STEP 1: Determine you are eligible.
STEP 2: Complete the following documentation.
STEP 3: Mail/fax the Authorization for Release Form (DCF-3031) TO:
DCF Careline Background Searches
505 Hudson Street – 5th floor
Hartford, CT 06106
Fax: (860) 560-7071
STEP 4: Submit Application.
Department of Motor Vehicles
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161
Attention: Public Passenger Endorsement Review Unit
If you drop off
Applications can be dropped off at the DMV Office in Wethersfield. The office is open Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday from 7:45 a.m. to 4 p.m., and Thursday from 9:15 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. There is a drop box near the 1st floor information desk. Applications will not be accepted at DMV branch offices.
Important: When mailing or dropping off applications DO NOT BEND fingerprint cards. Bent fingerprints cards will be returned and will delay the processing of your application.
Because there are numerous background checks that involve different state and federal agencies processing time of these applications will take approximately 6-8 weeks. After the examination and all background checks are performed an approval/denial letter will be emailed/mailed (depending on applicant’s request) to the applicant.
Obtaining Endorsement after you have been approved
Once you have received an approval letter you must appear at a DMV Hub office with the following documents:
IMPORTANT: It is imperative that you appear as soon as you receive your approval letter. All approval letters will expire 90 days after issuance date. If you do not appear and pay for your endorsement prior to the 90-day expiration date you will be required to go through the entire background check again.
After presenting the above documents at a branch office you will be issued a temporary paper card with the new endorsement on it. This document should be kept with your current license until your new license arrives in the mail. For more information on this, please see Central Issuance.
Types of Connecticut Public Passenger Endorsements
“S” Endorsement: Required to operate a school bus, or any vehicle that requires a “V”, “A” or “F” endorsement. In addition to the “S” endorsement a commercial driver license with a “P” endorsement is also required. Please see CDL Testing Requirements for more information on how to obtain a CDL.
“V” Endorsement: Required to operate a student transportation vehicle transporting students to and from school, including transporting special education students, or any vehicles that requires an “A” or “F” endorsement. A certificate of safety training (R-360) is also required prior to the issuance of the “V” endorsement. A certificate may be obtained through school bus company.
“A” Endorsement: Required to operate a student transportation vehicle used in connection with school-sponsored events and activities or other vehicle that requires an “F” endorsement. Cannot be used to transport students from home to school.
“F” Endorsement: Required to operate a taxi, livery vehicle, service bus, motor bus or motor coach (In addition to the “F” endorsement a CDL with a "P" endorsement is required on vehicles designed to transport sixteen or more passengers, including the driver.
See Connecticut General Statutes 14-44 for more information.
Types of vehicle use that require a public passenger endorsement
Activity vehicle: A student transportation vehicle that is used to transport students in connection with school sponsored events and activities, but is not used to transport students to and from school.
Livery vehicle: Any motor vehicle used by any entity in the business of transporting passengers for hire (CT General Statute Sec. 13b-104 for exceptions).
Motor Bus/Motor Coach: Any motor vehicle, except a taxicab, as defined in section 13b-95 operated as a means of transportation bus receiving or discharging passengers, or running a regular route or over any portion of a regulation route or between fixed terminals.
Public Service Motor Vehicle: Any motor vehicle (except vanpools) used to transport passengers for hire (e.g., commercial buses, taxis, limos and airport shuttles).
Service Buses: Any motor vehicle (except vanpool) designed to carry 10 or more persons when used in private service for the transportation of persons without charge to the individual (e.g., school buses, church buses, factory buses, farm worker buses, senior citizen vans or handicapped vans).
Student Transportation Vehicle: Any motor vehicle other than a registered school bus used by a carrier for the transportation of students, including children requiring special education.
School Bus: A vehicle that meets the requirements of Connecticut General Statute Sec. 14-275, including a commercial motor vehicles used to transport preschool elementary or secondary school students from home to school, from school to home or to and from school-sponsored events, but does not include a bus used as a common carrier.
Taxicab: Any motor vehicle operated on call or demand accepting or soliciting passengers for transportation hire between such points as may be directed by the passenger(s).
A non-resident who holds an operator’s license issued by another state or country may operate a vehicle that otherwise requires a Connecticut Public Passenger Endorsement, provided that non-resident holds the equivalent endorsement from their home jurisdiction.
A vehicle requiring certain endorsements may be operated by drivers not holding public passenger endorsements and restrictions when the vehicle is not transporting passengers. (e.g., mechanics transporting a vehicle to another location). However, if the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle, a commercial driver license with a “P” endorsement is necessary. Please see CDL Testing Requirements for more information.
Authorized Medical Examiner
The DMV will only accept an examination from providers registered through the U.S. Department of Health. This applies to ALL Public Passenger Endorsement applicants/holders and driving school instructors.
Learn more about becoming a nationally certified medical provider.
Content Last Modified on 7/24/2017 4:33:34 PM