DMV: Increase in Dealer Surety Bond Coverage

Changes in Dealer and Repairers Surety Bonds

SERVICE UPDATE:  As DMV transitions to a new, online-only appointment system for road tests, DMV will stop taking road test appointments on October 21 and October 23, and will resume October 24 with its new convenient online system.  See more information here

Effective July 1, 2011, Permits dealers or repairers to file Cash Bonds in place of Surety Bonds.

Effective October 1, 2010, law requires all current motor vehicle dealers in Connecticut to increase the surety bond coverage from $20,000 to $50,000 mandated by Section 14-52 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

Your bond company can execute a Surety Bond (form K-158), accompanying power of attorney with the Department of Motor Vehicles. You may send this document to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Room 102, 60 State Street
Wethersfield, Connecticut, 06161

If you have any questions regarding this new motor vehicle dealer requirement, please contact the Regulated Business Licensing Unit at (860) 263-5056





Content Last Modified on 7/29/2015 11:04:09 AM