Important Guidelines
For The New Connecticut
Emissions Program

Please read the reverse side

for information about the tests,
which start in September.
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Emissions testing, a
federal mandate in
Connecticut, is the
state’s most effective
program to improve
air quality. The L
Department of Motor
Vehicles wants to

make vehicle tests [ ]
convenient and easy.

DMV and Agbar
Technologies, Inc., the
company overseeing

the new inspection

program, have

improved customer

services to make m
inspections easier.

You will be mailed a
notification with the
date your vehicle is
due for its emissions
test. Schedule your
test after you receive
the notice.

When Should My Vehicle
Be Tested ?

[t must have an emissions test
every other year.

Agbar will send you a notice with a
test date that has a generous time
period for getting it done.

Your correct mailing address is
needed to notify you about your
new test date. Check the address
on your vehicle registration. If it is
incorrect, you must by law correct
it. You can change your address
online at dmvet.org or at any
DMV office.

Remove your current emissions
windshield sticker. It is invalid. In
addition to receiving a notice with
your test date, you will be able to
determine your test date online at
ctemissions.com by entering your
vehicle identification number (VIN)
or by calling the Toll-Free Emissions
Test Hotline at 1-888-828-8399.

Where Do | Go for
the Test?

B Use any of the 300 Official Emissions

Test Stations throughout the state.
To find one near you, call the
Toll-Free Emissions Test Hotline

at 1-888-828-8399 or visit the
ctemissions.com website. Look for
your local newspaper to have an
insert with a listing of test stations.

After receiving your new test date
you can make an appointment for
your test by calling the local Official
Emissions Test Station of your choice.

What Is the Cost of
the Test?

M The test cost will remain $20.
B A $20 late fee is assessed for any test

done 30 days past its due date. DMV
will bill the vehicle owner for this fee.
Late fees are not paid at any Official
Emissions Test Station.

B Any motorist whose vehicle does not have

the emissions test by its due date will
not be allowed to renew the registration
on that vehicle until it passes the test.

Convenient and Easy
Features of the New
Emissions Test Program

B One-stop shopping: You will have a

choice among 300 Official Emissions
Test Stations, many having certified
emissions repair technicians on site.

Hours: Monday-Friday: 8 a.m. to
5 p.m., Saturdays: 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

B Quicker tests: 1996 and newer

vehicles need only a simple electronic
test of the vehicle’s computer that
controls engine emissions.

New vehicle exemptions: Vehicles
that are four years old or newer
(currently model years 2001, 2002,
2003, and 2004) are exempt from
testing. Motorists will be notified
when to obtain their tests.

Hotline and website updates:

You can call a Toll-Free Emissions
Test Hotline 1-888-828-8399.

You can also check online for
information and updates at
ctemissons.com and dmvct.org
websites. You will be able to use these
to verify your emissions test date.

DMV and Agbar are working hard to create a convenient and customer friendly
program for all Connecticut motorists. You also will find comment cards at each
testing location. Please let us know how we’re doing.
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