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Introduction

Parents play a crucial role in the licensing of their sons and daughters. They make decisions about the
timing of licensure, teach driving skills, impose rules about driving privileges, and control access to
vehicles. Parents now carry out these tasks in the context of graduated licensing (GDL), which extends
the learner phase and requires that a minimum number of hours of supervised driving be done, and
establishes night and passenger restrictions in the initial license phase.

GDL empowers parents by giving them a set of sensible rules designed to protect young beginners while
they are learning. However, it is important that parents know the rules, understand and appreciate
their rationale, and know that they may need to supplement them with their own rules. In general,
parents need to understand the dangers involved in teen driving, and that their close involvement is
necessary not only in the initial supervisory phase, but in the high risk period right after initial licensure
and beyond. It is also important that parents have an understanding of best practices in teaching their
teen to drive, recognizing that their own driving behavior--for better or worse-- has been a model for
their teen for many years.

Parents clearly have a vested interest in protecting their children from motor vehicle injuries. However,
there is great variation in the knowledge and actions of parents during the licensing process that can
have safety effects, and many parents are deficient in these areas. Research has shown that many
parents do not know the graduated licensing rules in their state and/or do not understand the reason
for them. Since it is well known that parents are the chief enforcers of GDL rules, the importance of
their knowing and buying in to them is obvious. Studies also have indicated that many parents do not
appreciate the high risks involved in teen driving, why they exist, and the extreme risk involved in some
driving situations, such as when teens transport other teens. In addition, many parents are unsure
about the best techniques and practices for supervising the initial driving of their teens.

There are instructional and advisory materials for dealing with all of these topics, but merely providing
parents with these materials has been found to be insufficient. Parent orientation sessions on how to
handle the licensing process are available in some areas, but their availability is limited and the sessions
are optional. In August, 2008, Connecticut became the first state to require a parent or legal guardian of
a 16- or 17-year-old to complete a two-hour training course before a driver’s license could be obtained.
The course was designed to cover risk factors in teen driving, the learning-to-drive process, the
Connecticut GDL law and its rationale, and the parental role in driving supervision, involvement in the
licensing process, and in supporting the GDL law. To determine reactions to and evaluations of this
course, a telephone survey was conducted of participating parents in its first year of existence.

Results & Methods

A list was provided by the DMV with names and phone numbers of 16 and 17 year olds who had
recently been licensed. Phone numbers were acquired via internet phone number directories matching
last name and address of the teen. Of the 1,688 names looked up, 1,193 resulted in a phone number
(71%). All but 176 of these had at least one attempted call resulting in 300 completed interviews.



All of these were calls to parents or guardians of the teens who took the 2 hour course. Of these, 63%
were mothers, 36% were fathers and 1 teen had both parents attend the class. There was 35% of the
parents who had incomes at or below $100,000; 43% had higher incomes and; and 22% did not answer.
Most parents had at least a college degree (79%). The majority of parents also had a prior teen that had
gone through the licensing process (61%) (See Table 1). Of the 296 parents that reported an age, the
average age was 49 (Median = 48.5).

The teens were somewhat evenly split between males (51%) and females (47%) with 2% of the parents
have more than 1 teen going through the process simultaneously (See Table 2).

Of the 299 parents who knew whether their teen was home schooled or went to a commerecial driving
school, 83% sent their teen to a commercial school. Parents making over $100k per year were more
likely to send their teens to a commercial school (88%) than parents making less than that (72%) (x2
=9.93, p =0.002).

All questions were analyzed to explore differences between the demographics described above. Only
significant (p <0 .01) findings are reported. For parent responses to the questionnaire, percentages
exclude unknown/ don’t know responses unless otherwise noted. The number of parents for
unknown/don’t know are reported.

Table 1. Parent Demographics Table 2. Teen Demographics
Number | % Sex of Teen
Sex of Parent Male | 153 | 51%
Mother 190 | 63% Female | 142 | 47%
Father 109 | 36% More than 1 Teen 5| 2%
Both 1| 0% School Grades
Household Income A | 158 | 53%
<= $100k 104 | 35% B | 125 | 42%
> $100k 129 | 43% Cl| 17| 6%
DK/Refused 67 | 22% Teen’s Age
Highest Education: 15| 2| 1%
High School 28| 9% 16 | 269 | 90%
Some College 35 | 12% 17| 29| 10%
College Degree 123 | 41% Commercial or Home Schooledt
Some Grad/Prof. Home | 51 | 17%
School 20| 7% Commercial | 248 | 83%
Graduate Degree 93 | 31% * 15 is not a valid licensing age, these 2
DK/Refused 1] 0% responses treated as “missing.”
Prior Experience
1st Teen Through 111 | 37% t 1 parent did not know
Prior Teens Through 184 | 61%
DK/Refused 5| 2%




Attitudes towards the class were overall very positive (See Table 3). Parents overwhelmingly agreed
with the statements that: training helped their role as a parent of teen driver (85%); training will
prevent teen crashes (71%); their trainer was knowledgeable (97%); the class was well organized (90%);
the training was informative (92%); they approved of the requirement (83%) and; they would
recommend the class to other parents (82%). Parents reported that overall the course was excellent or
good 86% of the time.

Table 3. Parents attitudes regarding class (agreed with statement)

‘ Number of Parents | % of Parents
Training helped in my role as parent of teen driver
Agree 252 85%
Disagree 46 15%
Don't Know/Refused 2
Training will prevent teen car crashes
Agree 210 71%
Disagree 87 29%
Don't Know/Refused 3
My trainer was knowledgeable
Agree 290 97%
Disagree 9 3%
Don't Know/Refused 1
The class was NOT well organized
Agree 29 10%
Disagree 270 90%
Don't Know/Refused 1
The training was informative
Agree 275 92%
Disagree 25 8%
| approve of the training requirement
Agree 247 83%
Disagree 49 17%
Don't Know/Refused 4
I would recommend the course to other parents
Agree 245 82%
Disagree 52 18%
Don't Know/Refused 3
Overall rating of the course
Excellent/Good 256 86%
Fair/Poor 43 14%
Don't Know/Refused 1

Note: Agree/Disagree includes “strongly” and “somewhat” agree/disagree.



Parents were asked if they did new things with their teen driver as a result of the course. Of the 291 who
responded, 43% percent reported that they did something new. The most frequently reported “new”
things parents did was “enforce” or at least remind the student about the laws regarding teen drivers
and spent more, or better quality instruction time with the students.

Parents were asked if they would enforce driving laws more as a result of having taken the class. Of the
298 parents who responded, 34% said they would be more likely to enforce the laws (another 64% said
they would have enforced them anyway). Fathers were more likely to say that they would enforce as a
result of the training (44%) compared to mothers (28%) but mothers reported they would have enforced
anyway (71%) compared to fathers (53%; x2 = 10.5, p = .006).

Parents were asked if various topics were covered in the class, and then if they knew the information
provided before the class (i.e. did they get new information). Most topics were reportedly covered (90%
+ of parents say the topic was covered). Responses of “Don’t know” were included in the percentages
(See Table 4 for details).

A few topics were less well covered. The topic of complete teen brain development (or lack thereof)
was reported to have been covered by 52% of parents (19% did not know if it was covered or not). More
parents for whom this was their first teen through the process reported that they were unsure if this
was taught (28%) than parents who had a teen go through the process earlier (14%). Vehicle choice was
reported to have been taught to 31% of the parents ( 17% were unsure if it was covered or not). “Other
risk factors” were reported to have been covered by 55% of parents (with 13% not sure if it was covered
or not). Given that all three of these had a relatively high proportion of parents being unsure if it was
covered or not, it is difficult to ascertain if it was indeed not covered or that the wording in the
questionnaire left parents not understanding what topic was being asked about.

Parents responded to whether they had already known the information regardless of whether or not
they reported having been taught the topic. Four topics were already well known by parents with at
least 80% of the parents reporting that they already knew the information (Teen involvement in fatal
crashes; distraction; alcohol; and; use of electronic devices). Information on passenger restrictions, time
curfew and the suspension of teen licenses were unknown by between 22% and 37% of parents.
Information about brain development, vehicle choice, penalties and other risk factors were unknown
between 41% and 54% of the time.

Next parents were asked what the new teen driving regulations were. The regulations pertaining to
passenger restrictions state that newly licensed drivers may not have any passengers except a parent or
driving instructor for the 1% 6 months (the second 6 months allows other immediate family members).
We considered a parent has accurate knowledge of the law if they said no passengers are allowed for
the first 6 months regardless of whether they said parents or driving instructors were excepted. Using
this definition, 65% of parents knew the law.

The regulations also require nighttime restrictions (no driving) between the hours of 11PM and 5AM
with exceptions for work, school, religion and medical necessity. We considered a parent as having
accurate knowledge of the law if they mention a restriction of driving between 11PM and 5AM



regardless of whether or not they knew the exceptions. Given this definition, 77% of parents knew the

law.

There were 38% of parents reporting not knowing when asked about the regulations regarding alcohol
for teens. About 10% reported that the regulations were either a BAC of .01, .08 or the same as for
adults. There 40% who were accurate reporting either 0 tolerance (any alcohol is illegal) or a BAC of
0.02.

Table 4. Topics Reported to be Covered and Already Known

Parents Reporting Topic Covered iirgc\;zgfﬁgﬁ?grﬁﬁgiz
Number % Number %

Teen Involvement in
fatal crashes 241 90% 253 84%
Distraction 282 94% 280 93%
Brain Development 155 52% 161 54%
Vehicle Choice 94 31% 138 46%
Passenger restriction 287 96% 231 77%
Time Curfew 287 96% 213 71%
Alcohol 293 98% 298 99%
Electronic Device Use 284 95% 275 92%
Penalties 280 93% 175 58%
Suspension for Violation 285 95% 188 63%
Other Risk Factors 166 55% 116 39%

* Includes “Don’t Know”

Most parents knew that there was a ban on teen cell phone use with 85% reported that they were never
allowed to use a cell phone (with a hands free device) while driving. Parents of 16 year olds reported
this 86% of the time compared to parents of 17 year olds who said “never” 72% of the time (x2 = 25.91,
p < 0.001).

Parents were asked about their interest in a variety of potential learning opportunities. When asked if
they would be interested in taking driving lessons for parents from professional instructor 32% were
very or somewhat interested. They reported 48% of the time that they would be interested (very or
somewhat) in being coached by a professional on how to teach their teen to drive. Also, 40% said they
were very or somewhat interested in talking with parents who had gone through the process previously.

Only 12% parents reported that there were topics that they wished were covered but were not. The
majority however listed topics to be taught to the teens NOT to the parents (noting that this was only
the first 2 hours of an 8 hour requirement for the teens).

About 13% of parents reported that their teen gets “distracted” at least once per trip. Fathers were
more likely than mothers to report that a teen gets distracted (Fathers: 20%; Mothers:9%) (x2 = 8.11, p =



0.004). There were 67% of parents that reported being extremely or somewhat concerned about
distracted driving.

About 10% of the teens were 17 when they started the licensing process. It was of some interest to
know why they delayed their licensure. Of the 29 parents whose teen waited until 17, 34% clearly
mentioned teen maturity, grades or responsibility as the reason for delay. Some other more ambiguous
responses may have indicated maturity also but were not included in the percentage. There were 17%
who responded that it was the teen’s choice and another 14% whose teens did not have the time at 16
to go through the process. The remaining reasons were other things like cost and weather, but some
were ambiguous in that they could have multiple meanings. For example, a response like “we waited
until he was ready” could mean maturity or teen choice.

Parents were asked if the driving instructors expressed any dissatisfaction with the DMV during the
course; only 5% of parents said they did.

Discussion

The survey results provide strong endorsement for the parent orientation requirement. Most parents
approved of the requirement, would recommend the training to other parents, gave the course and the
instructors high ratings and thought that the training would help them in their role as a parent of a teen
driver. Specifically, almost half said that because of the training, they were doing things with their teen
they would not have done otherwise, and many said that they were more likely to enforce GDL rules as
a result of the instruction. Almost all parents were satisfied that all relevant topics were covered during
the course.

There clearly is need for a parent orientation course. There was considerable variation among parents
in what they knew about the topics that were covered, but a substantial number had limited knowledge
about teen crash risk factors and the particulars of the Connecticut graduated licensing law. Parents
professed to have the least knowledge about vehicle choice factors, and more than two-thirds reported
that information on this important topic was not covered in the course.

The survey results do not reveal the extent to which teen driving behavior and crash involvement is
affected by the parent training, compared with that of teens prior to the requirement. However, they
do suggest that the course is having beneficial effects, and is an excellent way to inform parents about
issues they should be familiar with, and to motivate them to be more involved in guiding their teens
through the dangerous early-driving period.



