DMV: Operating Under the Influence - OUI

Connecticut's Drunk Driving Law
Operating Under the Influence (OUI)
 

Holiday Closing:  On Friday, April 19, DMV offices will be closed for the Good Friday holiday.  On Saturday, April 20, DMV offices will reopen at 8 a.m.  Select this link for more details.  

 
 
In Connecticut, operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs is a criminal offense.  This offense may be prosecuted with or without any direct evidence of a person's BAC.  The determining factor is whether a person's ability to drive has been impaired.
 
Driving is a privilege, and under Connecticut's Implied Consent Law any person who operates a motor vehicle is presumed to have given his or her consent to a test to determine blood alcohol concentration (BAC).
 

If you are under 21 years of age, you are legally intoxicated at a 0.02 BAC or higher.

If you are 21 years of age or older, you are legally intoxicated if your BAC is 0.08 or above.
 
Any amount of alcohol will affect driving ability.  Alcohol's effect is magnified by emotions, physical condition, use of prescription drugs or other types of drugs, some over-the-counter medications and some herbal supplements.
 
There are two ways to lose your license:
 
1.  Administrative Per Se through DMV
for failing or refusing a chemical alcohol test
 
When a driver is arrested and charged with operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs, the arrest report is sent to DMV.  Upon receipt of the arrest report, DMV imposes a suspension under Connecticut General Statute §14-227b for the failure of the blood, breath or urine test (whichever is requested by the arresting officer) or for the refusal to submit to the test. The license suspension is based on the arrest information and is separate from any penalties or requirements that may be imposed as a result of the court case.
 
A notice of suspension will be sent to the address on file, allowing you seven days from the date of the notice to request a hearing.  If you wish to request a hearing, call the Administrative Per Se Unit at 860-263-5204 (Monday through Friday, 8:30am to 4:30pm). You may also contact the Administrative Per Se Unit to request a hearing by email at DMV.AdminPerse@ct.gov
 

All driver license suspensions for failing or refusing a chemical alcohol test will be forty-five (45) days for arrests after July, 1, 2015.

Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) will be required prior to restoration for ALL alcohol related suspensions. Following restoration, the IID must be maintained for at least the length of time listed below:

Failure of a the blood, breath or urine test - Under 21 years old*

First Offense
  • 1 year
Second Offense
  • 2 years
 Third or Subsequent Offense
  • 3 years


Failure of a the blood, breath or urine test - 21 Years Old and Older*

First Offense
  • 6 months
Second Offense
  • 1 year
 Third or Subsequent Offense
  • 2 years


Refusal to submit to a blood, breath or urine test -  ALL drivers*

First Offense
  • 1 year 
Second Offense
  • 2 years
 Third or Subsequent Offense
  • 3 years


*If you are convicted in court for operating while under the influence of alcohol or drugs under Connecticut General Statute §14-227a, §14-227g, §14-227m, or§14-227n for the same arrest, the IID may be required for a longer term. The IID is required for the duration specified in Connecticut General Statute §14-227b(i), §14-227a(g), §14-227m(c), or §14-227n(c) whichever is longer. See Section 2 below.

 

 

2. Court conviction for Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (OUI)

 

Under Connecticut's criminal law, a driver arrested for OUI will receive both a summons and a court date.  If the court proceedings result in a conviction, the following penalties must be imposed by the Department of Motor Vehicles:


 

Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs

Connecticut General Statute §14-227a, §14-227g, §14-227m, §14-227n*, or §14-111n

Conviction on or after July 1, 2015

First Conviction
(A first conviction under

§14-227n, has the same penalties as a second conviction, see below)

  • 45 day suspension*
  • 1 year IID or for the duration required under the Administrative Per Se law, whichever is longer
Second

Conviction

  • 45 day suspension*
  • 3 years IID, 1st year restricted (may drive only to or from work, school, an alcohol or drug abuse treatment program, an IID service center, or an appointment with a probation officer)
 Third or Subsequent Conviction
  • Permanent revocation of license
  • Must wait at least two years from the date of revocation to request a hearing for reconsideration
  • If a favorable hearing decision is rendered, IID will be required for at least 15 years


*If a 45-day suspension was served for failing or refusing a chemical test for the same arrest, operator may be eligible for restoration immediately, if there are no other outstanding suspensions. If already reinstated with an IID following the suspension for failing or refusing a chemical test for the same arrest, the IID time will be credited towards completion.


 Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs

Connecticut General Statute §14-227a, §14-227g, or §14-111n

Conviction after January 1, 2012

First
Conviction 
  • 45 day suspension
  • 1 year IID 
Second

Conviction

  • 45 day suspension or until 21st birthday, (whichever is longer)
  • 3 years IID, 1st year restricted (may drive only to or from work, school, an alcohol or drug abuse treatment program, an IID service center, or an appointment with a probation officer)
 Third or Subsequent Conviction
  • Permanent revocation of license
  • Must wait at least two years from the date of revocation to request a hearing for reconsideration
  • If a favorable hearing decision is rendered, IID will be required for at least 15 years


   

Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs

Connecticut General Statute §14-227a, §14-227g, or §14-111n

Conviction prior to January 1, 2012

 

Under Age 21


First Conviction 
  • 1 year suspension
Second Conviction
  • 3 years suspension or until 21st birthday, (whichever is longer)
  • 2 years IID
Third or

Subsequent Conviction

  • Permanent revocation of license
  • Must wait at least two years from the date of revocation to request a hearing for reconsideration
  • If a favorable hearing decision is rendered, IID will be required for at least 15 years

 

 Age 21 or older

First Conviction
  • 1 year suspension 
 Second Conviction
  • 1 year suspension
  • 2 years IID
 Third or Subsequent Conviction
  • Permanent revocation of license
  • Must wait at least two years from the date of revocation to request a hearing for reconsideration
  • If a favorable hearing decision is rendered, IID will be required for at least 15 years

 

 

Manslaughter with a Motor Vehicle,

Connecticut General Statute §53a-56b or §14-111n

Assault with a Motor Vehicle,

Connecticut General Statute §53a-60d or

§14-111n

First Conviction
  • 1 year suspension
  • 2 years IID 
 Second Conviction
  • 1 year suspension
  • 2 years IID
 Third or Subsequent Conviction
  • Permanent revocation of license
  • Must wait at least two years from the date of revocation to request a hearing for reconsideration
  • If a favorable hearing decision is rendered, IID will be required for at least 15 years

 


To determine if a conviction is a first, second, or third/subsequent offense, any and all convictions reported under Connecticut General Statutes §14-111n, §14-227a, §14-227g, §14-227m,§14-227n,  §53a-56b or §53a-60d are considered.


 

For information concerning restoration or IID requirements, you may write or call:

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver Services Division

60 State Street

Wethersfield, CT  06161-1013

dmv.suspension@ct.gov

Phone:  860-263-5720






Content Last Modified on 1/12/2019 11:26:32 AM