DMV: Testing - Vehicles Used for Road Test

Vehicles Used for the Road Test
 

***Holiday Closing***:  On Friday, February 9, DMV offices will close at 12:30 p.m. to observe the President Washington's Birthday holiday, and remain closed on Saturday, February 10.  Offices will reopen on Tuesday, February 13, at 7:45 a.m.

 
Road test appointments are now scheduled through DMV's new online appointment system.  You must supply a vehicle for the road test at a DMV office.
 
This vehicle must:
  • Be appropriate for the license class for which you are applying.
  • Be mechanically safe. Some common reasons why a vehicle cannot be used, but are not limited to, include illegal tint, defective brake/signal light, defective seat belts, defective speedometer, and any other defective equipment.
  • Have a valid registration certificate.   
  • Have proof of insurance.
  • Be in compliance with Connecticut's limits if the vehicle has tinted windows.
  • NOT have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed if the testing applicant is not required by law to use an IID.
If you do not have a valid driver's license you cannot test in a rented vehicle.
 

Note: If you are using a vehicle that is registered out-of-state, you must bring a copy of the vehicle’s insurance policy and it must meet Connecticut minimum insurance requirements:

  • $20,000 bodily injury per person
  • $40,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $10,000 property damage per accident 
PLEASE NOTE: If the test vehicle is found to be in an unsafe operating condition , the behind the-wheel evaluation will NOT be conducted and the applicant will be advised to reschedule at no fee.
 




Content Last Modified on 10/24/2017 7:53:29 AM