Inspections Performed at DMV
Location and Hours of Inspection Lanes
- Tuesday through Friday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Please Note: Although inspections are conducted on Mondays, all branch offices are closed Mondays, and therefore all required inspection documents must be pre-paid when the branch office is open. Also, the last full inspection must be in line by 3:15 pm.
Vehicles or issues that require an inspection include:
: Annual inspections are performed at a DMV inspection lane. Every effort will be made to give these vehicles priority when they arrive for inspection. You must obtain the EMS form issued by the Department of Public Health prior
to the DMV inspection.
Commercial Vehicles over 18,000 lbs. GVWR and Commercial Trailers over 10,000 lbs. GVWR seeking a permanent registration
: Motor carriers seeking permanent registration of a commercial motor vehicle, or trailers must provide proof of a “passed” Record of Annual Inspection form of the vehicle seeking registration, based upon the inspection criteria found in 49 CFR, part 396 and appendix G. The required periodic annual inspection (49 CFR §396.17) may be performed by the carrier, or by a Connecticut licensed dealer or repairer, providing the individual performing the inspection meets the minimum criteria as found in 49 CFR §396.19 in its entirety. The inspection must have been done and the form dated within 30 days of the application for registration and must be accompanied by a properly completed Inspector Qualification form. Prior to registration, a VIN verification may be needed if the vehicle is titled in another state.
NOTE: Commercial Trailers at or less than 10,000 lbs GVWR also require this inspection when the vehicles in combination exceed 18,000 lbs GCWR. The DMV will not perform your periodic annual inspection that is required by 49 CFR §396.17.
Commercial Vehicles over 18,000 lbs. GVWR and Commercial Trailers over 10,000 lbs. GVWR seeking a temporary registration.
Connecticut Motor Vehicle Regulation 14-137-120 requires commercial motor vehicles over 18,000 lbs. GVWR and commercial trailers over 10,000 lbs. GVWR seeking temporary registrations be inspected in accordance with the North American Standard Level I inspection at a DMV facility. Temporary commercial registrations for more than 10 days will not be issued for vehicles that do not pass inspection in full compliance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
at a DMV facility. Also, please see registration of a commercial vehicle
for more information.
Commercial Inspections required by 14-137-120 for temporary registration are only performed at:
Union Scale- by appointment only, call 860-263-5446, Tuesday through Thursday: 7a.m. to 10 a.m. (The Union Scale is located between Exit 74 and 73 of Interstate 84 – Westbound)
Wethersfield DMV - Monday through Friday: 8 a.m. to noon.
Driver Education Vehicles
require a yearly inspection at a DMV inspection lane.
Manufactured Non-Commercial Trailers
: Require a VIN verification only
if from out-of-state or if a prior CT registration cannot be verified. No other inspection is required. NOTE
: All trailers with a 3,000 lb GVWR or more are required to have brakes on all wheels. (CGS 14-81)
School Buses (any size) and Student Transportation Vehicles (over 10,000 pounds GVWR):
Inspection must be done by appointment through the Commercial Vehicle Safety Division. Please call (860) 263-5447.
School Transportation Vehicles 10,000 pound GVWR and under:
must be brought to either
a DMV inspection lane or
please call (860) 263-5447 for appointment.
: Only first-time
taxi inspections are performed at DMV. Vehicles must be complete with lights and meters. Inspections required for the renewal of a taxi registration are done through a Connecticut Licensed Dealer or Repairer
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Assignments
: VIN assignments can only be performed at the Wethersfield inspection lane. Please call the Vehicle Identification Unit at (860) 263-5090 to make an appointment for a car or truck. Trailer VIN assignments do not need appointments, however, they can only be brought in for inspection from Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. (closed from noon to 1pm) Trailers with a gross vehicle weight of over 3,000 pounds will be charged $50 for the assigned VIN.
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Verification:
Vehicles requiring a VIN verification may present their vehicle at a VIN Verification Emissions Station or
the following DMV branch offices: Bridgeport, Danbury, Hamden, Norwalk, Waterbury, Wethersfield or Willimantic. Due to space limitations, please do not bring any trailers to the Bridgeport, Danbury or Norwalk offices.
If you have received a warning ticket from a law enforcement agency for window tint, VIN problems or if the officer indicates 'DMV Inspection Only', you must present the vehicle for inspection at a DMV inspection lane. All other warning tickets may be presented to a Connecticut Licensed Dealer or Repairer
No temporary plates will be issued to a vehicle that has failed for service brakes, steering components or frame rot until repairs have been certified by a Connecticut licensed dealer or repairer
No inspection will be performed if the title documents are marked "not safe for the road, junk, etc." A letter from a Connecticut licensed dealer or repairer
is required stating that repairs have been made and the vehicle is now safe for the road.
Temporary Commercial Registrations for more than 10 days will not be issued for vehicles that do not pass inspection in full compliance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
at a DMV Inspection Lane.
Content Last Modified on 4/1/2013 3:40:26 PM