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Executive Summary 
Connecticut is entering its fourth year of having toughened and strengthened teen driving laws.  
These measures remain among the strongest in the country. By many critical standards, 
Connecticut for several reasons continues to show signs of improved safe driving by teens, 
enforcement of the teen driving laws by police and promotion of community awareness 
propelled by safety advocates and parents. A strained state budget now will require the DMV 
Center for Teen Safe Driving to seek private-sector and foundation-provided funding to continue 
this outreach that helps to produce these beneficial effects for teen drivers, their families and 
their communities.  
 
This year’s report finds most noticeably the number of 16 and 17 year-olds holding licenses has 
continued to decrease, despite their statewide population remaining stable since 2008 when the 
laws were enacted. Although safety advocates differ on interpreting the reasons, all agree this 
decrease plays a beneficial role in Connecticut’s progress because of the continued reductions 
– as the charts in this report show - in crashes and deaths of drivers as well as convictions for 
violating the teen driving laws. These criteria alone embrace the core reasons for statewide 
action three years ago: A demand to curb the tragedies that crashes bring and a call for more 
intensive efforts to foster safer teen driving both through awareness as well as sanctions.  
 
A series of high-profile crashes in 2007 triggered an intensive nine-month public awareness and 
law-changing campaign in 2008. A task force to recommend changes to teen driving laws was 
formed. Safety advocates including those from the state and federal government, education, law 
enforcement, public health, medicine, parents and others examined the issue and proposed 
solutions. Their proposals brought revamped laws requiring longer periods of passenger 
restrictions for teen drivers, an earlier 11 p.m. curfew time for these drivers to be off the road 
except for certain situations, harder penalties through increased fines and license suspensions 
for violators of the laws, rigorous training requirements for study and on-the-road practice, and a 
mandated parent-teen information session about safe driving and teen development. This report 
shows in detailed ways with numbers – and explanations from some of the advocates 
themselves --  the significant progress Connecticut continues to make in preventing these 
tragedies and fostering awareness among teens and parents for safety precautions.  
 
Crashes overall are down by 28 percent when comparing 2007 - the year before the laws were 
passed -- to 2009, the latest figures from the state Department of Transportation for crashes in 
which 16 or 17 year-old drivers’ were determined to be the contributing factor. Fatal crashes of 
any kind – whether the teen driver was at fault or not - remain below their 13 per-year average 
from 2005 through 2008, when the new laws took effect. 
  
Most convictions on these young drivers' records show a trending decrease. Convictions are 
down for violations for cell phone use and distracted driving, speeding, driving under the 
influence (per se), and failure to wear a seat belt or having more passenger than seat belts. 
Convictions for violating the passenger restrictions and curfew laws, the 2010 final numbers 
reflect an increase over the previous year. Although only 647 is being reported so far for 2011, 
this final number could rise as courts close outstanding cases.  
 
However, the continuing issuance of citations reflects the pledge of law enforcement to help 
teens learn about safe driving. Police continue to enforce Connecticut’s 48-hour suspension 
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law, which affects predominantly male 16 and 17-year-old drivers. The on-the-spot suspension 
is designed to send a quick and swift message to both parent and teen that the laws must be 
obeyed. When a teen is charged with violating one of the toughened driving laws for them, 
police can seize the license for 48 hours, file a suspension report with the DMV and then 
parents must sign at the police station for the return of the license. Since August 1, 2008, police 
have made more than 1,500 seizures. Police on-the-street presence helps to contribute to 
robust community outreach that grows each year.  
 
Connecticut is showing that it has the will and determination to make driving safer for this age 
group, said former task force consultant Dr. David Preusser of Preusser Research Group, Inc., 
a Trumbull research firm that studies teen driving as part of transportation safety analysis it 
does for state and federal agencies. However, one significant aspect about keeping that effort 
strong at the DMV Center for Teen Safe Driving in the years ahead will be funding for its 
projects. Limited staff, resources and funding pose a challenge to find private sector as well as 
foundation revenue sources for fostering community outreach across the state. One significant 
project, The DMV Teen Safe Driving Video Contest, with the Travelers Companies as the 
contributing prize sponsor, has shown continued growth since its inception. Other kinds of 
projects have the same potential, but lack the funding sources to bring them statewide or to 
targeted communities.    
 
Public awareness about the laws and consequences of poor driving by teens reach daily into 
the lives of young drivers. They are often brought together by their generation’s unique place in 
history to have Twitter, YouTube, Facebook and other social networking sites. They promote 
and share their ideas, concerns and criticisms that in turn spread important safety messages in 
many different ways to a multitude of audiences. For example, the DMV Teen Safe Driving 
Center’s YouTube site with teens’ self-made videos has garnered 42,500 views of its videos. 
The Center has more than 219 people are following it on Twitter and its Facebook and web 
pages continue to get visitors daily. Teens and other safety advocates report constant activity 
on their social networking pages as well. In addition, the brick-and-mortar person-to-person 
presentations occur by groups like Mourning Parents Act Inc., Connecticut Children’s Medical 
Center, Yale-New Haven Hospital’s Truama Department and scores of police departments, high 
schools, insurance companies and community-based organizations.  
 
DMV is proud of the work statewide community supporters have given to teens and their 
families for this cause, and their wanting to protect them from dangers acutely facing new 
drivers, said Commissioner Melody A. Currey, pointing out that this work is the foundation for 
Connecticut’s continued progress.   
 
 
*Report prepared by William K. Seymour, Director, DMV Center for Teen Safe Driving 
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Licensing information 
Licensing data continues to show an overall decline. The total number of licensed 16- and 17- 
year-old drivers has dropped since the laws were first enacted.  
 

 

 

 

 
For comparison, in 2001 the 16-year-old licensing rate was 42 percent. For 17 year-olds, the 
licensing rate was 64 percent.  To see the change another way, below is a chart showing the 
changes in specific numbers of all licensed 16 and 17 year-olds on each July 1 for the past four 
years. 
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Population of both age groups in the last four years has been relatively constant each year 
since August 1, 2008. Dr. Preusser, of Preusser Research Group, said his studies indicate a 
number of factors for this change in licensing. Chiefly is the combination of family shortage of 
discretionary spending in a poorly performing economy and Connecticut’s toughened laws 
making the allure of having a driver’s license for some less inviting. He said that those families 
whose teen needs a license will find a way to afford the costs associated with driver training and 
providing a vehicle. Yet, clearly an increasing number don’t see the need and some teens are 
opting out of getting one when they immediately can qualify.  
 
Driving, he said, is losing some of its social status position as a “right of passage” or signal of 
independence. Teens are finding different measures to gauge that stage in life. Other advocates 
offered that parents also have chauffeured teens more than those in past generations and the 
perceived need for a vehicle is not as strong by the teen. In addition, more colleges restrict the 
use of cars on campus during a first and second year and this plays a part in delayed licensure.  

The New York Times pointed to this decline nationally in 2008 when it reported that the 
proportion of 16-year-olds nationwide who hold driver’s licenses has dropped from nearly half to 
less than one-third, according to statistics from the Federal Highway Administration. “Reasons 
vary, including tighter state laws governing when teenagers can drive, higher insurance costs 
and a shift from school-run driver education to expensive private driving academies.To that mix, 
experts also add parents who are willing to chauffeur their children to activities, and pastimes 
like surfing the Web that keep them indoors and glued to computers,” the paper’s report stated. 

Dr. Preusser pointed out that parents today are becoming more concerned than previous 
generations of parents about the dangers of teen driving and the risks the come with it for 
everyone.   
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Crash information 
The latest federal statistics for 2009 and 2010 show an increase from six to nine in the number 
of fatal crashes in which a 16 or 17-year-old driver was involved regardless of fault. These do 
not separate only those teens determined to be a contributing factor to the crash. For all drivers 
involved in fatal crashes, Connecticut in 2010 alone saw a nearly 40 percent increase over the 

2009 period. Across all 
driver ages, Connecticut 
in 2010 saw an increase 
of 16 percent versus the 
2007-2009 overall 
average. Safety 
advocates point out that 
an increase for teens 
would not be unusual 
given the statewide 
figures for all drivers.  

To see the numbers of 
crashes that could involve 
judgment and other 
driving-related factors in a 
teen, the state 

Department of Transportation records for 2009 are the most recent available. In those records 
the number of overall crashes in which the driver in this age group has been considered “at 
fault” or a “contributing factor” to the crash has been falling steadily from 2007 through 2009.  
 
The total numbers for those crashes involving 16 and 17-year-old drivers have dropped since 
2007: 

• 5,640  in 2007 
• 4,704 in 2008 
• 4,502 in 2009 

 
Safety advocates point out that the numbers are reducing in part because fewer teens are 
obtaining licenses, but they maintain as well that the increased safety awareness by both 
parents and teens are also contributing to greater safety behind the wheel. 
 
Below are selected tables from the state DOT’s Connecticut Accident Summary tables for 
January 1, 2009 through December 31, 2009, for crashes involving 16- and 17-year-old drivers 
of vehicles requiring a state license and in which the teen driver was determined to be a 
contributing factor to the crash.  
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Danbury, which has reported 
the highest crash rate for this 
segment of drivers for several 
years, has recently begun to 
take aggressive action. Police 
officials there this fall will begin 
offering safety information to 
teens seeking licenses and 
their parents. Other police 
departments in the state as 
well as high schools have 
started similar kinds of 
education programs either as 
special seminars or part of 
classroom curriculum 
 

 
Conviction information 
Most convictions on DMV records for the new teen driving laws 
continue to fall except the for the passenger restriction and 
curfew laws. 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
Last year’s adjusted numbers that 
come as courts closeout cases 
showed an increased in 
convictions for passenger 
restrictions and curfew violations 
when compared to the first year of 
the new teen driving laws. While 
this year’s numbers are lower, they 
are nearly the same as reported 
last year. If the same increase 
follows, then that number could 
rise to about the same 850 range. 
However, in all other areas of the 
laws, the adjusted numbers 
continue to indicate a downward 
trend in convictions. 
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“By many measures, 
especially convictions for 
offenses related to teen 
driving laws, we are seeing 
the help of police in both 
enforcing the law and in 
spreading the word about 
safety to our most 
inexperienced drivers.” 

 Dr. Brendan T. 
Campbell, 
Connecticut 
Children’s Medical 
Center 
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48-Hour Suspension Information 
In 2008 when the Connecticut General Assembly passed the laws to help teens become better 

drivers, it included a 
first-in-the-nation 
provision for police to 
give a 48-hour 
suspension of a teen 
driver’s license for 
certain violations, such 
as passenger 
restrictions, curfew, 
speeding, reckless 
driving and driving 
under the influence. 
Nearly 1,500 such 
suspensions have 
occurred since August 
1, 2008. The rationale 
behind the law centered 
on making both teens  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

DUI Per Se 
Convictions 
dropped 38% 
by the second 
year of the 
new laws. 
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and parents 
aware that a 
violation had 
occurred. Teens 
whose licenses 
were seized by 
police for 48 
hours would get 
them back by 
appearing 
personally at the 
police station with 
a parent who 
would sign for it.  
By the second 
year of the laws, 
there was a 32-
percent increase 

in the number of 48-hour suspensions filed with the DMV. However, this last year shows a four-
percent reduction – 532 filed in total for last year compared to 556 the previous year. It is not a 
law evenly applied with every violation issued. DMV records show that 647 convictions were 
entered for last year on passenger restrictions and curfew violations alone, an offense that could 
bring a 48-hour suspension. However, police departments are becoming more aware of the law 
as a tool for education. The DMV Center for Teen Safe Driving, in conjunction with the 
Connecticut Police Chiefs Association would like to take the opportunity on this third anniversary 
of the tougher teen driving laws in Connecticut to thank police officers across the state for their 
work. They help to make teens safer by identifying those who are in violation and take the 
necessary steps to ensure that our laws are properly and fairly enforced and everyone 
understands the consequences of violating those laws.    
 
 
Public Awareness Activities Information 
 
DMV Center for Teen Safe Driving 
 
DMV Teens Safe Driving Contest 
The Department of Motor Vehicles’ Center for Teen Safe Driving (ct.gov/teendriving), in 
conjunction with its corporate prize sponsor Travelers, has for the last three years offered to 
high school students statewide, or students of high school age who are home educated, a 
contest for creating award-winning teen safe-driving video public service announcements. It is 
called "From the Driver's Seat to the Director's Chair."  Winning students in three categories 
share $9,000 in cash prizes, provided by Travelers, to their high schools. Students also received 
an evening of recognition and celebration in a gala affair also sponsored by Travelers. The 
three-year statistics and growth of the contest show an overwhelming success. The number of 
videos entered this year increased by 100 percent - to 164 from around the state -- and the 571 
students involved nearly doubled from the previous year. That number increases to 1,063 
students for the entire three years the contest has run. Added to that is the DMV Center for 
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Teen Safe Driving YouTube channel recording 43,000 upload views of contest videos in the last 
two years (youtube.com/teensafedriving12) . The contest's Facebook page   
(tinyurl.com/facebookdmvteens) shows more than 18,000 page views for the same period. 
 
In addition, more categories of recognition were added for students and teachers: 

• The St. Francis Care Award to Schools and Teachers for Most Consecutive Yearly 
Rankings in Top 10 Prize ($1,000 in total) - $500 to each teacher for use in providing a 
teen-safe driving program 

• The Travelers Challenge Prize -  most views of a Top 10 Contest entry posted on DMV 
Teen Safe Driving Center YouTube site - $1,000 to the school to use in providing a teen-
safe driving program 

• !IMPACT and The Connecticut Children's Award to School with the Most Entries in 
Contest Prize - $500 to the school to use in providing a teen-safe driving program 

• National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Recognition Award to Principals - 
Certificates 

• The University of Hartford School of Communication Award to All Top 10 Student 
Directors and High Schools for Ranking Top 10 for Video Communication Excellence 

 
This social responsibility project was suggested in 2008 by teens on DMV's teen advisory 
panel. It told DMV officials that "teens talking to teens" could have strong credibility. Teens like 
hearing from other teens and they want a message that relates directly to their lives. They said 
teens don't want a message with adults telling them what to do. They also said that teens 
should be featured in any commercials, advertisements, school assemblies or other 
presentations.  
 
From this overall sentiment, DMV created this contest for teens to design and produce a short 
and crisp 25-second video public service announcement. Teenagers would be its target 
audience as well as the main actors, directors and producers of the videos. The contest's 
promotion of teen safe driving messages featuring teens talking to teens involves more than just 
teens learning about safety by creating and producing their videos. The contest also promotes 
the messages through the work of teens in their schools, the display of the videos on DMV and 
associated safety partners' websites and social networking sites and the use of the videos on 
state and national public awareness projects, such as the National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration's pilot demonstration project in Connecticut on distracted driving.  
  
This continuing success builds on growth each year of participating students, schools, teachers 
and parents. Collective work among these many people breeds a deeper understanding of 
Connecticut's teen driving laws as well as safe driving practices. That is the ultimate goal: 
Understanding the laws and safety measures with a hope that teens will follow them to reduce 
crashes, injuries and deaths. By reaching large numbers of teens and parents through the video 
contest, DMV believes it is educating them and developing public awareness about teen safe 
driving in meaningful ways.  
  
 
 

http://www.youtube.com/teensafedriving12�
http://tinyurl.com/facebookdmvteens�
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Funding for Center for Teen Safe Driving 
The DMV Center for Teen Safe Driving was created in 2008 as part of a major initiative to 
address reform of teen driving laws. It will soon start an aggressive outreach for funding 
continued activities. The Center's work focuses on effects of laws and legislation, increasing 
public awareness and establishing public-private partnerships to research and address myriad 
issues connected to teen behavior behind the wheel. DMV continues to work with a variety of 
statewide partners to coordinate, to support, to sponsor and to create activities of all kinds in 
communities across the state. Key program elements are local coalition development, peer-
driven efforts, parent mobilization, health care community engagement and graduated driver 
license law enforcement. By mobilizing across a wide spectrum of individuals and organizations, 
and promoting peer, parent, healthcare, and enforcement activities, the Center aims to change 
the culture of teen driving and take the initiative to help prevent the public health problem. By 
evaluating the impact of programs, laws and awareness, the Center looks to establish model 
programs that other communities can replicate.  
 
Funding for its activities has been scarce due to extreme limitations in the state budget and 
limited opportunities to seek funds. However, its video contest has shown the potential for 
success, as well as its partnerships with other organizations, when funding is supplied. Previous 
contributions have come from Travelers, Allstate, State Farm insurance companies and federal 
funds through the Governor’s Highway Safety Office at the state Department of Transportation. 
 
 
Selected Safety Advocates in Their Own Words 
  
Chief Douglas S. Fuchs, Redding Police Department 
President, Connecticut Police Chiefs Association 
Since its inception here in Connecticut nearly three years ago, Police Chiefs across the state 
have been avid supporters of the graduated license requirements for teens as well as strict 
consequences for actions which violate those regulations.  That being said, all of us would much 
rather educate parents and teens about these laws and inherent dangers than take enforcement 
action against violators or make that knock on the door at 3 o’clock in the morning.   

To that end, in August of 2008 the Connecticut Police Chiefs Association in conjunction with 
Channel 3 and DMV launched a PSA campaign to educate residents of the then, “new” law and 
what it meant for new drivers.  This campaign was bolstered by two subsequent videos: one to 
educate police officers in Connecticut regarding the proper enforcement of these provisions and 
one to educate parents and teenagers.   

In 2010 we again teamed up with Channel 3 and The Hartford insurance company to launch the 
“I Promise” campaign aimed at educating motorists, especially new drivers, of the dangers 
associated with distracted driving.  In an effort to capture the teen audience, celebrities whom 
are attractive to that age group were utilized to convey the message. 

In 2011 DMV and the CPCA will explore ways to bring more information about teen driving to 
officers throughout the state.  
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Law Enforcement spends a great deal of time educating parents and teens in our schools as 
well as targeting the risky or dangerous behaviors in an effort to reduce senseless injuries and 
fatalities which are associated with speeding, reckless driving, driving while under the influence 
and “curfew” violations.  We know when our youth is most likely to fall victim to these behaviors: 
on a Thursday or Friday, sometime during the late evening or early morning hours and either 
when on break (January) or immediately following the end of a school year (June).  It should 
also be noted that where we have seen the highest levels of teen crashes, for which a 16 or 17 
year old was the contributing factor, are in cities which are “shopping destinations” that have 
large malls or other gathering places for our kids.    

We will continue to work very closely with the Department of Transportation Highway Safety 
Office to secure grants which will allow us to put out extra patrols during those “dangerous” 
times as high visibility is one of our best deterrents for those who are not swayed by education.   

Sherry Chapman, President, Mourning Parents Act, Inc. 
Mourning Parents Act, Inc., also known as !MPACT, is a non-profit organization of volunteers 
whose mission is to eliminate tragedies caused by inexperienced drivers through awareness, 
education and legislation. All of !MPACT's programs are offered to the public free of charge.  
!MPACT is made up of a broad coalition of family members and friends who have lost loved 
ones in crashes involving teen drivers. In the last year, !MPACT's membership has grown to 
include young victim survivors and surviving drivers of crashes which resulted in teen deaths.  
 
During this reporting period, !MPACT expanded its awareness and education programs. 
It presented its teen driving safety program in 37 separate forums, primarily high schools, 
reaching approximately 17,500 teens and parents.  In addition, !MPACT partnered with a CT 
University radio station to develop and air a public safety message regarding distracted driving 
that is still getting play time. !MPACT has also been active in the past year in the policy making 
arena, promoting legislation at the federal level that will serve to protect teens throughout the 
United States, and by testifying at the state level against changes to Connecticut's very robust 
GDL program.  
  
Joseph T. Cristalli, Safety Program Coordinator, Governor’s Highway Safety Office at 
State Department of Transportation 
The Highway Safety Office continues to raise awareness regarding teen driver safety through 
community outreach efforts and working with our partners.  The Highway Safety Office hosted a 
parent session at the United Way Youth Board Teens in the Driver Seat forum.  Emphasis was 
placed on the safety benefit to teens of practicing driving with a parent in the car; increase 
parent’s awareness of the highest risks for teen drivers; redirect parental monitoring to high risk 
behaviors and why it’s so important that teens and parents not only understand but follow the 
graduated driver licensing laws. We participated in Seymour High School’s “Take a Stand” 
safety event, Hartford Job Corps Academy safety event, Middletown Safety day and University 
of Hartford Community Day 
  
The Highway Safety Office partners with Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) in support of 
“Power Camp” for youths from the ages of 12 and up with the skills and knowledge to initiate 
change in the reduction of alcohol and drug use.  It also is a forum to educate the students 
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regarding the detrimental effects of what under aged drinking and substance abuse can have in 
their schools and communities. 
  
The Highway Safety Office provides grant opportunities for our law enforcement partners to 
conduct compliance checks on retail outlets, crackdown on false identification, reducing the 
number of adults buying for youths, party patrols, and under-cover surveillance operations.  
Media is utilized to raise public awareness and concerns about the harmful effects of under 
aged drinking on adolescents, families, and the community.  Public awareness continues to be 
strengthened through public outreach events.  Additional funding is provided annually for DUI 
enforcement at the University of Connecticut, during Spring Weekend, where there have 
historically been instances of underage drinking. 
  
Timothy Hollister, bereaved parent, former Task Force Member, blogger on teen driving 
issues 
I have been active in the past year on several fronts.  The first is my blog, From Reid's Dad, 
which continues to focus on advising parents on how they can supervise their teen BEFORE 
they get behind the well, as opposed to helping them learn to handle a vehicle per se.  Second, 
I have published editorial pieces focused on distracted driving, making the point that 
Connecticut's distracted driving laws, like those of most states, have loopholes, such as not 
covering the coming wave of in-vehicle technology: interactive, dashboard-mounted screens 
that sync with smart phones and provide Internet access while the vehicle is in motion.  Third, I 
have been working on a proposal that will be rolled out shortly on finding one or more high 
schools to volunteer to dedicate a portion of their website to letting parents and teens know 
which students in the school have had their driver's licenses long enough to carry passengers 
legally. Parents and teens have no way of knowing who in Connecticut has had his or her 
license for at least a year and thus is authorized to carry passengers.  
 
We are seeking a volunteer school to try this for several months and then evaluate it.  Finally, in 
May 2011, I participated in the day-long event in Washington DC, the launch of the Decade of 
Action, aimed at reducing worldwide traffic fatalities from 13 million to 8 million during the next 
ten years.  I was introduced by former Secretary of Transportation Norman Moneta to a crowd 
of about 200 traffic safety advocates.  
 
Pina Violano, Yale-New Haven Hospital’s Trauma Department and Injury Prevention 
Program 
Texting has become so commonplace that it is rapidly becoming a primary mode of 
communication. This reality is even truer among teenagers, who enjoy keeping in touch with 
friends and family through texting throughout the day. Sadly, many teenagers do not recognize 
texting as a potentially dangerous activity while driving. In fact, nearly half of teens report being 
a passenger in a car when the driver was texting. Use of cell phones while driving, including 
texting, contributes to twenty-eight percent of motor vehicle accidents involving teens.  
txt u l8r…bout 2 drive is a program developed by myself as Injury Prevention Coordinator , 
Adult and Pediatric Trauma Programs, Yale-New Haven Hospital, in conjunction with Allstate, 
and members of the Junior Board of the Friends of the Children Hospital to educate Connecticut 
high school students on the dangers of texting and driving, reinforcing the message that texting 
can wait if you are about to drive. 
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Encouraging students to text, ‘txt u l8r… bout 2 drive” before driving a car is a step toward safer 
teen driving. Licensed teen drivers are encouraged to sign a contract stating that they will turn 
off their phone while driving their car. Non-licensed teens are also able to sign a contract 
affirming that they will discourage cell phone use as a car passenger. Teens are given fact 
sheets, lanyards, bracelets, and thumb rings with the “txt u l8r” message to be a fun and 
constant reminder to drive safely. To date nine Connecticut high schools have participated in 
the txt u l8r campaign reaching over 9,000 teens with the txt u l8r.. bout 2 drive message. They 
include: Staples High School, Weston High School, Wilbur Cross High School, Amity Regional 
High School, Hamden Hall, Hand High School, Hopkins School, Naugatuck High School and 
Sacred Heart Academy  
 
Garry Lapidus PA, Brendan Campbell, MD, and Kevin Borrup, JD, Connecticut Children’s 
Medical Center, Injury Prevention Center and Connecticut Teen Driving Safely 
Partnership 
 The Injury Prevention Center (IPC) at Connecticut Children’s Medical Center works to prevent 
injuries resulting from motor vehicle related crashes involving teens through research, 
education, and public policy work. The IPC leads the Connecticut Teen Driving Safety 
Partnership, a statewide coalition of non-profits, government agencies, and individuals that is a 
forum for cooperation on safe teen driving issues. 
 
This year in cooperation with The Allstate Foundation, the IPC opened the Teen Driving 
Simulator Center in Rocky Hill. The simulator center is a place where teens can practice driving 
in a situation of no risk. The simulator holds twelve skills based driving lessons. Over 400 teens 
made use of the simulators last year. When the center closes in July of 2011, the simulators will 
be made available to schools and agencies across the state for placement through the IPC’s 
Driving Simulator Loaner Program. 
 
Through the Education Practices in the Community (EPIC) program of the Child Health and 
Development Institute, IPC staff visited physician practices throughout the state to encourage 
doctors and nurses to provide counseling on teen driving issues to teens and their parents. As 
part of this effort the IPC disseminated a revised version of its summary of the law for teen 
drivers in Connecticut and parent-teen driving contract. 
The IPC teamed up with the Kohl’s Cares for Kids program in designing a Cell Phone Pledge 
application for the iPhone. This application creates a contract for tweens and teens on 
responsible cell phone behaviors and can be a tool for parents in emphasizing that teen drivers 
not use any electronic device while driving (www.kohlstweensafe.org). 
  
  
Parent-Teen Training Requirement Information 
As stated previously in other reports, coupled with restrictions and increased penalties for 
violations, were new training requirements. These also are seen as helping bring down crash 
and conviction numbers. Connecticut became the first state in the nation to require a mandatory 
two-hour joint safe-driving education program that a parent or guardian must attend with the 
young driver in training. DMV, with funding from the state Department of Transportation, in 2009 
surveyed parents to gauge the program's effectiveness after a year of operation. 
  

http://www.kohlstweensafe.org/�


Teen Safe Driving in CT 2011: Continued Progress 2011 
 

17 |  

 

The results released in January 2010 showed that parents said it was overwhelmingly beneficial 
and has led them to adopt new safety measures with their young drivers. In the survey, 85 
percent of parents reported that the training gave them more information to use in their 
parenting responsibilities with a teen driver. A large majority also said they would recommend 
these classes to parents of other teen drivers.  
  

Almost half the parents also said that 
because of the training they were 
doing things with their young drivers 
they would not have done otherwise, 
such as enforcing the laws, 
reminding young drivers about the 
laws and dedicating more quality 
time for instruction. Almost all 
parents were satisfied that all 
relevant topics were covered during 
the course. The full report can be 
found at: 
http://www.ct.gov/dmv/parentsession 
All new drivers in Connecticut are 
required to take an eight-hour safe 
driving practices course, which 

includes the parent-teen segment, at a driving school. The Department of Motor Vehicles 
provides driving schools with a general list of topics that must be covered in both the eight and 
its special two-hour parent-teen session.  

  
New training 
standards 
also brought 
a tougher 
test that 16- 
or 17-year-
old 
applicants 
must take 
both before 
obtaining a 
learner's 
permit and 
as part of the 
final 
licensing 
exam. The 
test has 25 
questions  

and applicants must get at least 20 questions correct.  In July 2011 DMV eliminated a second 
25-question test. The actual measure of learning about driving comes through the required 

http://www.ct.gov/dmv/parentsession�
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road-skills test before a license is issued. In addition, students were achieving high pass rates 
on the second test and department officials decided that the road-skills test was a better gauge 
of the knowledge a teen possessed and could demonstrate in a real situation. Permit holders 
must also now have at least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training. The new battery of questions 
and bumped-up on-the-road training replaced a less rigorous approach.
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