Inspections Performed at DMV
***HOLIDAY CLOSING: On Friday, March 30, DMV offices will be closed for the Good Friday holiday. Offices will reopen on Saturday, March 31, at 8 a.m.
Location and Hours of Inspection Lanes
- Tuesday through Friday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Please Note: Although inspections are conducted on Mondays in Wethersfield, all branch offices are closed Mondays, and therefore all required inspection documents must be pre-paid when the branch office is open. Also, the last full inspection must be in line by 3:15 pm.
Vehicles or issues that require an inspection include:
Camping trailers, pop-up campers and commercial trailers
Annual inspections are perfomed free of charge at a DMV inspection lane. Please print this inspection form
, fill it out, and bring it with you when you present your vehicle for inspection.
Camping trailers, pop-up campers and commercial trailers:
Manufacturers of new camping trailers, pop-up campers and commercial trailers (example: trailers owned by a landscape company) are required to have a valid manufacturer’s license issued by the Connecticut DMV. If the manufacturer does not have the required manufacturers license the camping trailer, pop-up camper or commercial trailer must be presented at either the Wethersfield or Hamden inspection lanes for a safety inspection. The manufacturers license requirement also includes used camping trailers, pop-up campers and commercial trailers previously registered out of state. Licensed Manufacturers
Used camping trailers, pop-up campers and commercial trailers previously registered in CT are exempt from the manufacturer's license requirement.
NOTE: New and used utility trailers used to transport personal property are exempt from the manufacturer’s license requirement. This includes but is not limited to boat trailers, snowmobile/ATV trailers, horse trailers etc.?
Commercial Vehicles over 18,000 lbs. GVWR and Commercial Trailers over 10,000 lbs. GVWR seeking a temporary registration.
Connecticut Motor Vehicle Regulation 14-137-120 requires commercial motor vehicles over 18,000 lbs. GVWR and commercial trailers over 10,000 lbs. GVWR seeking temporary registrations be inspected in accordance with the North American Standard Level I inspection at a DMV facility. Temporary commercial registrations for more than 10 days will not be issued for vehicles that do not pass inspection in full compliance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
at a DMV facility. Also, please see registration of a commercial vehicle
for more information.
Commercial Inspections required by 14-137-120 for temporary registration are only performed at:
Union Scale- by appointment only, call 860-263-5446, Tuesday through Thursday: 7a.m. to 10 a.m. (The Union Scale is located between Exit 74 and 73 of Interstate 84 – Westbound)
Wethersfield DMV - Monday through Friday: 8 a.m. to noon.
Driver Education Vehicles
require a yearly inspection at a DMV inspection lane.
School Transportation Vehicles 10,000 pound GVWR and under:
will be scheduled by the Inspectors in the district or may be brought to the inspection lane.
: Only first-time
taxi inspections are performed at DMV. Vehicles must be complete with lights and meters. Inspections required for the renewal of a taxi registration are done through a Connecticut Licensed Dealer or Repairer
. The CT licensed dealer or repairer shall be allowed to charge a maximum
fee of $20 for the inspection.
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Assignments
: VIN assignments can only be performed at the Wethersfield inspection lane. Please call the Vehicle Identification Unit at (860) 263-5090 to make an appointment for a car or truck. Trailer VIN assignments do not need appointments, however, they can only be brought in for inspection from Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. (closed from noon to 1pm) Trailers with a gross vehicle weight of over 3,000 pounds will be charged $50 for the assigned VIN.
If you have received a warning ticket from a law enforcement agency for window tint, VIN problems or if the officer indicates 'DMV Inspection Only', you must present the vehicle for inspection at a DMV inspection lane. All other warning tickets may be presented to a Connecticut Licensed Dealer or Repairer
No temporary plates will be issued to a vehicle that has failed for service brakes, steering components or frame rot until repairs have been certified by a Connecticut licensed dealer or repairer
No inspection will be performed if the title documents are marked "not safe for the road, junk, etc." A letter from a Connecticut licensed dealer or repairer
is required stating that repairs have been made and the vehicle is now safe for the road.
Temporary Commercial Registrations for more than 10 days will not be issued for vehicles that do not pass inspection in full compliance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
at a DMV Inspection Lane.
Content Last Modified on 12/1/2017 9:52:35 AM