity. Families could face a litany of legal problems from 

intoxicated youths' actions.  

 

Here's what they need to look for and do. First, they need to monitor their own alcohol use 

and show responsible behavior. Lock up alcohol in the house. Next, they should look for any signs 

Figure 9 CT Judicial Branch 
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of teens abusing alcohol. These include a decrease in former interests and appearance, taking 

and hiding alcohol from the house, academic failures and unusual aggressive, secretive or 

rebellious behavior. It is vital for parents share information with their teen about health dangers 

and other risks of drinking alcohol as well as driving while drinking alcohol.  Parents must have 

clear expectations given to their teens on what to do when a teen faces the choice to drink and be 

with friends who are drinking, especially when driving. Consequences for violating the 

expectations must be swift and certain to send a message. That message could save a teen's life. 
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TEEN DRIVING OUTREACH ACTIVITIES 
A number of outreach activities have occurred among safety partners around the state. 

The activities have varied from testimonials and presentations to mock crashes and special 

projects undertaken by students to raise awareness in their communities and high schools. Prior 

to the state creating a task force in 2007 and ramping up public awareness of issues related to 

teen driving, there were just a handful of groups doing educational efforts. Major teaching 

hospitals were conducting research, but there was little public outreach from them. This 

landscape changed in 2007-2008. Through the Governor's Task Force on Teen Safe Driving, the 

issue became a call to action for more aggressive efforts. Since then, state agencies, advocacy 

groups, hospitals and even one Connecticut blogger have raised the flag about this public health 

issue.  

  

DMV Commissioner’s Advisory Committee on 

Teen Safe Driving 

The DMV has established a Commissioner's Advisory Committee on Teen Safe Driving. 

The following are members: 

 

Safety Advocate Members: 

 

● Pina Violano, RN, Injury Prevention Program, Yale-New Haven Hospital  

● Kevin Borrup, JD, MPA, Injury Prevention Program, Connecticut Children's Medical 

Center  

● Mario Damiata, Univ. of Conn., Transportation Safety Research Center, and former staff 

member National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 

● Richard Hastings, JD, Ridgefield, Parent  

● Timothy Hollister, JD,  Bloomfield, parent, blogger, Reid's Dad, on teen safe driving, 

● Sherry Chapman, Mourning Parents Act, Inc. 

● Joseph Cristalli, Governor's Highway Safety Office, Department of Transportation,  

● Chief John Daly, Southington Police Department, President, Conn. Police Chiefs Asso. 

● Paul Vance, Lt., and Spokesman, Connecticut State Police,  

● Francis J. Carino, JD, Supervisory Assistant State's Attorney, Office of the Chief State's 

Attorney 

● Steven Wolf, MD, Chairman of Emergency Medicine, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical 

Center. 
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● Garry Lapidus, PA, Director of the Injury Prevention Center, Connecticut Children's 

Medical Center 

● Jason Germain, JD, Senior Assistant State's Attorney 

● Steve McNeish, AAA Driving School 

● Sebby Giannone, Frank's Driving School  

● The Hon. John Nazzaro, Superior Court Judge  

● Faith VosWinkel, Office of the Child Advocate  

● Susan Naide, JD, former prosecutor, and current professor at the University of New 

Haven in Criminal Justice,  

● Angie B. Byrne, MPH, Program Manager, NHTSA-Region 1,  Cambridge, Mass., 

● Neil Chaudhary, PhD, Preusser Research Group, Inc., a transportation research study 

firm, Trumbull, CT,  

● Andy Groher,JD, Riscassi and Davis, Conn. Trial Lawyers Associaton  

● Stephanie Ford, Connecticut Association of Schools 

● David Shapiro, MD, trauma surgeon, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center 

  

Student Members 

● Katie Cimini, Mercy High School 

● Ama Appiah, Mercy High School 

● Allie Caselli, Nonnewaug High School 

● Stephanie Lewis, Nonnewaug High School 

● Hannah McCollam, Nonnewaug High School  

● Juhi Gupta, Mercy High School,  

● Patrick Kudej, Norwich Free Academy,  

● Luke Edwards,Daniel Hand High School, Madison,  

● Michael Brainerd,East Haven High School,  

● Daniyal N. Khan,Quinnipiac University freshman, Berlin High School 

 

Staff Assistants: 

● Bill Seymour, Ernie Bertothy, Communications Office and DMV Center for Teen Safe 

Driving  

● Joseph Ciotto, DMV Driver Education Unit  

 

Technical and Consulting Associates 
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● Tony Cashman and Bill Greer, Cashman & Katz and In-Focus research group, 

Glastonbury, CT,  

 

 

The Committee meets twice a year to discuss issues related to teen driving. It also finished 

production of a videoix sent to all driving schools to be shown during the required two-hour joint 

information session for all those with a learner's permit seeking a license to drive. NBC 30 in 

Connecticut helped to underwrite production and funding for other aspects came from Yale-New 

Haven Children's Hospital and Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center. The committee also 

advised the Commissioner on a number of issues both legislative and policy related. The 

members of this group independently conduct myriad safety activities throughout the year. To 

give a sense of the many activities, below is a sampling from just a few safety advocates on 

advisory committee:  

 

Department of Motor Vehicles Teen Safe Driving Center 

● A teen safe-driving video contest co-sponsored with Travelers. Teen Safe Driving: Are 

You In? It's the question that five teens designed for their peers as well as parents and 

other role models across the state as the theme for the 2013 contest More than 125 videos 

were submitted and over 500 students statewide participated for the 2013 contest. For the 

2014 contest, a new set of teen advisors chose: Teen Drivers: Put Your Brakes on 

Distractions. The deadline for entries is January 15, 2014. 

● A new parents guide brochure, co-sponsored with AAA Allied Group, Hartford, was 

distributed to parents of teens obtaining a learner's permit. It is also posted to the website 

for the DMV Center for Teen Safe Driving. 

● Updated laws and training brochure funded by Travelers and distributed throughout the 

state. 

● The website for the DMV Center for Teen Safe Driving was revamped and redesigned for 

easier navigation. 

● DMV led an underage drinking coalition to look at underage drinking as well as its coupling 

with drinking and driving.  

● Continued roll out of specific learner's permit test by appointment and now available in all 

major DMV office operations statewide. 

The DMV Commissioner's Advisory Committee on Teen Safe Driving offers the following 

tips for parents to prevent crashes, injuries and deaths from crashes involving their teens. These 

http://ct.gov/teendriving
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tips appear in a brochure Travelers underwrites for distribution statewide and on the DMV Teen 

Safe Driving website. 

● The Number 1 cause of death for 15-19 year-old teenagers. Most teen crashes occur 

during the first two years of having their license. The first six months are most dangerous 

for the newly-licensed teen. Provide as much supervised practice as you can during the 

licensing period. 

● Brain Development: Research shows that the portion of the brain that assesses risk and 

danger does not fully develop until the mid 20's. Teens are risk-takers, lacking the 

experience, judgment and maturity to recognize many potentially hazardous situations. 

● Passenger Restrictions: Enforce at home the state laws on passenger restrictions. Crash 

risk goes up when teens drive with other teens in the car. This risk also increases with the 

number of passengers; whether siblings, family or friends; in the vehicle. 

● Restrict Night Driving: Fatal crashes are more likely to occur at night. Young drivers are at 

higher risk for drowsy driving, which causes thousands of crashes each year. Enforce the 

state curfew. 

● It's the Law - Require Your Teen to Buckle Up: Teens have the lowest rate of seatbelt use. 

The simplest way to prevent car crash deaths and serious injuries is to buckle up. 

● No Drinking and Driving: Connecticut has a Zero-Tolerance Law for teens drinking and 

driving. Even one drink impairs a teen's driving ability and increases the risk of a crash. Be 

a good role model: Don't drink and drive, and reinforce this message with your teens. 

● Teach Your Teen About Distracted Driving: Talking on the phone or with passengers, 

texting, 

dialing radio stations, unrestrained pets and other distracting activities in the car increase 

the risk of a serious crash. 

● Vehicle Selection Matters: Avoid having your teen drive high performance vehicles or 

older model vehicles that lack improved safety technologies. 

● Financial Liability: Make your teen aware of the financial consequences of a crash or a 

citation, including higher family insurance rates and liability for injuries or damage. 

● Know Connecticut Teen Driving Laws: The teen driving laws are explained in this 

brochure. 

More information, including teens-talking-to-teens videos created as part of the DMV teen 

safe driving video contest, can be found at ct.gov/teendriving. 

● Get Involved: Be a role model. Establish your own household rules and consequences. 

Stick to them no matter the hassle you receive from your teens. Your determination could 
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save their lives. 

 

Connecticut Children's Medical Center 

The Injury Prevention Center (IPC) at Connecticut Children's Medical Center has made 

road safety one of its priorities, with a particular focus on teen driving safety.  The IPC is currently 

working with Connecticut's driving schools to examine the mandatory 2-hour parent class in an 

effort to aid driving schools in making the 2-hour parent class as effective as it can be.  In 

addition, the IPC has a number of programs that work to educate teens and parents on road 

safety: 

● Push4safedriving.com – This Allstate Foundation funded initiative engages teens in 

crafting safe driving messages targeting their peers. 

● Drive It Home Connecticut – This Allstate Foundation funded initiative engages high 

school students in putting on a comedic show on teen driving written and produced by the 

National Safety Council and the Second City comedy troupe.  The show engages parents 

and teens in a conversation on what it means to drive responsibly.  Interested schools 

can contact us at 860-837-5309. 

● Pediatric E-Network – This network of pediatric practices provides tablet based education 

on teen driving safety at the 15, 16, and 17 year doctor's visit. 

● Kohl's Road Safety Campaign – The Kohl's Cares funded initiative seeks to reduce the 

risk for families, children, and teens while they are out and about on Connecticut's roads.  

See www.kohlsroadsafety.org.  The Kohl's Road Safety campaign is also sponsoring a 

book tour in Connecticut for Tim Hollister's newly released "Not So Fast: parenting your 

teen through the dangers of driving." 

 

Tim Hollister, author of the teen safe driving blog, Reid's Dad 

● Publication on September 1, 2013 of Not So Fast. Related activates: at the Lifesavers 

Conference in Denver in April, a focus group of parents who read the final manuscript, 

offered comments, and universally said that it is an excellent resource unlike anything else 

available on the market; and in August 2013, at the Governors Highway Safety 

Administration conference in San Diego, Connecticut Children's Medical Center, Kohl's 

Stores, and Ct Department of Transportation paid for and distributed the book to the 

senior leadership of NHTSA and the other 49 state's Highway Safety Offices. 

● In May and June 2013, my daughter Martha, now 21, appeared in a safe teen driving PSA 

http://connecticutchildrens.org/
http://www.kohlsroadsafety.org/
http://www.fromreidsdad.org/


2013 Connecticut Teen Safe Driving Report                                             
32 

paid for by Kohl's and produced by Connecticut Children's Medical Center. 

● From October through December 2013, Gary Lapidus, head of the Injury Prevention 

Center at CCMC, and I conducted a Connecticut Library Tour, with our stop in Simsbury 

recorded on Ct-N and now available as an On Demand video under "Friends of Simsbury 

Library, Nov 14, 2013." In addition, I have published guest posts on Huffington Post 

Impact; the Century Council's IKnowEverything program; the National Safety Council's 

Drive It Home website; and IDriveSafely, one of the nation's largest online driving schools. 

All of the national media coverage of Not So Fast is collected on www.nsfteendirivng.com 

under "Book/Media Coverage." 

● I am working to try to interest several national organizations in revising their parent-teen 

driving agreements to follow the national model that appears on my blog, 

www.fromreidsdad.org, and which Ct DMV used as a resource in its new model adopted in 

2012. 

● Lastly, I continue to post on my blog, which in November 2013 attracted nearly 18,000 

visitors. 

 

!MPACT (Mourning Parents Act, Inc.) 

● Rebranded its safe teen driving presentation -- now known as !MPACT's Drive 4 

Tomorrow Program 

● Reached thousands of teens through !MPACT's Drive 4 Tomorrow Program, which in 

2013 was presented in 32 separate forums, including high schools and St. Francis 

Hospital. 

● Expanded its membership. 

● Took preliminary action to expand its billboard awareness program to broaden-- 

a. the messaging by addressing specific teen driving safety concerns and 

b. the territory covered by adding more locations. 

● Advocated for teen driving safety policy changes at the state and federal levels by, among 

other things, participating in a national press conference in Washington DC urging states 

to adopt primary safety laws recommended by Advocates of Highway and Auto Safety. 

● Commenced an evaluation of safety issues relating to older teen drivers, specifically 18 

and 19-year-olds, and the feasibility of expanding certain GDL laws to address the high 

incidence of crashes, fatalities and injuries among that age group.  

● Continued to serve as an active participant on Connecticut DMV Commissioner's Advisory 

Committee on Safe Teen Driving and as a member of the Connecticut Safe Teen Driving 

http://mourningparentsact.org/
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Partnership.  

● Participated as a judge in the Connecticut DMV's annual video contest.  

● Was instrumental in establishing December 1-8, 2013 as Safe Teen Driving Awareness 

Week in Connecticut, which was designated by Governor Dannel P. Malloy.  

 

 

Yale-New Haven Children's Hospital 

● Even though there has been ample research performed on the increased crash incidence 

for novice teen drivers with passengers, little has been done in regards to the effects that 

different types of passengers. With funding from the Allstate Foundation, Yale-New Haven 

Children's Hospital's Trauma Center conducted a study to identify the effects on the 

behavior of novice teen drivers dependent upon the type of passenger 

(parents/guardians, siblings, other teens or no passengers) in the vehicle. The data 

collected from roughly 3,500 surveys will allow for light to be shed upon the effects of the 

passenger on the teen driver and will ultimately lead to the development of effective 

education and behavior change interventions. The results are currently underway with the 

help of Preusser Research Group. 

● Four underage drinking and driving forums at Monroe High School ( 150 students/200 

parents), Trumbull High School 425 students/ 450 parents), and Foran High School ( 175 

students/200parents) and Johnathan Law High School ( 150 students/175 parents) both in 

Milford. These schools have made this a top priority and a mandatory requirement with 

students having to attend the forums with at least one parent or they have to write a 

10-page paper on driving and drinking. Speakers consisted of a trauma surgeon, Dr. Gary 

Kaml, sharing an experience of having to tell families about their loved one's injuries or 

worse death, as well as those from law enforcement, experts describing the use of the 

internet to check on teens, and most importantly teen and young adult drivers sharing the 

consequences they experienced because of driving under the influence. 

 

 

 

 

  

http://www.ynhh.org/yale-new-haven-childrens-hospital/default.aspx?source=ynhch.html
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Conclusion 
The 2013 report offers policymakers, parents, safety advocates and teens many reasons 

to praise the benefits of the overall efforts in the last decade to reduce crashes, injuries and 

deaths among 16- and 17-year-old drivers. The patchwork efforts of groups statewide have 

contributed to the growing discussions about the benefits of strong laws and strong training 

requirements. It shows how the progression of recognizing this vulnerable group of drivers in 

1997 with the start of a learner’s permit to the adoption of initial restrictions in 2004 and further 

restrictions in 2008 has saved lives, limited injuries and reduced crashes and the costs associated 

with them. There is also no question that a poorly performing economy, which developed about 

the time the additional restrictions occurred, helped to aid in lowering the instances of deaths and 

injuries in this age group by reducing both the number of teen drivers and the number of miles 

driven by teen drivers. However, the changes are so dramatic that the economy alone did not 

cause them. It is clear, according to transportation researchers, that enhanced laws, more 

parental concern and rules at home, more conversation and adherence by teens to home rules 

and driving laws, various efforts at enforcement of the laws, a cottage industry of public health and 

other safety advocates talking about the need for better safe driving practices and an attentive 

group of state policymakers have in the last 10 years turned teen driving into a clear and present 

safety concern that resonates with communities.  

  

Yet, there is more work to be done. Many communities through their high schools 

embrace the issue, but many more could to join that league. There also are communities scarred 

by tragedy from the death of a teen driver and possibly passengers. With the passing of time as 

that jarring sense of loss recedes, communities return to business-as-usual. With each new crop 

of 16- and 17-year-old drivers that come every year, communities need to renew their 

commitment to road safety.  They need to make good on their pledge to work in their own unique 

ways to keep the safety discussion invigorated. New parents and new teens enter this vulnerable 

period of both risk and testing boundaries that pave the way toward adulthood. Community spirit 

has had the power in the last decade to help make that journey a little safer and reduce tragedies 

and all their painful effects through persistent advocacy on teen safe driving. The next decade 

needs to see these efforts to continue.  

  

The report also sets a compass reading for safety advocates and policymakers to 

consider regarding the regulation of 18- and 19-year-old drivers. The growing body of statistical 

evidence, medical studies and cultural understandings is that this group continues to retain 
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serious vulnerabilities behind the wheel. As stated earlier in the report, trends indicate that some 

16 and 17 year-olds have waited until they were older for licensure and likewise some of the 18 

and 19 year-olds delayed licensure until their early 20s mostly because of expense of owning and 

maintaining a vehicle. The economy has driven older teens to remain at home and a New York 

Times story in 2010 coined the term, "The changing timetable for adulthood." Getting a license is 

not seen as the rite of passage that it once was. In addition, many attend a college or university 

that prohibits the parking of vehicles on campus until the second or third year, removing any 

immediate need for obtaining a license. Any licensing delay for the youngest drivers most often 

brings an escape from Connecticut's strict teen driving laws, including the beneficial passenger 

restrictions and bans on cell phone use. It can have far-reaching effects that sometimes pass 

unnoticed. This remains an issue for consideration in the coming years and a subject for further 

study. 
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