Suspension For Unresolved Ticket
Issued Outside Connecticut
Holiday Closing: On Thursday, July 4, DMV offices will be closed for the Independence Day holiday. On Friday, July 5, offices will reopen at 7:45 a.m.
If you are issued a ticket in another state and you fail to answer by the due date, miss a court date, or miss any other court imposed deadline, the other state will request Connecticut DMV to suspend your driving privilege. A notice of suspension will be mailed to the address of record indicating the
date your driving privilege will be suspended. The notice will include the state where the ticket was issued, the
citation number, and the court telephone
You must contact the out-of-state court to resolve the ticket and obtain a court receipt or other document issued by the court that indicates you have responded to the ticket.
All court fees and fines must be paid directly to the court involved.
You must submit a copy of your official court receipt to DMV. You may scan and email a copy to email@example.com
or you may send a copy by mail to:
State of Connecticut
Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Services Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161-1013
If the answer date on your court receipt is before the suspension date, the suspension will be rescinded.
If the answer date on your court receipt is on or after
the suspension date you must also pay a $175.00 restoration fee. You may pay the $175.00 online
or submit a $175.00 check or money order payable to "DMV" by mail with the copy of your court receipt.
Please clearly print your name, date of birth, and current address on all documents.
Normal processing time is 10 business days from the date the Driver Services Division receives your correspondence. After you are reinstated, a restoration notice will be mailed to you.
Please note: You are not permitted to drive a motor vehicle until your driving privilege is restored and you have a valid driver license or learner permit in your possession.
Content Last Modified on 11/20/2018 10:28:54 AM