DMV: Motorcycle - Endorsement - Obtaining

Obtaining a Motorcycle Endorsement
 
SERVICE UPDATE:  As DMV transitions to a new, online-only appointment system for road tests, DMV will stop taking road test appointments on October 21 and October 23, and will resume October 24 with its new convenient online system.  See more information here

NEW PROCESS: You will not receive a permanent driver license or ID card while at a DMV or AAA office.   It will arrive through the mail.  You will keep your expiring license/ID and receive a temporary paper card.  For more on this, please see Central Issuance. After visiting an office, you can track the delivery of your new card.

Knowledge testing for a motorcycle learner's permit is only provided on a walk-in basis at DMV Hub Offices.

Please carefully review the following information. 

A motorcycle endorsement, designated by the letter "M" on a Connecticut Driver's License, allows you to operate a 2-or 3-wheel motorcycle on public highways.  The motorcycle endorsement, designated by the letter "M" and the restriction "3" on a Connecticut Driver's License limits you to operate only a 3-wheel motorcycle on public highways.

To obtain a motorcycle endorsement, you must complete the following steps:
What it will cost:
  • $40 testing fee for the motorcycle knowledge and vision tests.
  • $30 fee to have the "M" endorsement or the "M" endorsement with "3" restriction added to license.
  • $16 for motorcycle learner's permit (optional).  
A re-exam is allowed any day after the initial failure with a new $40 testing fee. See acceptable forms of payment.
 
Once you earn a motorcycle endorsement, you will be subject to the following restrictions:
  • Drivers 18 years of age and older may not transport passengers for the first 90 days after obtaining a motorcycle endorsement. 
  • Drivers 16 and 17 years old may not transport any passenger on a motorcycle for a period of six months after receiving his or her motorcycle endorsement.
  • In addition, Connecticut has specific laws for 16-and 17-year-old drivers that apply to the operation of a motor vehicle, including a motorcycle.




Content Last Modified on 6/13/2017 11:19:05 AM