Obtaining a Motor Vehicle Leasing and Rental License
Under Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec. 14-15a
any person, firm or corporation before engaging in the business of leasing or renting of motor vehicles without drivers in this state and any person, firm or corporation which is the lessor of or rents any vehicle required to be registered under the provisions of section 14-15a shall make a sworn application to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles for a license to engage in such leasing or renting. Listed below are the documents necessary to obtain a license:
An Application and License
for Motor Vehicle Leasing Companies (form E-229) must be completed, signed and notarized.
A Business License Personnel List
(form K-26) must be completed, listing owners, partners, members, managers, managing members, or corporate officers. It must
be signed and notarized. (Form must be completed, attachments are not acceptable.) A requirement listed on this form is that a clear copy of a Connecticut or out-of state photo license for each individual listed must be submitted, along with a valid e-mail address.
A Connecticut State Sales Tax Number
must be obtained from the Department of Revenue Services. A copy of this certificate must be submitted with the leasing license application. The address and phone number for the Department of Revenue Services
Department of Revenue Services
25 Sigourney Street
Hartford, CT 06106
Toll Free: 1-800-382-9463
Proof of financial responsibility
must be submitted in the form of a Connecticut Special Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (form R1325D) as required in accordance to the provision of Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec.14-15
. The insurance certificate can be obtained from any insurance company licensed to do business in the State of Connecticut. DMV does not
supply the R1325D insurance certificate.Note:
Effective July 1, 2013, Proof of financial responsbility specifying that blanket coverage is for all owned vehicles
as provided by section 14-112 or 14-129, regardless of the duration of the lease or rental period.Blanket coverage
- The lessor files one insurance certificate (R1325D) which covers any and all vehicles owned that will be registered in this State. The insurance certificate can be obtained from any insurance company licensed to do business in the State of Connecticut. Note:
DMV does not supply the R1325D A $10,000 Surety Bond
(form K-158) must be posted - Note: only required when a leasing company is engaged in leasing or renting of motor vehicles for periods of 30 days or more.
To obtain information, please contact:
Department of Motor Vehicles
Regulated Business Licensing Unit
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161
Hours of Operation: Tuesday - Friday 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Note: All leasing licenses expire March 31st of their renewal year. Renewal notices are sent out 45 days prior to expiration.
2 Year New License Fee: $300
2 Year Renewal Fee: $300
Renewal Late Fee: $100
Content Last Modified on 12/18/2017 1:16:24 PM