DMV: Acceptable Driving Record to Apply/Maintain a Public Passenger Endorsement

Acceptable Driving Record to Apply/Maintain

a Public Passenger Endorsement

SERVICE UPDATE:  DMV has transitioned to a new, online-only appointment system for road tests.  You can find the new online appointment system here.  

 

****Effective January 01, 2018, the DMV will start collecting a $75.00 fee for State criminal background check for each Public Service Endorsement applicant. This fee will be in addition to the $12.00 FBI fee.

 

An applicant of or current public passenger endorsement (endorsements S, V, A or F) holder must have an acceptable driving record in order to apply or maintain a public passenger endorsement.

The following is a listing of motor vehicle violations, which will disqualify an applicant/holder from applying/maintaining the endorsement for the referenced time period:

List of convictions that lead to a 5-year withdrawal
Statute  Definition  Period of Withdrawal 
14-111n
 Driving While Under the Influence (conviction out of state)  5 years from conviction date
14-111n Manslaughter in 2nd Degree with a Motor Vehicle (conviction out of state)   5 years from conviction date
14-111n  Evading Responsibility (conviction out of state)    5 years from conviction date
 14-224(a) Evading Responsibility   5 years from conviction date  
14-224(b)
Evading Responsibility (Serious Injury)
 5 years from conviction date
14-227a  Driving While Under the Influence   5 years from conviction date  
14-227b  Implied Consent to Test Driver's Blood, Breath or Urine    5 years from conviction date
 53a-56b Manslaughter in 2nd Degree with a Motor Vehicle    5 years from conviction date
 53a-60d Assault in 2nd Degree with a Motor Vehicle    5 years from conviction date
14-111n
Assault in 2nd Degree (conviction out of state)
  5 years from conviction date
14-227b
Refusal of Chemical Test (administrative suspension)
5 years from conviction date
Refusal of Chemical Test Outside Connecticut (administrative suspension)
5 years from conviction date
Failure of Chemical Test - BAC above .02 - Driver Under 21 (administrative suspension)
5 years from conviction date
Failure of Chemical Test - BAC above .02 - Driver Under 21 - Outside Connecticut (administrative suspension)
5 years from conviction date
14-227b
Failure of Chemical Test - BAC above .08 - Driver 21 or Older -  (administrative suspension)
5 years from conviction date
Failure of Chemical Test - BAC above .08 - Driver 21 or Older - Outside Connecticut (administrative suspension)
5 years from conviction date

 
 

List of Convictions that lead to a 3-year withdrawal
 Statute Definition  Period of Withdrawal 
 14-215 Driving while license withdrawn  3 years from conviction date 
 14-215 Driving while license suspended  3 years from conviction date 
  14-222 
Reckless Driving  3 years from conviction date 
  14-222a 
Negligent homicide with a motor vehicle  3 years from conviction date 

 
 
List of Convictions that lead to a 2-year withdrawal
Statute Definition Period of Withdrawal
14-218 Traveling unreasonably fast 2 years from conviction date
14-219 Speeding  2 years from conviction date
14-223(a) 
Disobeying orders of an officer  2 years from conviction date
14-224(c)
Wagering, speed record (racing)
2 years from conviction date
14-231
Failure to keep right when meeting opposing traffic
2 years from conviction date
14-232
Improper passing failure to yield right of way to overtaking vehicle
2 years from conviction date
14-233
Passing on wrong side
2 years from conviction date
14-234
Passing in violation or posted sign or pavement marking
2 years from conviction date
14-235
Failure to keep in proper lane
2 years from conviction date
14-237
Driving wrong way on divided highway
2 years from conviction date
14-238
Improper lane or location - enterance/exit ramp or way
2 years from conviction date
14-238(a)
Improper lane or location - enterance/exit ramp or way
2 years from conviction date
14-239(a)
14-239(b)
Driving wrong way/
Driving wrong way at rotary/roundabout/circular intersection
 
2 years from conviction date
14-240
Failure to drive reasonable distance apart
2 years from conviction date
14-240a
Failure to drive reasonable distance apart, intent to harass
2 years from conviction date
14-241
Improper turn
2 years from conviction date
14-242
Failure to yield right of way to cyclist, failure to yield right of way when turning, failure to use or improper signal, unsafe operation
2 years from conviction date
14-243
Improper backing, unsafe backing
2 years from conviction date
14-244
Failure to use or improper signal
2 years from conviction date
14-245
Failure to yield right of way
2 years from conviction date
14-246a
Failure to yield right of way
2 years from conviction date
14-247
Failure to yield right of way
2 years from conviction date
14-247a
Failure to yield right of way
2 years from conviction date
14-249
Stopping at grade crossing (railroad)
2 years from conviction date
14-250
Certain motor vehicles to stop at railroad crossing
2 years from conviction date
14-279
Passing stopped school bus
2 years from conviction date
14-281a
Operation of school bus at unreasonable speed
2 years from conviction date
14-283
Failure to yield right of way to emergency vehicle
2 years from conviction date
14-296aa
Inattentive/distracted driving, texting while driving, using hand-held mobile telephone while driving
2 years from conviction date
14-299
Failure to obey control signal
2 years from conviction date
14-300
Failure to yield right of way to pedestrian
2 years from conviction date
14-300f
Failure to obey school crossing guard
2 years from conviction date
14-301
Failure to obey stop sign
2 years from conviction date
14-303
Driving wrong way on one-way street or road 
2 years from conviction date

NOTE:  If an operator has a combination of four of any of the above violations within a two year period an endorsement will not be issued or will be withdrawn.





Content Last Modified on 12/11/2017 4:19:37 PM