DMV: Classic Vehicle Plate

Classic Vehicle Plates

{Classic Vehicle plate design}
 

Holiday Closing:  On Thursday, November 22, DMV offices will be closed to observe the Thanksgiving Day holiday.  Offices will reopen on Friday, November 23, at 7:45 a.m. 

Classic Vehicle license plates in a standard-issue format are available in DMV Hub Office or Limited Services locations. Classic Vehicle vanity plates are available to order by following the instructions below.

To obtain a Classic Vehicle vanity plate, the vehicle must be twenty years old (model year) or older and currently registered in Connecticut.  If you have another type of plate on your vehicle, you will need to process a plate transfer by turning in your existing plates at any DMV Hub Office or Limited Services location and obtaining off-the-shelf Classic Vehicle plates.

Vanity Plate Requests

Vanity plate requests are made by mail only on this downloadable form: Special Order Plate Application (Form M-22).  The vehicle must be currently registered in Connecticut with the Classic Vehicle plate design (or the previous-design Early American plates). 

The vanity plate fee is $96.  Vanity plate options - see additional information.

Fees

Replacing "Early American" style plate with "Classic Vehicle" plate: $27 fee

Getting Classic Plate for First Time:  $47 fee plus 2-year registration fee (Varies depending on amount of time left on current registration.  You will be credited with the amount of time left on current registration.)

Ordering Vanity Plate with "Classic Vehicle" design: $96 fee 

According to state law, any antique, rare or special interest motor vehicle, as defined in section 14-1, shall be assessed at a value of not more than 500 dollars.





Content Last Modified on 10/9/2018 11:18:28 AM