DMV: Ignition Interlock Device Program

Ignition Interlock Device Program
 
Holiday Schedule:  On Friday, Sept. 2, DMV offices will close at 12:30 p.m. in recognition of the Labor Day holiday.  Offices will reopen on Tuesday, Sept. 6, at 7:45 a.m. More information.
 
The Law
 
If you were suspended for any of the following offenses you will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) before your driver's license can be reinstated in Connecticut:
  • Failing or refusing a chemical alcohol test 
  • Operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • Vehicular manslaughter
  • Vehicular assault
 
More information on license suspensions and other penalties can be found here.
 
What to Do
 
Forms and fees should be submitted to DMV at least two weeks prior to your eligibility date. 
 
  • Download and print the Ignition Interlock Device Installation Application (P-246 form). Complete part 1 of the application and sign the Operator Certification section.  The vehicle listed on the form must have a valid registration.  If you are not the owner of record for the vehicle, the registered owner must complete part 2.
  • Contact one of the Connecticut-approved IID vendors to schedule an appointment to have the IID installed.  The installer will complete part 3 of the application. 
  • Submit the completed P-246 form. If the vehicle is registered outside Connecticut submit a copy of the valid registration certificate.
  • Pay the $175.00 restoration fee and the $100.00 IID Administration fee.  Fees may be paid by a check or money order made payable to DMV and submitted with your IID application or you can pay the fees online
Mail your IID application to:
 
Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Services Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, Connecticut  06161-2525
 
Getting Your License Back
 
You may have other suspension matters, in addition to the IID, which must be resolved in order to be reinstated.
 
After all restoration requirements are met and your suspension time has been served, you will be reinstated with IID requirement.  
 
A final approval letter and restoration notice will be mailed to you. You may operate only a vehicle equipped with an IID for the duration required.
 
After you are restored, you must ensure that you have a current, valid driver license. If you were issued a Connecticut non-driver photo ID card during the suspension, you may exchange the ID for your previously held Connecticut driver's license.
 
If you hold an out-of-state driver license you must verify with the issuing state that it is valid before operating a vehicle. If you are now a Connecticut resident, you must transfer your out of state license to Connecticut.
 
Changes to Vehicle or IID Must Be Reported to DMV
 
If you have a change in personal information, vehicle information or IID information, you must complete the Ignition Interlock Device Change of Application Record (P-247 form) and mail it to the DMV within 48 hours of the change. 
 
IID Requirement from Another State
 
If you have moved to Connecticut and you have an IID requirement from your previous home state, your requirements will carry over to Connecticut.   
 
Prior to getting a Connecticut license, you must complete this process with DMV's Driver Services Division:
  • Submit the terms of the other jurisdiction's IID restriction. 
  • Submit a certified copy of your driving history issued by the state that imposed the IID restriction. The history must be less than sixty (60) days old on the date it is submitted
  • Download and print the Ignition Interlock Device Installation Application (P-246 form). Complete part 1of the application and sign the Operator Certification section. The vehicle listed on the form must have a valid registration.  If you are not the owner of record for the vehicle, the registered owner must complete and sign part 2
  • If your IID is currently installed by one of the Connecticut approved IID vendors, have the vendor or installer complete part 3.  If the IID is installed by a non-approved vendor, contact one of the Connecticut-approved IID Vendors to have a new IID installed.  The installer will complete Part three (3) of the application.
  • Submit the completed P-246 form. If the vehicle is registered outside Connecticut, submit a copy of the valid registration certificate.
  • Pay the $100.00 IID Administration fee. Fees may be paid by a check or money order made payable to DMV and submitted with your IID application or you can pay the fees online
Mail your IID application to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Services Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, Connecticut  06161-2525
 
Once your application has been approved you must obtain a Connecticut driver's license and Connecticut vehicle registration within 30 days.
 
Your Responsibilities with an IID
  • Your DMV record will indicate that an IID must be installed in each vehicle(s) owned or operated by you.  Law enforcement officials will have access to this information. 
  • You must bring each vehicle to the installer every 30 days for calibration.   Failure to do so will result in the suspension of your driverís license for failure to comply with the terms of the IID program.
  • Anyone convicted of tampering with an IID, requesting someone else to blow into the IID, driving a vehicle without an IID, or who removed the IID without authorization will have their driver's license suspended. 
  • See additional violations and penalties for failure to comply with the terms of the IID program. 
Vendor List
 
You can call the toll free number(s) below for IID cost, installation, or appointment information.
 
Sensolock of America                           1-800-219-9936
Intoxalock                                              1-877-777-5020
Draeger Safety Diagnostics                   1-800-332-6858
Smart Start                                             1-800-880-3394
Alcohol Detection Systems                   1-888-786-7384
LifeSafer Inc.                                         1-855-892-7792
Low Cost Interlock                                1-844-276-0548
Simple Interlock                                     1-844-432-4775
 
Device Costs
 
Participants in the IID program must pay all costs related to the installation and maintenance of the IID directly to the vendor.  Costs are determined by the independent vendors and not the DMV.
 
For More Information
 
For information concerning license reinstatement or IID requirements, contact the DMV's Driver Services Division: 
 
To mail us:
Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Services Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, Connecticut  06161-2525
 
To e-mail us:
 
To call us:
860-263-5720 




Content Last Modified on 6/17/2016 2:39:55 PM