DMV: ATV Registration Requirements

All Terrain Vehicles
 

Connecticut law requires that all-terrain vehicles (ATV) operated in Connecticut must be registered, unless the vehicle is being operated on property owned or leased by the owner of the ATV.

 

To register an ATV that you have purchased, you will need to bring the following documents to your local DMV HUB or Limited Service Office:

 

New ATV:

  1. Bill of Sale from the dealer or manufacturer identifying the ATV Ė must include the buyer and seller information, purchase price, sales tax payment if applicable, and the year, make, body style, and vehicle identification number (VIN) of the ATV.
  2. Certificate of Origin properly assigned from dealer or manufacturer to the new owner.
  3. Application for Registration and Certificate of Title (form H-13) completed by the new owner.
  4. Identification will be required.  Please see list of Acceptable Forms of Identification.
  5. The fee for registration is $20, $5 plate fee, $10 Clean Air Act fee, plus state sales tax (if applicable).

Used ATV:

  1. Bill of Sale (form H-31) identifying the ATV Ė must include the buyer and seller information, purchase price, sales tax payment if applicable, and the year, make, body style, and vehicle identification number.
  2. Application for Registration and Certificate of Title (form H-13) completed by the new owner.
  3. Identification will be required.  Please see list of Acceptable Forms of IdentificationThe fee for registration is $20, $5 plate fee, $10 Clean Air Act Fee, plus state sales tax (if applicable).

Out of State Registered ATVís - Certain out-of-state registered ATVís may be operated in Connecticut if the state in which the ATV is registered grants similar privileges to residents of this state. Currently only Vermont, New York, Pennsylvania and Florida grant similar privileges. An ATV owner and resident of another state may register an ATV in Connecticut by presenting the following documents at a DMV Hub or Limited Service Office:

    1. Out-of-State registration
    2. Out-of-State Operator License(s), which must be the same name(s) as on the registration certificate. If registrant cannot appear in person a Power of Attorney and photocopies of the identification are acceptable.
    3. Application for Registration and Certificate of Title (form H-13) completed by the owner.
    4. The fee for registration is $20, $5 plate fee, $10 Clean Air Act fee.

Note: If the ATV is being registered to a minor (16 or 17 years old), parental consent and special financial responsibility insurance are also required. ATVís cannot be registered to owners less than 16 years of age.

 

Vehicles cannot be registered if delinquent property tax or parking tickets are owed or if the registrant has had their registration privilege suspended.

 

Registration/Display of Number

The registration plate of the ATV must be affixed to the rear of the vehicle. In addition, each ATV must display the registration number on each side of its front section, midway between the top and bottom of the front section, in letters or numbers at least three inches high and made of reflective material. The registration must be carried on the ATV and be available for inspection whenever the vehicle is being operated. 

 

Operation - A registered ATV cannot be operated on a public highway except, if the ATV is operated by a licensed motor vehicle operator; it may cross a public highway (other than limited-access highway) at a 90 degree angle, after the ATV is brought to a complete stop. The driver must yield the right of way to motor vehicles using the highway and must cross in the direction of the highway at a location where no obstruction prevents a quick and safe crossing.

 

Important Information - For additional information on ATV trails, policies, procedures, speed, and other requirements, please visit the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection website.

 





Content Last Modified on 9/17/2014 2:16:43 PM