Operator Retraining Program and Multiple Moving Violations
Holiday Schedule: DMV customer service centers will close for the Memorial Day holiday on Friday, May 27 at 12:30 p.m. and reopen Tuesday, May 31 at 7:45 a.m.
All AAA offices will be open to process renewals for driver licenses and non-driver ID cards during their normal business hours on Friday, May 27 and Saturday, May 28. AAA offices will be closed on Monday, May 30.
A driver must attend an Operator Retraining Program if:
- A driver who is 24 years of age or younger has two violations specified in Connecticut State Law - Section 14-111g(a) - involving either a moving violation or a suspension violation on his or her driving record.
- A driver who is 25 years of age or older has three violations specified in Connecticut State Law - Section 14-111g(a) - involving either a moving violation or a suspension violation on his or her driving record.
- A driver who is convicted of traveling faster than 75 mph in a highway work zone.
- A driver of a commercial motor vehicle who is convicted of traveling faster than 65 mph in a highway work zone.
DMV does not schedule classes or collect the $60 fee to attend the Operator Retraining Program.
To enroll in the Operator Retraining Program, please contact one of the vendors listed below:
|A Better Connecticut Driver
The National Safety Council
|Driver Education Station
National Traffic Safety Institute
After You Complete the Class
- If completion of the class was prior to the due date, the removal of the pending suspension will only occur after the DMV receives electronic confirmation from the vendor that you have completed this class.
- Completion of the class on or after the effective date of suspension will require payment of the restoration fee in the amount of $175 by check or money order made payable to "DMV" through the mail to the following address:
State of Connecticut
Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Services Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161-2525
- NOTE: Please include your name, date of birth and current mailing address with any correspondence, and allow 30 days for processing.
- You cannot operate a motor vehicle until you receive an official notice from DMV informing you that the restoration has been processed and you possess a valid license.
- After completion of an Operator Retraining Program, a driver must attain 36 consecutive months without any additional moving violations or suspension violations specified in Connecticut State Law - Section 14-111g(a).
- If an additional violation is added to your driving record, DMV will suspend your driver's license or operating privilege for 30 days upon a first conviction of a violation; 60 days upon a second conviction for a violation; and 90 days for a third or subsequent violation.
- See the DMV report on Multiple Traffic Offenders.
Content Last Modified on 7/29/2015 12:42:44 PM