16 and 17 Year Olds Who Hold an Out-of-State License
Holiday Schedule: DMV customer service centers will close for the Memorial Day holiday on Friday, May 27 at 12:30 p.m. and reopen Tuesday, May 31 at 7:45 a.m.
All AAA offices will be open to process renewals for driver licenses and non-driver ID cards during their normal business hours on Friday, May 27 and Saturday, May 28. AAA offices will be closed on Monday, May 30.
All applicants must supply identification and address verification same as License Requirements for New Residents.
In addition, a 16-or 17-year-old with a valid license who wants to obtain a Connecticut license must:
- Complete the 8-hour Safe Driving Practices class at a commercial driving school or secondary school in Connecticut, including the 2-hour parent/legal guardian training.
When they come to the DMV to surrender their out-of-state license and obtain a Connecticut driver license, they must:
Provide a Certificate of Completion of Safe Driving Practices class (CS1)
Pass a vision test
Pass a road test
Bring glasses or contact lenses if needed for testing.
Please be aware of the passenger restrictions and other laws for newly licensed 16-and 17-year-olds in Connecticut.
Content Last Modified on 7/29/2015 11:29:49 AM