DMV: Ignition Interlock Device Program

Ignition Interlock Device Program
 
 

Anyone who has been suspended for failing or refusing a chemical alcohol test under Connecticut General Statute §14-227b for an arrest on or after July 1, 2015 or has been suspended following a conviction for Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (OUI), under Connecticut General Statute §14-227a, §14-227g or §14-111n, Vehicular Manslaughter under Connecticut General Statute §53a-56b, or Vehicular Assault under Connecticut General Statute §53a-60d is required to participate in the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) program as a condition of reinstatement.

 

Requirements to Participate in the Program

  • Must be suspended following one of the violations or convictions shown above.
  • Must resolve other outstanding suspension matters (if any).
  • Download and print the Ignition Interlock Device Installation Application (P-246). Complete part one (1) of the application.  The vehicle listed on the form must have a valid registration.  If you are not the owner of record for the vehicle, the registered owner must complete the Authorization Form (P-248).
  • Contact one of the Connecticut-approved IID Vendors to schedule an appointment to have the IID installed.  The installer must complete Part two (2)of the Application. 
  • The installer completed part two (2) of Ignition Interlock Device Installation Application (P-246) form.
  • Submit a check or money order in the amount of $175.00 payable to DMV for the statutorily required restoration fee.
  • Submit a check or money order in the amount of $100.00 payable to DMV for the IID administration fee.
  • Submit the completed P-246 form and the completed P-248 form (if required).  If the vehicle is registered outside CT, a copy of the valid registration is required.

Once all requirements are met and your suspension time has been served, you will be reinstated with an Ignition Interlock Requirement.   A final approval letter and restoration notice will be mailed to you. You may operate only a vehicle equipped with an IID for the duration required.

Following restoration, you must ensure that you have a current, valid driver license. If you were issued a non-driver ID card during your suspension, you will need to have your license reissued. If your license has been expired for more than two years or you have never held a license, you must obtain an Adult Learner's Permit.   If you hold an out of state driver license you must ensure that it is valid before operating a vehicle. If you are now a Connecticut resident, you must exchange your out of state license for a CT issued license.

 
 
An out of state driver with an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) restriction who wishes to exchange their license issued by another jurisdiction for a Connecticut license must:
  • Have a comparable conviction under the provisions of Connecticut General Statute §14-227a, §53a-56b or §53a-60d.
  • Submit the terms of the other jurisdiction's IID restriction. 
  • Submit a certified copy of your driving history (no more than 60 days old) issued by the state that imposed the IID restriction.
  • Download and print the Ignition Interlock Device Installation Application (P-246). The vehicle listed on the form must have a valid registration.  If you are not the owner of record for the vehicle, the registered owner must complete the Authorization Form (P-248).
  • Complete Part 1 of the application.  If the IID is currently installed by one of the CT approved IID vendors, have the vendor or installer complete Part 2.  If the IID is installed by a non-approved vendor, schedule an appointment with an CT approved vendor to have the IID installed.  The installer must complete Part 2 of the application.
  • Submit the completed P-246 form and the completed P-248 form (if required).  If the vehicle is registered outside Connecticut, a copy of the valid registration is required.
  • Submit a check or money order in the amount of $100.00 payable to DMV for the IID administration fee.
Once your application has been approved, you must obtain a Connecticut operator's license and Connecticut vehicle registration within 30 days.
 
 

Overview of IID Program  

  • DMV records will indicate that an IID must be installed in each vehicle(s) owned or operated by you; law enforcement officials will have access to this information when checking a driver's status
  • You must bring each vehicle to the installer every 30 days for calibration.   Failure to do so will result in the suspension of the driver’s license for failure to comply with the terms of the IID program.
  • Anyone convicted of tampering, removing, allowing someone else to blow into the device or driving a vehicle without an approved IID, will have their operator's license suspended.  
  • If you have a change in personal information, vehicle information or IID information, you must complete the Ignition Interlock Device Change of Application Record (P-247) form and mail it to the DMV within 48 hours of the change.

Ignition Interlock Device Program Vendor List

You may call the toll free number(s) below for cost, installation, or appointment information.

Sensolock of America  1-800-219-9936 
Intoxalock  1-877-777-5020 
Draeger Safety Diagnostics  1-800-332-6858 
Smart Start  1-800-880-3394 
Alcohol Detection Systems  1-888-786-7384 
LifeSafer Inc.
1-855-892-7792

Costs and Fees

Participants in the IID program must pay all costs involved with the installation and maintenance of the IID directly to the vendor.  Costs are determined by the independent vendors and not the DMV.

For information concerning restoration or IID requirements, you may write or call:

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver Services Division

60 State Street

Wethersfield, Connecticut  06161-2525

dmv.suspension@ct.gov

Phone:  860-263-5720  





Content Last Modified on 7/29/2015 12:37:32 PM