May 29, 2014
For Immediate Release
Boat Owners: Avoid Waiting,
Get to DMV Early to Register Vessels
WETHERSFIELD – Summer is starting. Boaters can enjoy the open waters of Long Island Sound. They can troll for fish on ponds. They can motor a pontoon boat or use a jet ski around the lake.
They can also avoid waiting in line at DMV. By going now to get a new registration or any needed assistance for a renewal, boat owners can avoid the pre-July 4 rush to have vessels ready for the summer season.
At the beginning of this traditional start of summer vacations, many boaters suddenly remember they forgot to satisfy the legal registration requirement with the Department of Motor Vehicles. They hurry to DMV offices where the registrations are done and can meet a slow moving line packed with others who also forgot or procrastinated.
“We want to remind boat owners - enjoy your boat and get it registered early to avoid being inside when you can be outside," said DMV Commissioner Melody A. Currey.
DMV sends boat owners by mid-March notices of renewals due by April 30. If they do not register the boat for a year, they will not receive another renewal notice and they must go to a DMV office to renew the registration. First-time registrations of vessels must also be done at the DMV office.
Frequently Asked Questions about boat and other watercraft registrations can be found at http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?Q=253552
. Connecticut law requires registration and numbering of all jet skis, all boats with motors, regardless of size, and sailboats powered by sail alone that are 19 1/2 feet or longer in length. Exempted from registration are vessels less than 19 and 1/2 feet in length without motors or are propelled only by oar or paddle without any auxiliary motor.
If someone purchases a boat that is currently registered, it must be re-registered in the name of the new owner.
All vessels must be registered with the DMV (ct.gov/dmv). Evidence of ownership must be submitted at the time of registration. Upon receipt of the application and fee, an identification number will be assigned and a certificate of number/registration will be issued along with two validation decals. Connecticut vessel numbers stay with the boat as long as it is registered in the state.