DMV: DMV Services No Longer Available in AAA Offices in Fairfield and New Haven Counties

{News Header}
January 2, 2017

AAA Offices in Fairfield and New Haven Counties
Will No Longer Provide DMV Services 
License and ID Renewals Ended in Those Offices January 1
WETHERSFIELD --  AAA offices in Fairfield and New Haven counties will no longer provide any DMV services. However, AAA offices in other locations around the state will continue to offer various DMV services such as license and ID card renewals to both members and the non-members.
The Department of Motor Vehicles could not reach an operating agreement with the AAA franchise owning the offices in Fairfield and New Haven counties. DMV had been in talks since October to keep DMV services running in these locations, but could not agree to the franchise's terms to only serve its members and exclude the remainder of the general public. The termination of services in Fairfield and New Haven counties is effective January 1, 2017.   
“The Department’s responsibility is first and foremost to the general public. We need to maintain service levels while controlling costs. As such, we cannot subsidize a private organization’s provision of DMV services if that organization is not willing to find ways to serve the general public,” said DMV Commissioner Michael Bzdyra.

DMV services will continue in eight AAA offices around the state  that will serve both members and non-members. Those offices are located in Avon, Cromwell, Enfield, Manchester, Old Saybrook, Plainville, Waterford and West Hartford. They are owned by a separate AAA franchise.

Content Last Modified on 4/4/2017 2:18:43 PM