Acceptable Forms of Identification Needed For
Registering a Vehicle
There has been some recent confusion on the DMV web site regarding the proper identification needed for registering a vehicle in Connecticut. Identification is required when registering a vehicle in the state. Acceptable forms of identification for registration purposes are as follows:
- Connecticut Residents: A Connecticut resident must present his or her valid Connecticut license, Learner's Permit or ID card with photo as his or her form of identification. Any Connecticut resident without a Connecticut license, Learners Permit or ID card, must obtain one to be eligible to register a vehicle. Within 30 days of moving to Connecticut, new residents must obtain a Connecticut license, Learners Permit or ID card for transacting registration business at the DMV. The Connecticut license is required to legally operate a vehicle in the state.
- Out-of-State Residents/Military: If someone is an out-of-state resident with a valid out-of state (or Canadian) license or ID card with photo, or possesses a U.S. Military ID (either active or dependant), those documents can be used when the vehicle will be kept in Connecticut. This documentation is needed to verify that a person is not a Connecticut resident and has residency elsewhere.
- All Others - Special Review: If someone does not have any of the required forms of identification, he or she can request an administrative review to determine eligibility to register a vehicle. You must complete and submit A Request for Administrative Review (form B-360). Review process may take up to 30 days. The review process:
Ł Determines whether you are a Connecticut resident and subject to state law regarding residency for registration requirements.
Ł Determines a need to register the vehicle in Connecticut.
Ł Determines who will operate the vehicle and is properly licensed.
(Please Note: The use of passport is primarily associated with obtaining a license. It is not used as a form of identification for registering a vehicle. )
Any individuals requesting a new registration transaction ( form H-13) at the DMV is required to be present at the branch office to process their transaction. If they cannot be present an original Power of Attorney (POA) must be presented by the authorized agent of the individual seeking registration. Either a general Power of Attorney form or the DMVís Special Power of Attorney form (form A-83) tailored to motor vehicle title and registration transactions may be used for their purpose.
In addition, the person/agent presenting the Power of Attorney must show one of the above forms of identification and a photocopy of one of the above forms of identification of the registrant(s). If two parties are named on the registration application either party may be present to process the registration. A copy of the second partyís identification is required.
When a vehicle has been sold by a licensed dealer who is processing the registration and title documents for the purchaser, no POA will be required (the dealer representative must present his or her identification).
If the registration is in the name of a corporation, incorporated business, or LLC a Power of Attorney is required, unless the person signing is the officer of the company or manager/member of the LLC. The personís title must be printed after the signature, (i.e. John Doe, Vice President).
Proof of insurance in the name of the business must be presented at the time of registration and will serve as verification of business name.
The name on the registration must match the name on the leasing license. Identification of the lessee is not required. However a general Power of Attorney form or the DMVís Special Power of Attorney form (form A-83) from the Leasing Company to the Lessee is required.
Note: individuals or Companies using a Dealer Titling Service must submit a Power of Attorney and Identification.