DMV: Insurance Discounts and Driving Courses

Insurance Discounts and Driving Courses

Insurance Discounts:

Connecticut State Law (Title 38a Sec. 38a-683) mandates a premium discount for a private non-fleet automobile under an automobile liability or physical damage insurance policy for any principal operator who has attained the age of 60 and has submitted proof of a successful completion of an accident prevention course approved by the DMV.

 

The minimum discount is 5 percent and shall apply to the premium charges for the automobile for at least 24 months.  Some insurance companies provide a discount of more than 5 percent. Contact your insurance company for more information. Those interested in an approved course under Title 38a-683 should contact AARP, AAA or the Western Connecticut Driving Institute for details.

 

If you meet the requirements for this premium discount, by law you cannot be denied the minimum discount regardless of your driving history.

 

For drivers less than 60 years old, the law does not require insurance companies to provide the premium discount as a result of taking the approved course. However, some insurance companies may voluntarily give a discount to those who provide proof of the successful completion of such a course. Contact your insurance company for more information.

 

Other Driving Courses:

A discount may be available for teen drivers who have successfully completed an acceptable driving course. Contact your insurance company for more information. For general driving course information consult your yellow pages under "Driving Schools."

 

For information concerning motorcycle courses (Motorcycle Riding Course, Better Biking Program) call 1-800-872-RIDE. Satisfactory completion of a motorcycle rider education course qualifies the individual for a 10 percent discount on liability insurance under Connecticut State Law (Title 38a Sec. 38a-685).




Content Last Modified on 3/22/2013 2:08:02 PM