Connecticut law requires that all snowmobiles operated in Connecticut must be registered unless the snowmobile is being operated on property owned or leased by the owner of the snowmobile.
To register a snowmobile that you have purchased, you will need to present the following documents to your local DMV Hub Office or Limited Service Office:
Out-of-State Registered Snowmobile - A snowmobile owner and resident of another state may register a snowmobile in Connecticut for operation in Connecticut. To do so you must present the following documents to your local DMV Hub Office or Limited Service Office:
Note: If the snowmobile is being registered to a minor (16 or 17 years old), parental consent and special financial responsibility insurance are also required. Snowmobiles cannot be registered to owners less than 16 years of age.
Vehicles cannot be registered if delinquent property tax or parking tickets are owed or if the registrant has had their registration privilege suspended.
Registration/Display of Number
The registration plate of the snowmobile must be affixed to the rear of the snowmobile. In addition, each snowmobile must display the registration number on each side of its front section, midway between the top and bottom of the front section, in letters or numbers at least three inches high and made of reflective material. The registration must be carried on the snowmobile and be available for inspection whenever the vehicle is being operated.
Operation - A registered snowmobile cannot be operated on a public highway except, if the snowmobile is operated by a licensed motor vehicle operator; it may cross a public highway (other than limited-access highway) at a 90 degree angle, after the snowmobile is brought to a complete stop. The driver must yield the right of way to motor vehicles using the highway and must cross in the direction of the highway at a location where no obstruction prevents a quick and safe crossing.
Out-of-State Registered Snowmobiles - Certain out-of-state registered snowmobiles may be operated in Connecticut if the state in which the snowmobile is registered grants similar privileges to residents of this state. Currently only Vermont grants similar privileges. Also, if the owner is a Connecticut resident the snowmobile must be registered in Connecticut for use in Connecticut.
Important Information - For additional information on snowmobile trails, policies, procedures, speed, and other requirements, please visit the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection website.
Content Last Modified on 7/30/2015 10:55:47 AM